We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel that punches above its weight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alfieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alfieri
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel that punches above its weight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Really impressed with this 3* hotel which was more like a 4*. The service was superb, rooms comfortable and well appointed. Food good and plentiful, lovely rooftop swimming pool. Location was close enough to the lake and town but in a quiet residential area which gave it the peace we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyfish17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    190
    48
    21
    31
See reviews for
84
271
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Hotel Alfieri in Sirmione and it was wonderful. We went with my son, his wife and their two boys aged 8 and 4. It is a fairly small hotel and not particularly grand but I cannot recommend it highly enough - it is quite superb! My husband and I had a privilege double room with a huge balcony and my son was next door in a family room with bunk beds for the children. The rooms were clean and well-serviced with lovely soft towels and a good shower in both ensuite bathrooms. We had no problems with either the Wi-Fi or the Air Con.

The buffet breakfast was very good, better than we anticipated, with plenty of choice, including fresh fruit, hot food, good coffee etc. We ate dinner there two nights and that was lovely as well.

But it is the staff that really make this hotel so special. every single one of them was helpful, smiling, patient, friendly and genuinely eager to please. They went out of their way to make our stay special and I would like to thank them sincerely. There are so many examples of this: giving careful details of local transport and attractions, making several phone calls to Verona on our behalf, being lenient about the bike hire for our large family, trying to help me with my Italian (I am learning), the special star shaped biscuits that were available all day, the welcome glass of prosecco and the goodbye gifts of wine, more biscuits and flapjacks for the children. To cap it all the manager even bought a football specially for my grandsons and challenged them to a fun game outside, although he was clearly very busy.

Sirmione is beautiful and Hotel Alfieri is a real gem. And I haven't even mentioned the fabulous rooftop pool with a lovely view of the lake.......!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Needed somewhere to stay for 6 nights as original plans had to be changed, so booked this pretty much at random. Couldn't have been more delighted with the choice. Hotel was clean and inviting with a warm welcome from the manager. The receptionist (Laura) couldn't have been more helpful throughout the course of our stay. Very pleased with the room - fridge, kettle etc and lovely bathroom. Walked up to the rooftop pool, and - wow, what a view of the lake! Great to come back to for a cool down after a day's sightseeing.
Breakfast was everything you'd expect of a continental buffet, so most days we didn't even need to bother thinking about lunch! The hotel also provided an option to dine in at night - a set price 3 course meal including drinks. We chose this on several nights and were never disappointed. It was equally easy however to walk out to nearby lakeside restaurants, which were all good value.
We had a car whilst we were there and the hotel was ideally placed for visiting other lakeside resorts as well as a day in Verona. We had booked the hotel carparking (an underground on-site park, which was very good and secure), but there was also plenty of free local street parking available.
We had never visited the Italian Lakes before and found the area to be quite stunning. We would certainly consider a return to the area, and if we do go back, we would definitely consider staying at the Alfieri again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights from 20th July 2014. My wife, small son and I were made to feel very welcome. Probably the most personal welcome I've ever had from a hotel and we travel a lot. Has a real nice feel to the place, and all the staff were very friendly. Pool and terraces on the roof are a big bonus. Breakfast is continental style but one of the better ones I've had, and plenty of it. Rooms are average size but very clean. I would use this place again and well placed for exploring Lake Garda.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank billynoodle1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

A warm welcome awaited us and throughout our stay we were treated as special.Everyone was helpful and informative.The room although basic was clean and had a lake view and a fridge.A drinks tray with kettle and a bottle of drinking water was provided.
The lake view from the sparkling roof terrace pool was lovely.
Breakfast was unfailingly good and the vast section of buffet foods were beautifully presented.The staff always friendly and efficient.Even at busy times the restaurant was light and airy with plenty of space between tables.We were never rushed in order to make space for other guests.
The district of Columbare where the Alfieri is situated, had good bus links to other areas and very cheap local bus if you get tickets from the local shops.
Not surprisingly, given standard of service and the reasonable room charges this hotel is very popular.A well deserved success.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

rooms are tiny very small and close to a noisy street, the worst is parking,
No space for the SUV, i asked the manager to park somewhere different, they chosen a backup spot which is very hard to park. He took 10min, after i started to complain, what happened after is unbelievable, i guess this is Italian temperament, he got all exited and was very aggressive with me.
This shouldn't happen to a customer but i guess he can afford it.

Wouldn't recommend this Hotel, bad bad bad!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freefly618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

very Nice hotel, very helpfull staff, breakfast good, although never ate in the hotel for evening meals so can't comment. Parking under the hotel was good and secure. The roof top pool is fantastic with food and drink availble there.
note that they have free cycle use but it is only free for 3 hours, NOT worth paying for as they are not maintianed ...NOT as the owner states that they are perfect condition
(the pedal arm fell off my bike and the others creak and groan..) otherwise this was a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiorella
Hotel Fiorella
#11 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alsazia
Hotel Alsazia
#42 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riel
Hotel Riel
#26 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mauro
Hotel Mauro
#35 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Fonte Boiola
Hotel Fonte Boiola
#18 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#24 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfieri

Property: Hotel Alfieri
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 38, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#19 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfieri 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is situated in Colombare, Sirmione, near the lake (few minutes by walk). It has a beautiful swimming pool on the roof with panoramic view on the Garda lake and a typical Italian Restaurant withe different menu every day! All rooms have air conditioning and all services (Tv, Mediaset Premium, phon, soap kit, kettle). You can ask at reception for the bikes, and get to the center of Sirmione in 20 minutes. In the hotel there is also a free internet Point. Hotel Alfieri is far 10 minutes from "Autostrada A4", from Desenzano and from Peschiera. It is also near to Gardaland and the other beatiful parks of the Garda Lake. Colombare is a good choice for travellers interested in touristic tours, lakes and romantic walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alfieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfieri Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Alfieri Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing