We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Posta

Ristorante Posta
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a more upmarket, stylish restaurant at the top of the main square which serves very good food but at reasonable prices. The menu is quite extensive with rather more unusual dishes from the usual fare. There are several rooms which can accommodate more diners than may appear from the outside. However, it is obviously a popular place and it may be advisable to book unless you get there early (say 6.45 to 7.30) – queues were forming when we were leaving on one of our visits. The waiting staff are very pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank St.AlbansHerts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    286
    80
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We loved the meal. I had ravioli with goatcheese from a 50 year old recipe which I loved. Wine selection was wonderful. Our waiter had a good sense of humour too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank canuckcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed in Baveno for three nights and we ate at La Posta every single night. The menu is varied and offers plenty of delicious options (The Gorgonzola mousse is warmly recommended, and so are the Ravioli with riccota and pear and the slow-cooked veal) and the service was very professional and efficient yet also very warm and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Entertaining and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our waiter was very enthusiastic. The food was good - nothing spectacular - just simple, classic filling Italian. Very attentive to the very hungry young boys in our family - they loved the ravioli and the carbonara! Try the fresh fish from the lake!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank raf1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent food and friendly service. Fairly big portions, especially the starters. Highly recommend the gorgonzola mousse!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Posta also viewed

Baveno, Lake Maggiore
Baveno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Ristorante Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing