We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room for a big hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mixed bag. Hotel is big. Located on lake. Grand entrance and dining room, however my room was tiny. Also there was a cost to use the wireless internet (only 20mins free) and the mini fridge. Room card didn't work after dinner - had to be reset. Busy hotel - too busy for my liking and comfort. Service from some of the front desk personnel needs improvement. Food in the restaurant was ok.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank IncrediblePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Dino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel with impressive foyer. Hotel has breath taking views over Lake Maggiore. Rooms are clean and most comfortable. Reception staff professional and bar staff friendly. Wi-Fi available at 10 euros for 2 hours or 20 euros per day (don't forget to log in and out each time). A memorable stay.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here as part of a budget coach tour, so my expectations were low. The lobby and public areas are all lavishly decorated. The room was immaculate. We were on the top floor in the building farther from reception. The door locks were RFID and easy to use. All surfaces were marble including the desk, luggage stand, and bath counter top. The bath looked as though it had been renovated recently. The ceiling height in the bath was over 15 feet, sloping down toward the balcony. We had a great direct view of the lake from the balcony. The hotel is just beside the pier to take a water taxi to the islands. The staff was helpful when we needed anything. The 20 min free internet is disappointing, but appears to be typical for Italy.

Room Tip: Stay in the building farther from reception, top floor lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Train205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we had a wonderful stay in this hotel: very beatiful hotel at the border of the lake, boat trip leave just beside the hotel.
- we booked half board: breakfast was on the terrace, dinner was very good with everytime 4 choises of primo and secundo piatto.
- I read some remarks regarding expensive breakfast and dinner: therefore advice to book half board, wines are sold at normal prices.
- room: big, beautiful, very clean, very good bath room/douche
- outdoor swimming pool is indead very cold
- drinks at the swimming pool are not cheap, but normal for a 4* hotel
- staff is very friendly and helpful, have a lot of information of things to visit, they speak fluently german, french and English.
Conclusion: We can advice this hotel for a stay at Lago Maggiore, prices are normal for this kind of hotels.

Room Tip: the standard room are very good, so you don't necessary need to book the expensive rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankhuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What is the first piece of advice I can give you, come to this hotel and ensure when you book you choose a room with a lake view. We didn't as it was too expensive on line but on arrival it was so much cheaper, only 60 euros more, but there is no certainty they will have a room available.
A great location on the lakeside in a lovely small town (perhaps village) with boat trips to everywhere.
The indoor hotel bar is friendly and the entertainer was very good, and the facilities in the hotel up to a very high standard. Although I didn't try the internet wifi/
The pool was nice although just a little cool despite the air temperature in the 30's, but the indoor pool made up for it.
It has Turkish baths, solarium, Gym, sauna and Jacuzzi although we only used the latter the rest all looked good.
Breakfast was ok but make sure you get a table on the balcony not inside its much nicer even if you have to wait a while.

The only downside was the taxi that the hotel used to take us to the restaurant, 15 euros for a traffic free 3km , so there and back was 30 euros which made a bit of an unexpected big dent in our pockets.

If you like the lakes then this hotel is good enough to enjoy the fantastic view as you will see from the pictures attached.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra to have a sea view, we found it cheaper to ask the hotel rather than book the se...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fantastic hotel on the Lake Maggiore. Baveno is a beautiful place to have a good rest, eat fantastic Italian food and No1 ice cream in the world.
Hotel has everything you can imagine and fantastic service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koljabgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is great so let's get the only good aspect of out the way first ! A group of us stayed there touring through Italy having previously spent our visits in Lake Como. If only we had done so this time. On entering the hotel were were "greeted" by two ladies with Degrees in Grumpiness and after the usual form filling were given the key to our room, then another key, then another key and do it went on until the EIGHTH key finally opened the door. This was much the same for the entire group. Oh yes, to open the bar fridge was TEN EUROS, a towel for the pool also came at a cost, and the breakfast staff also had the same degrees as our receptionist. It appeared to us the only thing the staff didn't enjoy were the guests. And for those of you intending to visit Africa the good news is all the mosquitoes have emigrated to this hotel with one guest suffering 17 bites in one night. We endeavoured to convince the staff oil burners full of paraffin don't keep the mozzies away. We failed. It was a pity, the location on the lake is great but if you are driving along the lake looking for somewhere to stay drive on !

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,056 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: $125 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing