We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impressive ruin from Roman times”
Review of Grotte di Catullo

Grotte di Catullo
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.41*
and up
Sirmione, Lake Garda and Desenzano del Garda Tour by Train from Milan
More Info
$11.94*
and up
25 Minute Small Group Cruise of the Sirmione Peninsula
More Info
$131.35*
and up
Sunset Cruise Tour of Sirmione
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An impressive ruin from Roman times”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a huge palace. The museum building gives some useful background in its exhibits and videos. You can also get an English summary of the ruins from the ticket office but you must return it when you leave.
We went to Sirmione specifically to see this ruin and it was really worth it. Much has been excavated and you can see what an engineering feat the palace was.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    997
    221
    52
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A short walk from Sirmione, or take the mini train for a small fee, to this wonderful place & you will not be disappointed if you enjoy beautiful scenery combined with Roman history. There's a small entrance fee, free to over 65's, and you enter the museum, which I enjoyed but would have benefitted from more english translation. We watched a video in english and that provided excellent background to the Grotte. After the museum we went out into the ruins & I fell in love with the place. The stunning scenery & remarkable ruins were a highlight of an already fabulous holiday. On the day of our visit it was blisteringly hot, so we were glad of the bottle of water we took in with us. There is a cafe but it's outside the museum/ruins & therefore not somewhere you can pop into for a sit down & a cooling drink & then carry on meandering. The scale of the place
was incredible, & surrounded as it is by the beautiful clear water of Lake Garda plus the views - a gem, so pleased we visited. It must have been truly magnificent in its heyday!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JandMDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Interesting Ruins”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a couple of hours if you are in Sirmione. It's obvious that there is an awful lot more to be uncovered someday but there is enough there to give a sense of how grand this once was. The best 'ruin' is at the headland overlooking the lake.

There is also a museum but to be honest we by passed it for the ruins.

One more tip. Take the mini train if it's a hot day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The grotto is an amazing relic of Roman architecture and frescoes. There are breathtaking views of Lake Garda from the gardens and it is easy to transport oneself back in time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snoozie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit with great views.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you like history and enjoy spectacular views then please take the time to either walk to see the ruins or take the little train up and down the hill. Great views from the top and a relaxing way to see the quiter side of Sirmione.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellapasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotte di Catullo also viewed

Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Grotte di Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing