We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fantastic staff”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel with fantastic staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay in the Europa hotel in Sirmione and have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff.
Hotel is perfectly placed on the banks of the lake and in a quiet residential area.
If you are looking for a base for exploring the lake then this hotel is perfect.
The room was cleaned daily and the public areas of the hotel were kept clean and tidy. The hotel has a lovely pool for relaxing after a day sightseeing. The breakfast was buffet style and set you up for the day ahead.
The area has a good selection of restaurants within 10 mins walk, we liked to walk into the old town at night,about a 2 km walk, but a nice walk along the lake side. Only drawback was that it was fairly quiet around the hotel so if you want nightlife then it's maybe not for you.
On the whole a great place to stay, with some of the most helpful staff that we have ever came across.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden but the rooms overlooking the lake would be the best I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Europa for 3 nights as part of a trip around Italy and wish we had been staying for longer! The first thing to say is that all of the staff are incredibly helpful anf friendly. The father and son who run the place seem to always be on hand when needed (including speaking a number of languages so that they can cater to all guest needs) but are not intrusive. We got friendly advice when we asked for it and a pleasant welcome at all times.

We paid for a room with a lake view and are extremely glad that we did - the views from our room were stunning. The room itself would benefit from a little updating (fresh lick of paint etc) but were more than acceptable, the bathroom was of a high standard (possibly recently refurbished) and the hotel has a fantastic lift with panoramic views (after reading other reviews saying this was missing). One downside to the rooms is that the air con is not the best and you can't leave the windows open at night being so close to the lake (insects etc). However the black out blinds keep the rooms cool during the day and we did not have a problem sleeping. Also the wifi didn't seem to extend to our room but there was a lovely terrace downstairs where you could sit freely and use it.

Breakfast was lovely and made all the better for being served outside with views of the lake. The hotel doesn't serve other meals but has a good bar service all day with reasonably priced drinks. There are a number of really good and inexpensive restaurants within 5-10 mins walk.

A big benefit is that the hotel has not only a pool but a private area next to the lake with sunbeds and a jetty from which to swim in the lake. We noticed that many hotels don't have this and Sirmione doesn't have a public beach as such so this was a real plus point. The hotel is about 25 min walk out of the historic centre of Sirmione but we didn't find this a problem - the restaurants and bars were cheaper, there was a supermarket nearby and there was a regular bus service if needed. In addition the hotel has free bikes for guests to use and we cycled into Sirmione in 10 mins along safe roads/cycle paths. The bus service also goes to Desenzano/Perschiera for trains to Verona, Milan etc.

We could not recommend this hotel highly enough and will most certainly be back - probably for longer this time!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view, it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemmapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after getting married in Zermatt. It was our first time to Lago di Garda and we are looking forward to the day we are able to return.

Although very small, our room was comfortable and had a nice view of the lake. The location of this hotel is perfect (2 blocks from the main road) and the staff (father and son) are very friendly.

The lobby and outside area are perfect places to relax and have an Aperol Spritz.

Next time we are in Sirmione, we will definitely be booking (and relaxing by the pool) at Hotel Europa!

Room Tip: Make sure you go to QB Ristorante nearby....it was hands down the best restaurant we visited in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed last Sunday night, and we really enjoyed the Europa.
Our room was a little small but very comfortable. The lobby area and breakfast area were pleasant places to read and talk. The pool looked good though we did not use it.
Our room had a pretty view of the lake. The only disadvantage to the place is that by arriving I'm the afternoon on a Sunday, one would have to either walk to the old town, a few kilometers away or brave major traffic jams to line up for a parking place at one tone lots. We solved the problem by eating nearby and saving our walks in the old town for Monday morning.
The family were all helpful and accommodating. It felt like a family place, and that is the kind of place we like. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, views to die for. Staff are very friendly and effecient, especially Elana who is very kind and helpful. The rooms are quite small especially when travelling with teenagers however the pool,free bike rental and lovely breakfasts make up for this.I would highly reccomend to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexy186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Europa and endorse all the positive comments. The location is stunning and peaceful. Friendly, helpful owners and staff, great buffet breakfast eaten in an idyllic setting. Everywhere very clean.The pool is lovely and very welcome after long hot days out. Always plenty of sun loungers and shaded areas to relax in. Good local restaurants within walking distance. The room we were given when we arrived smelled strongly of cigarettes although smoking is prohibited. Staff were very apologetic and we were moved to another room.The only reason I haven't given full marks is that the rooms do need updating and the bathroom was long and narrow. I do appreciate that to change the layout would be very expensive.
I would definitely recommend the Europa and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book early to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

This was just such a beuatiful hotel!!!!!, the location was great near enough to the hustle and bustle of Sirome but out enough for a relaxing hoilday. The pool was fantastic nice hot tub too. Breakfast was fantastic and the view was breath taking. Last but not least the staff were delightful very helpful and accomadating . This is truely a romantic place the price is not the most economic but when you get what your getting here its worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.3 mi away
Yachting Hotel Mistral
Yachting Hotel Mistral
#44 of 67 in Sirmione
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ca' Serena Hotel
Ca' Serena Hotel
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#37 of 67 in Sirmione
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#10 of 67 in Sirmione
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#30 of 67 in Sirmione
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Liguria 1, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#22 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europa Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing