We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel. Great location. If coming to the town, you must know what you are in for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mavino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mavino
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great location. If coming to the town, you must know what you are in for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sirmione is an old town in which there are no cars allowed, unless you have a hotel in the area or you are a taxi. This hotel will call a taxi directly to the hotel for you if you need it. If you are ok to walk about 10 minutes, you can go to the taxi stand that is just outside the old town walls. There is also a ferry that comes directly from Desenzano to Sirmione and it is a great way to see the place.

So, the hotel. The staff are friendly, though a lot of them do not speak amazing English. Either way, they will help you as much as they can.

The only thing I would recommend is to NOT have your room as 301, 302, 303. They are directly under the kitchen and there is absolutely no insulation in the ceiling to protect the noise. The other rooms on this floor may also be an issue, only due to chair movement, but definitely the ones under the kitchen are a nightmare. I would request another room.

Breakfast is great. Has a huge spread of pastries, boiled eggs, cereals, toast, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, etc...

I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in 301, 302, 303 beware of the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trish w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    125
    32
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
149
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Totally disagree with the bloke who stayed here in Oct 2011. The staff were very helpful, for example needed another pillow and got one within 2 minutes, helped us with train timetables and printed them off. Also very cheerful and happy.
The hotel is in a great location, great views and no noise from the street outside. Breakfast is basic but why would you fill up on that when you have the best antipasti I have ever tasted on your doorstep.
Only thing is could do with a pool, but you are surrounded by a lake so not a major issue.
I can honestly not think of one bad thing about the hotel or the area! GREAT HOLIDAY.
Advice... Book a taxi to pick you up from outside the the old town (only a 5 min walk) or get one there. Will save you up to 10.00 Euros. Also as mentioned if you are getting a train get a timetable from the hotel. There are cheap and expensive tickets. depending on where you are going the Cheap tickets could save you ALOT of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel staff was incredibly useless while they didn't even do their elementary job- notifying us regarding the car entrance restrictions at Sundays, of which consequently we arrived back from our day tour at the wrong hour, and couldn't get in the city center with our car. Had to look for parking out of the city a nightmare which lasted for almost an hour! Not only that, even after we turned their attention to their mistake and notified them that we are going out again at the evening they didn't even bother to give us an entrance certification which appeared as required and resulted in additional inconvenience with the officers at the city gate.
We were promised to have a lake view but instead we had a blocked view (pics attached).
When we asked whether we could change the room we received a weird answer saying that the guests at floor zero complains regarding the noise from street and those from the 2nd floor complains about the noise from the breakfast which is taking place on the 2nd floor and we are lucky to have the room in the 1st floor. Pretty ridicules..
The room was relatively small but the most inconvenient was the shower. It's so small that they didn't even left the option to close it and consequently one has to make a huge effort not to spread water all over the floor. Obviously it's impossible and after making a shower you end up with flooding. Is this what you expect when staying in 3 starts hotel?
Breakfast is poor. The boiled eggs are absolutely decayed! (pics attached). In addition the coffee is a cheap machine coffee with milk substitutes- very bad!
The tables are so small that one can barely put his two elbows on top. As i said, feels like cheap hostel.
Unsurprisingly, the Internet isn't for free.
Parking lot is about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. No assistance is offered at arrival, despite the fact we mentioned we have 2 suitcases.
The only good think I can say about this hotel is it's location (debatable). on one hand it's right in the center of the historical center of the small town which could be an advantage, but on the other hand, it's very difficult to reach with a car as one has to route his way through hundreds of people in narrow streets.
BTW, this whole "pleasure" costs 118 Euros per night.
Overall, value for money is from the lowest we came accross with.
My tip, save your money and energy, stay out of sirmione, sleep outside.
Thanks,
Zahi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reliabletraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Me and my fiancee were in this hotel 4 days in July 2011.
The biggest plus is definitely the hotel location, immediately followed by the hospitality and friendliness of staff. The only minus to mention it goes - especially for the Italian situation - very bad coffee at breakfast.
Destination and the hotel we found through SiteTalk Travel (www.sitetalk.com / WillySLO).
Sirmione is a beautiful but very (really) expensive. For example - a large beer (Birra Grande): 7.5 €.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillySLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonte Boa, AM
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Mavino at the beginning of October 2010. We came to Sirmione by car. The access of the city is only permitted for residents and hotel guests. When we arrived, our name was already registered on the control office and a sympathetic policeman opened the city gates for us. Sirmione is beautiful and Hotel Mavino is located in the center, in a prime location. The front desk staff was very friendly, giving us all the information we had to know about the city and its stunning surroundings. The room was great, clean, fragrant and well equipped. Parking is a bit far, in the courtyard of an inactive hotel blocks away. But, beyond the tours around Lake Garda, the use of the car is absolutely unnecessary in Sirmione. Moreover, it is worth the walk to the parking lot, because the scenery is breathtaking. The breakfast is satisfactory. We intend to return to Sirmione some day to explore other nearby cities we did not have time to visit. Sure we will choose Hotel Mavino to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

When staying in Sirmione I suppose there are two points to consider first - time of year and whether to stay on the old town side of the draw bridge or outside. I imagine visiting Sirmione at the height of the season would be a terrible experience - the streets are narrow and even in October it was fairly busy. the area before the drawbridge is modern and anonomous- you really could be anywhere. However it all changes once you see the Old Fort by the drawbidge - then you are in the delightful old town. Cobbled streets- opening out with views of the lake, many hotels, restaurants, expensive shops, ice creams,old churches etc.
Hotel is at the far end of the old town- so very convenient for the town, ferry , restaurants fort and walks. Its also not very far from the spa and its an easy walk to the the Grotto of Catullo- not to be missed.
We had a second floor room with a balcony and view of the lake - essential and the view was much better than some of the more expensive hotels could offer. The room was simple and very clean. It had a pitched roof, lined with wood. The bathroom was small with one of those stupid showers with no door - so easy to flood!
I guess the bad points centre around aspects of the room. I have already mentioned the bathroom - add to that the pitiful bathroom goodies - basic to say the least - bring your own. the walls are paper thin and the first two nights were greatly distrubed by the person next door snoring - its bad enough with husband snoring - at least I could kick him!!!!! The third night was equally noisey because an Italian man two rooms along had the TV on a full blast resulting people banging on the walls - fortunately the night porter sorted this out.Although the street below was pretty quiet in the evening - with the window open you could hear people talking - didnt bother us. The dining room was on the floor above and we could here the chairs scrapping on the floor for some of the very early breakfasters - again not a real problem. The breakfast - possibly the worst coffee and juice ever encountered- however there was fresh fruit, croissants, ceral, bread, rolls, meat , cheese - and we managed fine - always took some bread rolls to feed the ducks on the lake!!
The ladies on the desk were very friendly and helpful - a request for more pillows was no problem and they were helpful about getting to Verona and dealing with taxis - the only things we asked them about.
For Verona - get a bus from the other side of the drawbridge - the ticket office and post office are right there. The Tourist office had one of the most unhelpful people I have ever come across - so give that a miss! Takes about an hour to get to Verona- we did two city bus tours that day - its a joint ticket with your own headphones which you take on both buses- valid for 24 hours. If you only have time to do one - I recommend the B tour which includes a stop to get out and take photos above the city. You can hop on and off at any of the stops but there are not many buses - so watch the time so you dont miss the bus back to Sirmione. If you want a taxi - its easier to walk to the bust stop area outside the drawbridge and pick up one there than order from your hotel.
Boat trips on the lake are easy - there are some private tours but we just used the ferry - check you times carefully - they dont all come back to Sirmione!
I would probably use this hotel again - the good points - location , view etc outweigh some of the bad ones. But I would be very careful about the time of year- also its an expensive area.I have no idea who the shops are aimed at since if you are flying in on a budget airline to Bergamo - you dont really have much of a luggage allowance.
We used the train to get to Sirmione from Bergamo- straight forward and reasonally cheap - however taxi from the station at Desenzano was 24Euros
dont forget to have an ice cream and spritz aperol

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hotel Mavino is a three star hotel built four years ago, well situated away from the tourist end of Sirmione. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The Breakfast Room is in the roof of the hotel and can be cramped with a large group eating all at once but the continental breakfast is good. We were part of a group of 36 who travelled to Lake Garda by train.

Our room looked over the street but because there is very little traffic it was very quiet.
I would use this hotel again if I returned to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Broglia
Hotel Broglia
#60 of 69 in Sirmione
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#11 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel degli Oleandri
Hotel degli Oleandri
#20 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corte Regina
Corte Regina
#9 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#58 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#66 of 69 in Sirmione
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mavino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mavino

Property: Hotel Mavino
Address: via Piana, 17, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mavino 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mavino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavino Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Mavino Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing