We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Ristorante Sottosopra
Reserve with
Ristorante Sottosopra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $74
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We visited Sottosopra based on the recommendation of our hotel, was well as Trip Advisor. They had menu of the day which we chose. We had the tagliatelli as our pasta dish and sliced pork for our second dish. Both were excellent. The lunch also included desert. I don't remember if the wine, bread, and water were included, but I think it was. We were so impressed with our meal we decided to g back the next night. Unfortunately, the owner had to address a family problem and the restaurant was closed that evening. We didn't have an opportunity to return the next evening because we left Baveno the next morning. We hope all is well with the owner and we will certainly visit the next time we are in Baveno

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    130
    29
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Baveno jewel”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We were two families visiting this restaurant. This is not a top class gourmet restaurant, but (not far away) the food was very good and the atmosphere and the staff was very nice.
Some of us chose the tasting menu - which was splendid. Not all the dishes was perfect ( the ravioli tasted a bit too much of miel), but the highlights were a few; e.g the lovely marinated salmon and a superb lemon sorbet ( I just had to order an extra). Great value for money!!
Make sure you get a table outside.

Helpful?
Thank Sigvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Baveno”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

went to this restaurant twice during our stay. The food was excellent and the staff were very professional, yet friendly. A good mix of classic and innovative dishes, well presented and a good range of wines. We went to restaurant Amelie, which although pleasant, does not in my opinion deserve to be above this restaurant in the ratings, The only thing I think would suggest is that they tone down the garish décor inside. Nice plain walls would be more in keeping with the style of restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You should definitely stop here for dinner when visiting Lago Maggiore”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great diner in a nice location with friendly and motivated staff.

We liked the diner so much, that we already made reservations for the next day (unfortunately our last day). And so did all the other people who were having diner there, it was really funny to see.

The meals were delicious and very well presented. Nice Italian wine list.
And you should definitely have dessert too (I loved the 'tortino caldo').

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_briard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice food at a decent price”
Reviewed June 26, 2014


We were given a table on a balcony overlooking the 'main area' and it was excellent.
The food was high quality and the service top notch.
Amuse Bouche of a deep fried courgette flower (I think!) was delightfully different, and my starter of prawns and scallops cooked to perfection.
Not the cheapest restaurant in the area, but worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMidcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sottosopra also viewed

Baveno, Lake Maggiore
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 
Feriolo, Baveno
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Ristorante Sottosopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing