We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel!”
Review of Hotel Alfieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alfieri
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value hotel!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent 5 days here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and kept that way on a daily basis. The buffet breakfast had something for everyone and as much as you wanted. The staff are friendly and helpful as is the owner. The location suited us as it is close to the lake and some good restaurants. Having walked along the lake up to the old town of Sirmione and the castle on the peninsula ( a good 35 minute walk) we were so glad we hadn't booked a hotel there especially with a car! Even at the beginning of October is was very busy and moving a car around was not easy due to people and size of streets! We drove to various towns on both sides of the lake from here easily and particularly enjoyed a boat trip from Gardone to Riva Del Garda and the cable car to Monte Baldo from Malcesine is a must....luckily not a lot of queuing at this time of the year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    201
    50
    22
    31
See reviews for
86
291
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st albans- Hertfordshire}
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really liked this hotel and the staff even though there English was pretty poor.The guy who runs it (maybe owns it) Goes miles out of his way to make sure your stay is happy. The rooms are quite standard as in any hotel but are kept beautifully clean and tidy. We stayed half boardand the evening meals are all served, no buffet. some would say that the portions are small, but I did not think so. Every meal was delicious. Breakfast is buffet and plenty of choice. My only critisism is that the dining room staff are not very experianced and there English is not very good. but they really try hard to please the guests. You are very near to the buses up to the ferry port and into Verona. If you don't mind a walk you can walk up to the ferry. 50 minutes average time walking, half way along the lake and half along the road. Lake Garda if a fabulous area and you will love evey town you visit around the lake. Market in Garda Thursday is a must.

Room Tip: you do't go there for the veiw from the hotel, its in a residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room was well equipped with everything needed for our stay. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. The pool on the roof has a nice view toward the lake Garda. Free to rent bicycles are on disposal of the guests at any time and it's a perfect option to get to historic part of Sirmione. Only 300 meters from the Bus Stop to Verona, Desenzano or Breschia which was very convinient for a day trip. Free Wifi internet. Highly recommend hotel Alfieri!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved this hotel! Good value for money!
Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Upon our check in we were offered a free welcome drink and upon our departure the next morning, the owner (very friendly person) gave us a gift , a bottle of olive oil and a bottle of wine.
The place is very cosy and rooms are very clean.
Breakfast was Superb!

If you have a car to reach Sirmione (6mins by car) this is the place where to stay! I would definetely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor regis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Let me say right away for all of those moaners who like nothing better than to complain about the smallest detail. If you are looking for a football pitch sized room, then don't stay here. If you are however looking for one of the best and friendliest Hotels to visit then absolutely do stay here!!!
The owner Greeted as upon arrival with a hand shake, and introduced himself as Alfonso. He could see that we were hot and sweaty after our journey so gave us the room key and told us to come back down to check in after we had got comfortable. He arranged a free welcome drink organized by another member of the family (his daughter). The room was small but immaculately clean, and more than enough for the two of us. we were there for 2 days and seriously everything was just brilliant.On our last night there was a power cut caused by a generator problem in Sirmione. Alfonso was up and greeting everyone who came back to the Hotel unaware, to explain the problem, and was apologising prefusely, even though it was clearly out of his control. Upon leaving the hotel the next morning , with a final handshake, Alfonso presented us with a gift pack of a bottle of Olive oil, and local wine. One final point. the breakfast spread was just superb and catered for any taste, and the only thing I would say could be better was that it was very hot in the breakfast room, (perhaps the air con was off). We would thourougly recommend this hotel, because of the the owner firstly, and the ambiance and cleanliness secondly. Well done Alfonso, we will be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed for one night after reading a lot of good reviews on Tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed. Hotel Alfieri is certainly a good value-for-money pick in the quite expensive Sirmione. The only thing to know before booking is that the hotel isn't exactly close to the town center - where there's everything you're there for: views, monuments, wellness, restaurants. You need a car to go to Sirmione downtown or you can rent a bike from the hotel for free, but please keep in mind it's a 20-minute (2.5 km) ride - you have to be fit to do it. The owner is extremely friendly, he warmly welcomes any guest and thanks to him we got discounts for a luxury wellness center and a last-minute lake-front table reservation at a nice restaurant on Saturday evening. He offered us welcome drinks and gave us some local wine and oil as a present at the check-out. The hotel has also a small but nice pool on the roof - very appreciated; the pool is complemented by a snack bar and features a good view on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBG_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmer Green
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was very centrally located near the lake and restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and informative about the local and surrounding areas. We hired free of charge bicycles for the day. On arrival we were given a welcome drink and upon leaving a bottle of wine and olive oil. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 68 in Sirmione
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiorella
Hotel Fiorella
#12 of 68 in Sirmione
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alsazia
Hotel Alsazia
#49 of 68 in Sirmione
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riel
Hotel Riel
#25 of 68 in Sirmione
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mauro
Hotel Mauro
#39 of 68 in Sirmione
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#17 of 68 in Sirmione
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfieri

Property: Hotel Alfieri
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 38, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#19 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfieri 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is situated in Colombare, Sirmione, near the lake (few minutes by walk). It has a beautiful swimming pool on the roof with panoramic view on the Garda lake and a typical Italian Restaurant withe different menu every day! All rooms have air conditioning and all services (Tv, Mediaset Premium, phon, soap kit, kettle). You can ask at reception for the bikes, and get to the center of Sirmione in 20 minutes. In the hotel there is also a free internet Point. Hotel Alfieri is far 10 minutes from "Autostrada A4", from Desenzano and from Peschiera. It is also near to Gardaland and the other beatiful parks of the Garda Lake. Colombare is a good choice for travellers interested in touristic tours, lakes and romantic walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alfieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfieri Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Alfieri Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing