We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, welcome pool”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arena
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Arena, is in a great location overlooking Lake Garda at the South Eastern end of the Sirmione peninsular, in the Colombare area - about a 35-40 minute wlk along the lake to Sirmione itself. Handy parking at the hotel itself. Most parking in Sir

Smallish rooms, but comfortable, good breakfast. The rooftop pool is wonderful.

Lots of great restaurants in Sirmione and Colombare, a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

The pictures of the hotel that you will see on booking web-sites are misleading: The hotel is situated on a main road, very noisy all the time.

The information we got from a booking web-site were also misleading, because we got a room with no balcony, small window, in the attic. It looked more like a service room than a guest room.

We could not open the window overnight because of the traffic noise. We asked for a double bed, but we got two loosely joined beds, so the sleeping was not very comfortable.
The staff speaks poor English, we asked for additional hangers and they could not understand us, so I had to draw a picture. There was only one English channel on the TV.

The internet is expensive, and is sold by 15 minute intervals, which is very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hier0nimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

After looking at a lot of hotels in Sirmione my boyfriend and I decided on this one, which unfortunately we were disappointed with.
The hotel itself was lovely, although I agree with some of the other reviews about the pool images being a bit misleading. We didn't realize there was a main road between the hotel and the lake - the hotel over the other side of the road seemed a lot more appealing.
Location wasn't great, but we took advantage of the free hotel hire bikes and did a bit of exploring, the only problem with that is it you want to stop anywhere for lunch you need to find somewhere to lock up your bikes!

I'm sure we will go back to Lake Garda, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamwal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed at the hotel Arena for three nights the service was excellent and the receptionist made us feel very welcome. Free parking and the rooms were excellent and very clean. the hotel was on main road but it was not noisy at all we had a front room with balcony. It was a good walk to the main resort however it was a pleasant walk alone the water front. We hired a boat which was a little pricey but worth every penny as it was an experience we will never forget. The terrace pool was lovely and very relaxing and not too busy. all in all the experience of lake Garda was one we will not forget in a hurry. Very romantic and the town was beautiful. The restaurants in the main town were a over priced. we found the food was best on the main road by the waters edge. The steak was lovely and enjoyed every meal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowe1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Hotel Arena reminds me of the style of Holiday Inns in the UK - bonus is that every room has a balcony or terrace from where you can get a view of the lake, but there is a main road outside the hotel which intercepts the view. If you have children, there is no bath, only a shower.
The staff were helpful, breakfast typical of the continental style. Pool is located on the roof of the building and is perfect when the sun shines as there are plenty of sunloungers.
Location is not so good simply because the main hub of Sirmione is at the end of the pennisula. Hotel Arena is about 25/30 min walk into this busier area of town, and the nearest train station is a 10 minute taxi journey, and nearest bus stop is about 1/2 mile away.
If you're active and travelling without children, or if you are hiring a car for your holiday, then this hotel is very comfortable, reliable and good value for your stay in Sirmione.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank filive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We have just returned from staying at The Arena Sirmione.. This hotel is ideally situated for touring the lakes and visiting Verona and Venice. The breakfast contained a good range of continental foods and the coffee flowed. We swam in the roof top pool with its panoramic view towards the mountains and lake. The receptionist speaks many languages and she fell over herself to help us organise our day trips. The room was beautifully clean.
The staff were all very friendly. This Hotel is good value for your money.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sparky317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We found the hotel pretty much as others have said though the owners are not at all friendly. The staff are great and very helpful, the owners don't deserve them.

Our family room was very clean with a really nice big bathroom, air conditioning and a fridge. The location is fine if you make use of the free bikes. These bikes are not in fantastic condition but are free to use and were a big bonus for us. Riding into Sirmione was great fun.

THE POOL PHOTOS ARE MISLEADING. There is a busy road between the hotel and the lake.

We had a great time here and overall the hotel is good but those pool photos on the website are meant to deceive which I really don't like

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mike3000England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#19 of 67 in Sirmione
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 67 in Sirmione
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riel
Hotel Riel
#18 of 67 in Sirmione
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Via Verona 90, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $79 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Arena Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing