We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property With Beautiful Views”
Review of Hotel Simplon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Simplon
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in June 2013 specifically to enjoy the views of Maggiore. The Jr. Suites with lake views are large, comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated. Our particular room had two balconies that both provided a panoramic view of Lago Maggiore and the mountains. If you have a lot of hotel experience in Italy, you will know that finding a full size bathroom with a tub and wall mounted shower is rare at mid-price properties. Simplon delivers on both accounts and the only reason this property is affordable is because it is in Baveno instead of the touristy center of Stresa (a five minute drive). On my two previous trips to the area, I was set on staying in Stresa but, it has become overpriced and most of the lakefront hotels are in serious need of rennovations. This is not the case with Hotel Simplon and honestly, Baveno retains the charm that Stresa had before it turned into a tour bus hotspot. We found the location to be exactly what we wanted in regards to peace and easy acess to the surrounding towns. The ferry service is a two minute walk from the hotel and will take you to the islands, Stresa and other lake towns. Staff here are very approachable and will do anything to make your stay a perfect experience. The gardens are lovely, the pool is huge and again, the rates are a steal for what you get.

Room Tip: Spend an extra $50-$75 a night for the Jr. Suite. The views and space are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 481 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped here for a week on a Newmarket Package Holiday. Having looked at the hotel's website we were both excited by the food displayed. Unfortunately the food received on the first two nights did not meet our expectations! The issues were discussed with the Newmarket Rep and also the Reception Staff and I was satisfied with the outcome. The remaining meals were served hotter than previously and we were allowed to visit the Salad Buffet! Evidently Newmarket Holidays do not pay sufficient for this to happen as a matter of course! We did not like the prospect of dining on a table of six strangers at a fixed time due to a previous bad experience, and a table for two was arranged. The food was not hot but got warmer as the week went on. It was not helped by being served on cold plates and the theatrical use of cold silver plate covers. We both thought that the vegetables were rather unimaginative, hence the request for salad. The Starters were too large as I was not told that a Half Portion could be served. Overall except for the first night the service was friendly and efficient and we received a free bottle of wine for our troubles on our final night. Our room 324 overlooking the lake was spacious with an over the bath shower. Anyone like me with balance problems will have issues getting in and out. A handle fixed to the wall would be a great help, as would a step if this was possible. There was a safe in the wardrobe but to see inside one had to get down on the floor! Our view over the lake from our room was tremendous and we thoroughly enjoyed time spent on the balcony. Wine and especially Ice Creams are very expensive with House Wine costing 19 Euros! Outside the hotel is a narrow pavement which we used to walk to the village each evening, returning via the sister Hotel Dino next door, where we walked through the 'Secret Passage' admiring the 137 (I think) paintings and wondering about the cost of lighting, cleaning and maintaining the many rooms and toilets! I would recommend both hotels to independent travellers and those on Package Holiday who do not mind dining at fixed times and sitting with strangers!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the lake is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Attentive and friendly staff made this one of the best holidays we've had. The food was excellent, served in a sumptuously decorated dining room, from our table we had a fantastic view over the extensive gardens to the lake. Our room,3rd floor, was comfortable, elegantly decorated with fabulous views.
Two minutes away from the hotel was a supermarket of Tardis proportions. It had everything you could possibly want from flip flops to fresh bread and cheeses.
Baveno itself is a small friendly village with limited shopping, but easy access to the ferries and buses.
We flew with Thomson, but organised our own trips to Isola Bella, (get snacks from the pleasant little cafe inside the gardens very clean and reasonably priced with views of the lake) and Villa Taranto, if you don't go anywhere else go there, especially if you are interested in gardening, it was breathtaking!
We stayed for 7nights and by the second night wondered why we were felling so calm...then it dawned on us, all we could hear was the sound of birds singing in the gardens...no annoying, background music, not in the hotel or at many of the village cafes...bliss!

Room Tip: Lake views are extremely quiet I would imagine that rooms at the front can be very noisy, because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldhamLancel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really well run hotel with great food and service. Had a lovely short break at the beginning of May. Well presented meals, staff very friendly and helpful, especially Romano. Short walk to the Ferry terminal, shops, cafes and restaurants. Baveno was small but has plenty of choice and very friendly locals. Stresa for a busier shopping centre is a short bus ride away. The Ferry service is great to access all the islands, Taranto and Locarno. As the weather was very changeable we made use of the facilities of the Grand Dino. This is linked from the Simplon by an interesting corridor which takes you directly to the indoor pool and spa. There are many cafes on the edge of the Lake for lunch and evening drinks. Perfect holiday despite the weather!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel is well located and an easy walk to the lake. Also has access to swimming pool, gym, sauna etc which is an added bonus. We had a corner room which allowed us decent views (not of the lake but we knew that) and the room was spacious, clean and perfectly fine.
Free parking was also another useful bonus.

Staff were really friendly and very helpful (I was ill on our last day and they allowed us to stay in the room until 2.30pm at no charge which made a massive difference for me).

Overall, really happy at with decent value.

Room Tip: If you're a couple make sure you ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wijjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was raining all the two nights I stayed there, but could see a slice of Lago Maggiore from my balcony. This is a classy place, all furnishings are quite new or in good condition. And there is lots and lots of friendly staff. Saunas and pools are at your service for a small fee. Wifi is expensive!

Baveno is such a small village, and all other restaurants etc. live on the revenue they get from the hotel guests, so you have a good service there as well.

I will certainly come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I read excellent reviews about this hotel, before staying there for a week last year. The reviews did not disappoint. It is a beautifully decorated hotel, with lovely furnishings, an excellent restaurant, and superb staff. I was half board, and require a gluten free diet, but only advised them of this on arrival - they couldnt do enough for me - i felt like royalty!! The staff are the friendliest i have ever encountered in a hotel, and are very efficient. I can highly recommend this hotel for comfort and outstanding service

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ang186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
521 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,081 reviews
2.5 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Simplon

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baveno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: $139 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Simplon 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Simplon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baveno Simplon Hotel
Hotel Simplon Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing