We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely if your facing the water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romagna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Romagna
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely if your facing the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Interesting place. We had a modest room but fortunately facing the lake. Some of our friends had a room facing the road and it was awfully noisy by cars and every our by the train. So be aware of it. Food was very good and the personnel was very couteous.Wi fii free.Tow of Stresa not very far and deserved to be seen. I would recommend this place specially because it's near all type of actions.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed two nights with Leger as part of Italy Tour - best hotel of the lot - family run hotel- very clean - excellent service - great food and seconds given - wide breakfast choice - super location with views to die for - 15 mins walk to Baveno but be careful on the road. Air conditioning - cheap bar prices and good free wifi. Would stay a fortnight here given half the chance. The owners are lovely people and work very hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafabenitez_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel Romagna is special because of the wonderful family that owns and operate the Hotel. When you arrive as a guest you can suddenly become a member of their family because they treat each and every guest not as a "tourist" but as a family member. The location of Hotel Romagna is perfect because most of the rooms allow guests (family members) to enjoy the "bella vistas" of Lago Maggiore and surrounding mountains. The hotel is located just a short walk from downtown Baveno and there are usually (4) bicycles that are provided "free of charge" for guests to use.

I have stayed at the Hotel Romagna many times and cannot wait for my next visit and to be greeted with a warm hug from the family members that include grand children, son and he owners. Everyone working in the hotel is friendly, helpful and extends extra special service to their guests.

I highly recommend staying in this hotel. I suggest to call in advance to make reservations as in the summer season they are full almost every night.

Steve Lewis
California

Room Tip: Ask for Bella Lago Vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just spent 7 nights at this hotel just outside the town of Baveno. The rooms had a lovely deck with table and chairs on beautiful Lake Maggiore. The staff was great and our dinners each evening were absolutely delicious. The weather could have been better so were were served a very satisfying first course of chicken vegtable soup one evening and on another a broth with yummy ravioli. Their lasagna and pasta bologna were enough but then we had another course of fish or meat. Just a great take!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony. The rooms on the back have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2328marni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

but for the rest, not so great. I was amazed how average Italian hotels are for the money. Our room was good sized and yes the view was breathtaking. We had a balcony overlooking Lake Maggiore and Isola Bella, Pecastore and Madre. Gorgeous. And the location was perfect; easy to get to Stresa and to the other side of the lake where we went for dinner.
The staff was friendly and everything was clean. But the rest was just old, as if it had been renovated in 1970. If you're going to Lake Maggiore though you're going to be outside not in a hotel room. So you get past the small stuff, like bad coffee at breakfast and super thin towels. Simply stay here for the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munxar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I were traveling on a motorbike and we had just dropped down out of torrential rain through France and Switzerland, to glorious sunshine and the beautiful Lake Maggiore. Off street parking for the bike was good, the location right by the lake is excellent, and the price compared with others in the area is very good; but. The owner and staff were friendly and tried fairly hard to please, but somehow just missed the mark. The room was small and very average, being on the side of the hotel. The very worst was the food which was truly awful. I guess that we could have eaten elsewhere so that need not be a show stopper. As a one nighter it was fine, but for a longer term holiday stop, it would not be our choice even though the location can not be faulted.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, and eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b1gr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

The real reason for staying here is the situation, on the lake, overlooking the Borromean islands. Make sure you get a lake-view room. The others overlook the main road and if you're trying to save a few Euros, you might as well go and look for somewhere else.
We were very pleasantly received by the owner's wife, who was most helpful in all respects, with advice on where to go and what to see. The hotel is simple, but very clean and the view from the rooms is extraordinary.
You can walk to Baveno, but the first 500 or so meters are directly on the road, without a pavement, so isn't terribly pleasant. There's nothing directly around the hotel, so you either need a car to get to Baveno or Stresa, or have to use the hotel restaurant.
The restaurant directly overlooks the lake. The food is simple, traditional italian (not American-italian), unpretentious. The owner came to take orders and recommendations. I certainly didn't sense what the other reviewers mentioned. It isn't a fancy restaurant, the menu is simple, but correct (and to the reviewer who complained that fish was served with nothing else, that's the way traditional italian restaurants work, you have to order the "contorni" seperately).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ruscello
Hotel Villa Ruscello
#8 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romagna

Property: Hotel Romagna
Address: Via Sempione ,21, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romagna 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Romagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romagna Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing