We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC STAY”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were four adults sharing a quad room with a balcony which faced the lake so we had a great view even though the lake is across the road. We had no issues with traffic noise. The hotel is in a good location, next to a supermarket for important wine and beer supplies! The prices in the bar are reasonable so it makes a perfect stop for a nightcap. There are several bars and restaurants in walking distance and it a pleasant one hour stroll into Sirmione old town (about 8 euros for a taxi back).

There is plenty of on site car parking and the pool area is well served with loungers, chairs and table and whilst the pool isn't of Olympic proportions it is more than adequate.

The motorway is very close by and thus makes trips in to Verona and Venice very easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Reasonable walk to center of town (at southern end of peninsula) for restaurants and basic shops, but need to drive to get to "old town" of sirmione. Decent size room for family of 4, modern design. As mentioned by others, pool images on web are deceiving...it's smaller than you think, and on the day we were there, very buggy. Included breakfast is good, and staff was usually helpful. Though on a main road, not very noisy. Hotel is about 800 meters from public beach with free access and option to rent chairs and umbrellas, as well as paddle boats. (Loved the slides on the boats!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneKnightOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Arena, is in a great location overlooking Lake Garda at the South Eastern end of the Sirmione peninsular, in the Colombare area - about a 35-40 minute wlk along the lake to Sirmione itself. Handy parking at the hotel itself. Most parking in Sir

Smallish rooms, but comfortable, good breakfast. The rooftop pool is wonderful.

Lots of great restaurants in Sirmione and Colombare, a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The pictures of the hotel that you will see on booking web-sites are misleading: The hotel is situated on a main road, very noisy all the time.

The information we got from a booking web-site were also misleading, because we got a room with no balcony, small window, in the attic. It looked more like a service room than a guest room.

We could not open the window overnight because of the traffic noise. We asked for a double bed, but we got two loosely joined beds, so the sleeping was not very comfortable.
The staff speaks poor English, we asked for additional hangers and they could not understand us, so I had to draw a picture. There was only one English channel on the TV.

The internet is expensive, and is sold by 15 minute intervals, which is very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hier0nimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

After looking at a lot of hotels in Sirmione my boyfriend and I decided on this one, which unfortunately we were disappointed with.
The hotel itself was lovely, although I agree with some of the other reviews about the pool images being a bit misleading. We didn't realize there was a main road between the hotel and the lake - the hotel over the other side of the road seemed a lot more appealing.
Location wasn't great, but we took advantage of the free hotel hire bikes and did a bit of exploring, the only problem with that is it you want to stop anywhere for lunch you need to find somewhere to lock up your bikes!

I'm sure we will go back to Lake Garda, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamwal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed at the hotel Arena for three nights the service was excellent and the receptionist made us feel very welcome. Free parking and the rooms were excellent and very clean. the hotel was on main road but it was not noisy at all we had a front room with balcony. It was a good walk to the main resort however it was a pleasant walk alone the water front. We hired a boat which was a little pricey but worth every penny as it was an experience we will never forget. The terrace pool was lovely and very relaxing and not too busy. all in all the experience of lake Garda was one we will not forget in a hurry. Very romantic and the town was beautiful. The restaurants in the main town were a over priced. we found the food was best on the main road by the waters edge. The steak was lovely and enjoyed every meal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Hotel Arena reminds me of the style of Holiday Inns in the UK - bonus is that every room has a balcony or terrace from where you can get a view of the lake, but there is a main road outside the hotel which intercepts the view. If you have children, there is no bath, only a shower.
The staff were helpful, breakfast typical of the continental style. Pool is located on the roof of the building and is perfect when the sun shines as there are plenty of sunloungers.
Location is not so good simply because the main hub of Sirmione is at the end of the pennisula. Hotel Arena is about 25/30 min walk into this busier area of town, and the nearest train station is a 10 minute taxi journey, and nearest bus stop is about 1/2 mile away.
If you're active and travelling without children, or if you are hiring a car for your holiday, then this hotel is very comfortable, reliable and good value for your stay in Sirmione.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank filive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.0 mi away
Yachting Hotel Mistral
Yachting Hotel Mistral
#41 of 67 in Sirmione
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riel
Hotel Riel
#23 of 67 in Sirmione
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#30 of 67 in Sirmione
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Holiday
Hotel Residence Holiday
#63 of 67 in Sirmione
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bolero
Hotel Bolero
#54 of 67 in Sirmione
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Via Verona 90, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $98 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Arena Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing