We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just returned home from a lovely vacation in Sirmione - Italy. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel Porto Azzurro. Located between the centre of colombare and Sirmione, this hotels offers a nice restaurant and swimmingpool. The renovated rooms are nice and spacious enough for two adults. I have no remarks what so ever about this hotel. The service always was excellent and the staff is really kind and friendly.

The hotels is situated at about 25 min walking distance of Sirmione ( this is a really charming town). We've rented a scooter for 1 day and drove around the lake ... BEAUTIFULL !!!

As a travel Agent I really can recomend this hotel.
( cathy.v@travel-experts.be - http://www.facebook.com/TE.Cathy.v )

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 785 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very nice staff, perfect service!
The staff always do there best to help you whit your need or questions!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Although the hotel is not well sign-posted it was easy to find due to a large sign on the building. The staff speak good english but almost as soon as we arrived they were trying to get more money from us by trying to up-grade our room from a 'design' to a 'classic'. We eventually settled for a lake-view room which had little extra apart from the view and no fridge or heating.
We ate in the restaurant on the 1st night only and never again - the food was drowning in oil and not well cooked. Breakfast was typically continential - although the meats and cheeses very salty and the pastries too sweet.
The staff are pleasant enough and know individual guests, but were quite controlling regarding use of facilities such as the telephone.

If you are looking for somewhere quiet, in a reasonable location and are keen to explore the local restaurants then this place is fine, if you want an all-inclusive experience then maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: be warned - they will only book you into a 'classic' room which is the most basic, and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It advertises as 3 star and that is what it is, comfortable, clean but with few frills. Buffet breakfast was very good and room pleasantly cool (with the air con) after being out in the 30º+ heat. Good parking, 5 minute walk to the new town which has several eating places (mainly pizzerias) and 25 minute walk to the old town which is beautiful. Parking for the old town is quite expensive for a prolonged stay (2.20 Euros per hour). Restaurants are quite expensive, we spent an average of 75 Euros on our evening meal for 2 and my wife doesn't drink much!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yblcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The positives: a good sized, clean room, more than adequate breakfast, lovely (though cold) pool, good parking facilities, reasonable location for walking into new town for meals and just a short drive to the old town. Good base for exploring the area.

The negatives: upon arrival we were told that we could not stay in the double room we were being allocated and that if we did not want to move we could pay extra for a "design suite". We declined and duly turned up at reception the next morning ready to move to another room. Having had a poor night's sleep due to being disturbed by water running in the toilet all night (faulty flush) we were quite happy to move. However we were then told that we were not going to be moved after all, unless - you guessed it - we wanted to pay extra to stay in a "design suite"! This left us feeling that they were more interested in squeezing more money out of us than ensuring that we had a comfortable stay. Staff did not appear to be interested in resolving the problem with the running water either.

A pity, as if it hadn't been for this I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Quiet area but within 500 meters of good restaurants. Hotel food OK but we like to venture out, not a problem. Good clean accommodation and nice to sit out on the balcony at night. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, they remember you and what you like; but English is obviously a minority, not the hotels fault, and we got by easily despite no Italian.
Good family hotel and kids not too intrusive in the evening; all in all a great place, would go again. A good base for exploring the Lake, Verona and also ventured to Bresica.
Public Transport is cheap and reliable.
Taxi fare to airport is steep, but that is everywhere in Italy.
If you want nightlife then don't go. If you want a family holiday or a good base to explore from, then go.

Room Tip: Ask for view of pool not the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikka2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel is not in the main part of Sirmione and I was concerned it might be miles from anywhere! It isn't. We were the only English couple in the hotel - others were German and Italian and it was lovely - really quiet - we had the pool to ourselves on some days. The walk to Sirmione was lovely - flat and by the lake. We cought the bus and connected with the lake boats which was great. Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the pool - great. The food was good if a little unadventurous. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarbleEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,097 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#19 of 67 in Sirmione
569 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bonotto
Hotel Bonotto
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Azzurro

Address: Via Salvo d'Acquisto | Sirmione, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $69 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a strategic and quite position at the beginning of the characteristic peninsula of Sirmione and surrounded by the beneficial waters of the lake, it’s a perfect location for wellbeing, downtime, fun and business holidays. The Hotel Porto Azzurro is an excellent starting point to completely live the several historical beauties of this small town of Garda Lake and reaching the famous cities of artistic interest Verona, Mantua and Venice and many amusement parks Gardaland-Sealife, Canevaworld, Movieland, Parco Natura Viva and Parco Sigurtà. The Hotel boasts a strategic position: 4 km from the A4 Milan-Venice Highway, 10 km from Desenzano/Sirmione railroad station, 25 km from Verona/Villafranca airport, 20 km from Brescia/Montichiari airport and 80 km from Bergamo/Orio al Serio airport. The hotel, recently renewed, offers 4 types of rooms able to satisfy international Guests who are looking for a landmark for their own downtime, wellbeing, fun or business holiday in Sirmione, the "Pearl of Garda Lake" - Cosy and bright they differentiate from a wonderful Garda Lake view, a relaxing overlooking our sunny and wide swimming pool or our quiet garden. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are arranged in a nice dining room in which the warmth of our staff will welcome you. At our restaurant La Sirena the Chef daily delights you with a menu full of typical Italian tastes, famous all over the world. Guests with food intolerances can enjoy these delicacies without worries, savoring these moments of real satisfaction. The caring staff will be always at your disposal to suggest the famous wines of Garda Lake, ideal to be combined with the selected food. All the rooms are comfortable and equipped with comforts necessary for a pleasant stay in the incomparable atmosphere of Garda Lake: air conditioning, private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, safe, telephone, Wi-Fi connection, TV sat and terrace or balcony. ‘Classic rooms: 16 square meters– well-furnished in polished cherry-wood, they have a terrace overlooking the garden or balcony, some with a wonderful lake view, swimming pool view or ‘Oleanders harbour’ view. ‘Design Rooms’15/23 square meters (various measurements available depending on the number of sleeping accommodations: 4 max). Recently renewed, the ‘Design’ rooms are furnished in white oak and oak-beamed at the third floor. The balcony with wonderful view on the swimming pool or on the lake, the TV SAT with LCD screen and small fridge, represent the additional comforts of these rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Azzurro Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing