We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Alpi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alpi
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel Alpi was very clean and the staff is very pleaseant and ready to help any moment. Ideally located for any excursion aroun Lago Maggiore. The breakfast is very good and dinner as well.We will recommend it to all of you who would like to travel over there....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumi5176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    69
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
126
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel while we explored the western side of Lake Maggiore. The hotel is in an ideal position close to the centre of Baveno, the ferry port and the station. The room was spotless with a delightful balcony from which there were wonderful lake views. There is a well appointed terrace at the front of the hotel and ample parking too. The staff at the hotel are quite exceptional and - from all our travels over the years throughout Europe - they are the most welcoming, obliging and friendly we have ever encountered. The bonus is the excellent restaurant where a substantial breakfast is served and where we ate a beautifully prepared and well thought out evening meal each day (even though it wasn't our intention to do so, we just couldn't bear the thought of missing it). Through the park opposite the hotel is a small beach and the hotel provides fresh beach towels at the entrance each day. At the beach is also a small bar where drinks can be enjoyed. We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly and, on top of all this, it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room on the top floor for the very best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heythuysen
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room with balcony gives a beautiful look over the lake. Good breakfast and a very good diner. Staff speaks several languages. 100 meters from the center. In the neighbourhood much to see and when its too hot, you can visit several near (50km) and cool alms/villages in the mountains. Very important is that you feel very well in het hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the lake side have a beautiful look
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anja s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The great thing about the hotel are the owners and staff who go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. They gave us lots of useful advice. The location is ideal, being close to the lake and an easy walk to the town centre and station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just been in de hotel for a week.
We visit them mostly every year for a short stay and think it has been the 5th time now.
Still they keep up their excelent service and kindness. All the staff at the hotel are doing there best to make your stay to be a joy.
The reception spaeks several languaes, Jessica even Dutch, and also in the restaurant is mostly during the dinner Anja available for the Dutch language.
The Italian speaking employes also will do everything possible to help you, so this will not to be a problem.
The room we had was kept very clean. This also was one of the things you will find all over the hotel.
The hotel is about 500 meters from the lake and about 1500 meters from the center of the town. When you go to the lake the hotel has towels for you available.
You can pick them up (and of course return them) at the door of the hotel.
The town is, like many Italiën cities near the lake, small but very nice. It has a lot af restaurants and places to go for a drink.
In the hotel however they also have a excellent kitchen. I can recomment it to stay for dinner.
Each day they have a differend menu (startert, second, salat buffet, main course and desert) and I think for a very good price to.
The chef is very good and you must taste the delicieus deserts made by Paola :)

From the center of the town there is a ferry available to the Islands and the have a special tourist offer to got to the 3 islands for one price.
Tickets are available at the ferry office.
At the reception they also can give you a lot of information to visit several places by car.
Think it also can be done by train as for Baveno has also a small trainstation nearby the location of the hotel.

For us it will be a hotel to come back again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are now half way past our stay in Hotel Alpi in Baveno. We have booked for 8 nights and still have 4 to go. The hotel is 3 star, but to me what it should give an extra star is the fact that the room is spotless clean and the staff is super friendly, personal and very helpfull. A personal thanks goes out to the owner Renzo. Always willing to advise and help and even after a long day of work still very friendly. Rooms are "basic", in the fact that they have all you need for a nice stay. Everything is clean and working. And most important, the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is also basic but more then adequate. Different types of bread, cheese, meat, jams, coffee, tea, juices, serial. Maybe a little fresh fruit could make it complete. But even without it, it is good and fresh. Hotel Alpi is only a stone throw away from Baveno center. A 5 minute walk and a even less to the beautiful Lago Maggiore. So all in all we are extremely happy we have chosen this hotel. I have never before been in a hotel with such a personal approach and which is so clean. If we come back to this region we surely would book a room in Hotel Alpi again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

this is a hidden gem not to be overlooked in favour of the big 4 in baveno. The Hotel Alpi is fresh, modern & immaculate. I stayed with my 2 sons (11 & 13 ) nothing was too much trouble for the warm and friendly staff.
Plentiful breakfast. Fresh beach towels daily for the sun, umbrellas for the rain!!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake also overlook the road but a small price to pay for the view! Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baveno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#11 of 15 in Baveno
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpi

Property: Hotel Alpi
Address: Via Sempione 1, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
#6 Family Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpi 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 50 rooms. Restaurant.Bar. We are within easy reach of the railway station which is about 400 meters from the hotel and about the same distance from the main boat terminal which is the departure point for the visits to the Borromean Islands. Two lifts. Air conditioning. All rooms with private bath or shower, telephone, satellite television lcd, safety deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpi Hotel Baveno
Hotel Alpi Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing