We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I would give this hotel four and a half but i cannot do this. Never mind, A four star hotel with five star service, every member of staff was excellent. A lovely hotel with great space ,lovely rooms(get yourself a lake view suite) and the food was again excellent with great choice and quality. The location was fantastic with great views and easy to reach from the autosrade and a five minute walk from the train station. Only grumbles were 20 euros for an hours tennis and this was a fair walk to the adjoining hotel simplon which also has the football pitch, drinks were pricey but plenty of staff to serve you and wifi was limited according to the kids. We will probably stay again as a family and definately as a couple in the future.

Room Tip: lake view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    409
    107
    48
    15
See reviews for
218
404
27
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

It really is a "Grand Hotel", we liked our stay here very much. A big underground parking (not so cheap at € 10 a night), marvellous lobby and very spatious rooms (we had a duplex room with double bed apart from the sofa bed for 1 kid). The indoor pool is a real asset when the weather is off or the outside pool is to cold for kids.

I can highly recommend taking half board,dinner is excellent! Appetizer buffet, first course (4 choices), second course (4 choices) and dessert buffet. We staid for 4 nights, we never had the same buffet and we never saw the same course.

Too bad they still charge prehistoric rates for the WiFi: € 20 for 10 hours. This should be included just as water and electricity are!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I really cannot find anything negative to say about Grand Hotel Dino.
It is grand indeed: it took us about 5 minutes to walk to our room from the lobby. But it is also beautiful, it had a classic feel about it. We had a very big room (not lakeside, but that was just fine with us).
There's an outside pool and in indoor pool, both very large indeed, and inside there are two hot tubs as well. Our daughter loved it!
As most hotels do, they charge extra for breakfast, we just had breakfast on the last day, and that was quite good as well. Service at the bar was great!
The only remark I have is that I find it strange that when we booked there were no lake-view rooms available, but when we asked they said you have to contact them directly for that. That seems silly!

Room Tip: Like I said: if you want a lake-side room: contact them directly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotsofpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is the essence of grandeur, with a magnificent reception boasting chandeliers and majestic columns - also the reception staff are very efficient although not particularly friendly. I cannot fault the hotel itself (although we were staying board only we didn't get a chance to sample the food) and the location is to die for... right on the shores of Lake Maggiore with amazing views. The leisure facilities are first class (indoor and outdoor swimming pools, jacuzzi), and at a cost you can get extras such as a massive gym or an extremely expensive massage. Alas, the personal touch is just not there: I prefer a place where you can stop off at reception after a day out and have a chat, or share a joke with a waiter. Not here, I'm afraid so the next time I visit Baveno I will go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, but there is a supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Sure it's a bit old and parts of it could use some updating, but this hotel is a pure gem if old fashioned charm of times passed, with excellent staff, gorgeous location on the lake! Stresa nearby is just a gorgeous quaint little town which is easily reached by boat or cab! An evening trip to the nearby isola di pescatori is highly recommended for dinner!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake is what you come for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaM0ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for 5 nights.
Great location only a few meters from the beautiful Lago Maggiore.
Very nice big hotel for special occations and business/conferences as well as for holiday.
The service is top notch, breakfast is good and plentiful and the rooms are very nice.
BUT in my view the hotel loose a star or two because of the "No Inclusive Consept".
You have to pay (a lot) for
Wifi, access to fitness room, breakfast etc, etc.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sigvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights. First impression was gorgeous - impressive decoration, perfect location by the lake and a smell of luxury in the air.. The room was not very large (we barely fit in a travel crib for our baby) yet clean and with a nice mountain view. The hotel is very baby-friendly - there is a small pool and a playroom for children with lots of toys and a few table-tennis tables. The truth is the toys are in a poor condition - with parts missing and dirty, but you will still appreciate the existence of the playroom in case of a bad weather.
What started to annoy us very soon was the hotel policy of pumping tourists out of their money. They charge for everything that is standard in other hotels - for opening a minibar/fridge (you pay each time you want to open it!!!), for internet (!), gym, wellness, parking or for later check-out (so that our baby could take a short nap before leaving). We ate only once in the hotel restaurant and for EUR 13 we got portion of 8 pieces of nicely decorated ravioli - they tasted delicious but I was feeling cheated. Tap water is (of course) not offered.
What I really liked was the cleaning staff - these ladies were cuddling with our baby whenever they met us. They smile all the time and should definitely replace the frown grousy receptionists!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brobca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Property: Grand Hotel Dino
Address: Corso Garibaldi, 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing