We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“flowers eveywere,”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Dino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dino
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“flowers eveywere,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

the place is ok overprice a bit a room with a view will cost you extra like 50 dollars extra room are on the small side, the food is a seven out of ten ,breakfast good but a bit on the prized side about $18 , HALF OR LESS FOR CHILD STAF not up to what you expect, the décor good the surrounding top of the line for Italy We there for 5 days would I go back there I do not think so many choice in that part of Italy as far as hotels the weather just about perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pansoti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    419
    112
    48
    15
See reviews for
221
407
27
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Unfortunately we were in a group of 20 staying at the Dino for 3 nights and were at all times treated with disdain by the staff - but in particular by the Reception. We seemed to be a nuisance at all times. The food served to the group was very poor, except for some passable pasta.
Our room, booked in advance, had a lake view (50 euro extra) thank goodness. Single rooms are really small.Because the cost was bundled into the total trip costs, I don't know if it was at a cheap rate - I suspect not. If you do stay there, do not request anything from Reception!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bernadette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Myself and my Husband stayed in the hotel for one night.We have travelled to many places. The services we received at the hotel were shocking.

When we arrived in the hotel we received a pamphlet stating laundry service for 5 Euro for 5 kg. We then called the reception and spoke to your reception staff and told her that we would like to use the service of laundry as advertised on the pamphlet.

I was advised that she will come and pick up the laundry. I was not explained by the staff properly the procedure considering the language barrier.

At our check out we received a bill of 155 Euro for laundry service. The sevice that had blue stains on my white clothes,they ironed our socks too to make money.This was a big shock to us as we expected a bill of 5 Euro.The reception staff was very rude . The lady who said that she is the manager became very agitated and used appalling words.This is really very bad customer service.

I was extremely disappointed at the customer service received at the hotel. I wrote and email to the hotel to give my feedback so that it doesn't happen to their guest and they don't get ripped off.It is very important that the guest are dealt with respect. They even did not bother to reply. They are getting a lot of business as they have tied up with all the tour company's but this doesn't give them liberty to deal with their guest badly.

The hotels location is the best, rooms are very small and smelly.The breakfast service was horrible.

Highly Disappointed Customer

Room Tip: Lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dendoc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
857 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, as we were in the sister Hotel Simplon next door. We did however visit each evening to walk through the 'Secret Passage' connecting the two hotels. All of the areas we saw were clean and tidy and all of the staff that we saw, behind the Reception Desk, in the Kitchens and the Restaurant looked to be working efficiently with no one shirking! All the guests seemed satisfied by hearing their comments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I was there because of a company conference on the last week of Apr to first week of May. The hotel was fairly big with 2 wings, one which is with the main lobby nearer to the hotel restaurants and bar; where the other needs to take a short walk along a beautiful artistic passage way and its nearer to the gym and indoor swimming pool.
It's unfortunate that it was raining everyday until the day before I left for home; with occasional lighter drizzle at the later part of the afternoon where many of us dashed out for quick photo shoot.
In terms of the room, I got a attic room where the ceiling is slanted, but it comes with a small balcony with table and 2 chairs, too bad it's raining all day long. I am still puzzled as to why do they install a full elecrical metal shutter door from the room to the balcony. Room is clean and well maintained, the the toilet is average size, the bath area is a tad too small, even for me who is 5'7" with 33" waist. Take note that you have to ask for bath towel (everyday!!!) and bottled water is not provided. By the way, they switched off the air condition through out our stay, despite multiple complains from a lot of delicate who attended the conference, they refused to switch on the air condition.
Since it has been raining, I have been going to the heated indoor swimming pool which is wonderful for a cold rainy day! There were some nice statue at the end of the swimming pool. Right beside the indoor pool, there are 2 indoor heated jacuzzi pools which look out to the lake; it will be perfect if i have a glass of wine when I was soaking in the pool.

Food wise, since its a 4 days conference, and it has been raining, we only get to eat buffet in the hotel restaurant. While carpaccio was nice for the first few meals, having it for all the 3 meals throughout the 6 days can be quite challenging. Interestingly, I have neither pizza nor spaghetti served throughout the 15 to 16 meals in the hotel restaurant. Thankfully, they do serve a nice cup of expresso which I never miss.
If you are lucky with the sun, you can take a short walk along the lakeside, on the left of the hotel there is a small ferry point where you can take a short boat ride across the lake where there are some nice local Italian restaurants where they served fantastic Italian dishes. If you need to get some snacks or beer (much cheaper than the hotel for the same beer); there's a supermarket that is 300m short walk on the right side of the hotel.
Will I go again? Probably, but will definitely pick a nicer season and explore the food/restaurants around the area rather than having all meals in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmastervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is very grand and I believe 4 star. Our stay was very pleasant. The Hotel was very pretty and the rooms were clean and tidy. The town of Baveno was small and not a lot to do there. The food was good every place we tried and the local wines were wonderful as well. The quality if the food and service in the hotel was very good. The staff in their white coats were way to bossy to their subordinates and made you uncomfortable watching them as they bossed around the help. Just a smile once in a while from the white coat managers would have been really nice. Why so serious

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room, maybe a suite overlooking the water, the 3rd floor was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagnejello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here during a Trafalgar tour of Italy in April, 2013. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and grand, and the views are amazing. We had a lovely room with a beautiful view across the lake. The service was very good. The only negatives were the cost of internet, (you pay for every 20 minutes!), and the excess fees for changing money at the desk. In general though, a really beautiful spot. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sschmitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dino

Property: Grand Hotel Dino
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 20, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#4 Family Hotel in Baveno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dino 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Baveno
Dino Hotel
Grand Hotel Dino Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing