We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveler rating
588
339
47
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
588
339
47
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town design room great hotel hour bar lake garda directly opposite the hotel recommend this hotel the main bus stop restaurant staff quiet area base for exploring half board minute walk good size spent a week here reception staff free bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 995 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

Perfectly clean room and bathroom, good towels, comfortable firm beds, excelent breakfast and a lovely reception.

Stayed 1 night with 4 people, 2 rooms for 90euros. Really great value for such a price!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Elenavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Since years we come to the Porto Azzurro,
we like the nice atmosphere, the good service,
many thanks to the hotel directors and the whole staff for making the stays always very pleasant.
We will be back next year!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Friedrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely week’s stay at Hotel Porto Azzurro. The good things about the hotel are the very helpful and friendly staff and the high standard of cleanliness. We stayed late in the season and hadn’t realised how quiet the place would be. It really isn’t a short stroll to the Old Town however, it takes between 45 minutes and an hour which is why thy offer the use of a bike! The 1 Euro shuttle bus opposite the hotel is very useful and runs regularly until late. We found the local restaurants mostly empty or closed this late in the season but plenty going on in the Old Town which is lovely. Breakfast was ok although I only saw the crepes on the first morning. The evening a la carte was excellent but pricey. If we had known the distance to the Old Town we might have stayed half board at this time of year. There is a good pizzeria opposite the hotel for a change. Verona is easy on the local bus and only 7€. The local buses should not be relied on for airport connections! Pool area nice. Give the Chinese restaurant down the road a miss although very cheap the staff are surly and the food is like no Chinese food I have ever eaten ... we didn’t use the balcony as it was shaded in a corner and didn’t afford a great deal of privacy. Try and get a large room or suite if possible. A good base for visiting the various towns and villages around the Lake.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TattyFiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinaManuela, Direttore at Hotel Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you very much for your nice words!
We usually do all the best to ensure an unforguettable stay in Sirmione and we are happy to know that our main objective has been achieved!
As you marked out we are sited in a really strategic location, from which you can easily reach all the best places near the lake by bus, by ferry boat, by bycicles or walking along the lake.
Our Restaurant offers a typical Italian menù à la carte or a tasting menu for 25,00 Euros per person.. and we are happy to know you enjoyed them!
the next time you could book directly, receiving our best offers and rooms.. see you soon!

A big hug from Sirmione
Valentina, Manuela and all the Staff








Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderfull stay at hotel porto azzuro, stayed for one week in a superior room. The room was light, very well cleaned every day and a good bathroom. Especially the cleaning is very good, the ladies made sure that everything was cleaned perfectly.
Breakfast was good, enough choices every day.
The staff is friendly and sweet, we liked how they treated us.
And to end with, we could hire bicycles for free for three hours long.
We can really recommend this hotel to everyone.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 187nienkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We have just returned from a week at Porto Azzurro and were not disappointed.My first thought was to award the hotel 4 stars because 5 is really for perfection.But I then decided that for a 3 star hotel,it was perfect so it would be unfair not to give it five.
Our room was a design room which was roomy,clean and well equipped.It overlooked the road but this was not a problem as traffic is light and there was a beautiful panorama of the lake from the balcony and the room received sun all day.
The hotel itself is fairly small and compact with a good sizes swimming pool.The location is good because it is within a reasonable walking distance from the old town,or you simply walk over the road and catch the bus which passes by on a frequent basis.There is also a good supermarket 5 minutes walk up the road.
We stayed on half board basis and enjoyed all our meals.There is plenty of selection so there should be something for everybody.There is also a good salad bar from which you could make a meal in itself.Breakfast was perfectly adequate with enough choice for everybody.
However,what makes the hotel a little special is the staff.Any hotel depends on its staff to be successful and this is where Porto Azzurro scores highly.Everybody is efficient,helpful and friendly.Valentina the manageress is a gem.There is also Valentina no.2 who is also excellent.The staff in the dining room are excellent.There is Giovanni,the "maitre d'",always at you service plus all the other staff who are equally good.I will make special mention of Szilvia who,I swear,has roller skates hidden in her shoes.She moves around the dining room at great pace and must cover 50km a night!-and delightful to boot.I can not remember all the names but there is not a bad one at all.
Last but not least there is the delightful Manuela at reception.She is like a bottle of fine champagne-bubbly and makes you feel wonderful.A true gem.
With staff like this success should be guaranteed.
There are a few minor quibbles.An English TV channel would be welcome and perhaps tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.But these are minor quibbles.
I would not hesitate to recommend Porto Azzurro to any one.
The only downside to the holiday was Verona airport.Understaffed and inefficient.Passport control is AFTER security,so unless you realize this and sit and wait for your gate to be called,you could then be confronted by a massive queue to get to your gate in time,where there is nowhere to sit when you have about 1000 people waiting at the same time.They then manage to dispatch people to the wrong plane and not tell any body why everybody is stood waiting without having a clue what is going on.
But Porto Azzurro hotel-GREAT!Highly recommended.

Room tip: Any design room
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NICHOLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews