We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice! ”
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice! ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a good view of the lake at the room's veranda. Wifi free for 15 min after 11pm only if you fill in the evaluation form. Otherwise it is €5 per hour. Otherwise, facilities were superb. Room was just ok. No toothpaste, toothbrush, lotion, slippers. Just soap and shampoo. Great I guess for honeymooners.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    451
    123
    50
    16
See reviews for
244
443
29
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A very good property overlooking one of the lakes in Baveno and is ideally located to take in the surrounds and to admire the natural beauty of the area.

The hotel has a grand entrance and is very impressive with large bars and dining rooms and a big reception area. The front desk staff were very efficient, friendly and effective and were easily able to communicate with guests.

The room was good with views over the lake and towards the royal palace which is located on a small island on the lake which was outstanding; the space in the room was adequate without being too small however it was not large. The bathroom was a good size however there were no face washers or tissues provided. The hotel also did not provide an iron either which was inconvenient. The dining rooms were large and had fantastic views and the standard of food was good.

If you are looking for a hotel in this area then you should consider this one to stay at as the location is second to none. And the facilities should satisfy most guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This massive hotel is located right on Lake Maggiore and offers amazing views over the lake mountains around it. Loved watching the sunset and sunrise from our window. The hotel grounds are very well kept and even tough it is an old hotel the inside is super clean and of very high quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinibambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spectacular view of The lake and the small town from our room. Extremely clean. The balcony was great. The lobby of this hotel is very beautiful. Views from the dining room are also very nice. The deck/patio off the bar is so nice. Very friendly staff. Food was good, but the service was better. Would I stay there again.....without a doubt! Thanks for making our stay a good one.
Brenda & Robert

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kville
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Once you find Baveno, you have found heaven !

This big, beautiful old hotel right on Lake Maggiore is amazing. Most rooms have a view of
the lake, are ample size and very clean. All of the staff could not be nicer or more helpful; food was delicious and they offered ample places on the property for sunning, dining al fresco and dining in lovely dining rooms adorned with huge crystal chandeliers. The grounds are well manicured and give the visitor direct access to the charming promenade around Lake Maggiore.
Beautiful property with a million dollar view....heaven.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

From check in to check out...wonderful hotel..great location..great staff..views are spectacular! Have wine and cheese out on the back patio overlooking the lake and the mountains...great!Location is perfect.Short walk in to town and right on a public transportation route.Very convienient.

Room Tip: Must have view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here as private guests for three nights in early October. Paying the extra for a lake view room proved to be a very good move as the room was reasonably large, well furnished, comfortable beds and the view ...... wonderful!
In order to be perfect for me the hotel would need to provide free tea and coffee and free access to the refrigerator (which we chose not to use). Additionally free wifi (charge is 5 euros / hour) and keeping the aircon on (it was switched off during the first day of our stay and not turned back on) would be good but these were our only minor gripes.
With access to the private guests dining room, we found the breakfasts excellent and pretty comprehensive and the evening meals even better. The Dessert Trolley in particular was frighteningly addictive.
As many have said, the hotel is well worth exploring fully if you do stay there. The lounges and corridors are plush and somewhat reminiscent of 5* Vegas hotels and the corridor across to the Simplon Hotel needs to be seen even though you do currently need to take a torch to view some parts as the Simplon is currently shut for refurbishment.
As others have said, Baveno itself is small and quiet but with the train station 10 minutes away and the ferries stopping 2 minutes away, other parts of the lake (and I would highly recommend both Villa Taranto and the Rocca Borromeo in Angera) are easily reachable.
All in all - we loved it and would go back in an instant.

Room Tip: Room on the lake side are both quieter and have fabulous views. 4th Floor probably best with 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,295 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 35 in Stresa
993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Property: Grand Hotel Dino
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing