We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great location, walking distance from the village/town centre.
The rooms are pretty big and nicely decorated, fairly clean, though there was some dust over the paintings and door frame in both rooms.
Awesome staff, very friendly and helpful.
Only drawback, Internet connection, too complicated to access and only 2h free.
Complimentary WiFi internet access currently ranks number one most appreciated hotel amenities, hope the Hotel management will take that in consideration soon enough..make it simple...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pedro_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved our stay here in this hotel. A quite manageable three hour drive from Venice, this hotel is so welcoming and luxurious. Our four room suite was amazing, on the top floor with an amazing balcony overlooking lake Maggiore. The bath was incredible, with room for two and nice big surfaces for holding glasses of chilled white wine. We spent many hours just reading, sleeping and talking in the suite, it was that comfortable. The walk into Baveno is around ten minutes, though it is through a picturesque park so no real problem. There is a gorgeous outdoor swimming area, a lakeside beach, boat jetty and outdoor bar- quite honestly, you wouldn't have to leave the hotel unless you really wanted to. However, drinks at the bar were expensive. Around eleven euros per drink, so between 20-25 euros per round. We ate at the restaurant once- it was nice, but nothing to Amelie's, where we went the next evening. A hotel we would return to, though I hope by then they will have rethought their pre-pay wifi tariff. I hate being charged for wifi- this isn't 2005 and considering the cost of a room here, it should be included.

Room Tip: Lakeside suites are amazing with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisieMinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here while on a Trafalgar tour. Absolutely beautiful views over the lake from our room. The rooms are very stylishly furnished and comfortable. Food was lovely and the staff very friendly and efficient. Would love to go back and spend more time at Lake Maggiore and in the lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with views of the lake, otherwise you could looking at the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the splendid back in september 2013.

We had booked a lakeside junior suite and were upgraded to a lakeside suite upon arrival which is always a great way to start a week end !

The suite was sensational, comfy and classy with a scenic view on the lake and mountains. Bed was so nice we struggled to get out of it in the morning to go and visit the area (which would have been a real shame !) We enjoyed drinks on the balcony of the suit and at the bar terrace as well each evening. Service was what you'd expect from a hotel of that standard albeit sometime a bit slow but acceptable since there was a big reception over that week end and staff was busy.

Baveno, stresa, the islands and the area are a fantastic place to visit, go out and enjoy the restaurants and streets on warm end of summer nights, and the hotel really played its role in making that week end perfect for us.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank snagah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was there last week for a business event for 3 nights.
The room I got wasn’t facing the lake but still the mountains view was great.
The rooms are not very big but well equipped and very nicely decorated.
The bathroom is beautifully lighted and very clean and comfortable.
As for the lobby, the bar and especially the outdoor facing the lake with a small private beach…it’s splendid.
The service was top class and quick.
With a combination of good weather and off season it’s a perfect place the get some tranquility.
It’s highly recommended in overall.

Room Tip: lake view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

allthough the hotel style is not mine, I reaaly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean, we got upgraded with no charge and a stunning view on the lake. all meals were good and the personel was very friendly. If i ever visit lagi Maggiore again, I will certainly come back. you feel treated as aprincess in this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lake side, they are really quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lucky for us that the original hotel we were booked in during our tour made our tour director change our hotel to HOTEL SPLENDID. What a wonderful and delightful surprise to be able to stay in this 5 star hotel. It was so grand, a hotel fit for an out of this world wedding. The entrance, the dinning area, the bar area, the grounds that went on for miles and or course, the balcony which made it possible to sit and enjoy the beautiful mountains and lake, could not ask for a better venue. The dinner was outstanding from appetizer to dessert. Breakfast was the usual Italian breakfast with sweets, meats and coffee. The staff was so courteous and helpful. A walk into town square took about 10 minutes, grab a bench and sit and enjoy the lake and mountains. Very peaceful. We were there on a Sunday so it was quite. My husband can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
481 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
2.7 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Via Sempione, 12, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#3 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: $130 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Baveno
Hotel Splendid Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing