We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, helpful and well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, helpful and well situated”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Quiet area but within 500 meters of good restaurants. Hotel food OK but we like to venture out, not a problem. Good clean accommodation and nice to sit out on the balcony at night. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, they remember you and what you like; but English is obviously a minority, not the hotels fault, and we got by easily despite no Italian.
Good family hotel and kids not too intrusive in the evening; all in all a great place, would go again. A good base for exploring the Lake, Verona and also ventured to Bresica.
Public Transport is cheap and reliable.
Taxi fare to airport is steep, but that is everywhere in Italy.
If you want nightlife then don't go. If you want a family holiday or a good base to explore from, then go.

Room Tip: Ask for view of pool not the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikka2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    256
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
235
338
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This hotel is not in the main part of Sirmione and I was concerned it might be miles from anywhere! It isn't. We were the only English couple in the hotel - others were German and Italian and it was lovely - really quiet - we had the pool to ourselves on some days. The walk to Sirmione was lovely - flat and by the lake. We cought the bus and connected with the lake boats which was great. Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the pool - great. The food was good if a little unadventurous. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarbleEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were 4 friends, - 2 twelve year old girls and their mothers, staying 3 days at Porto Azzurro in Sirmione and we enjoyed every minute! The staff was very friendly in a pleasant, relaxing way making us feel comfortable and welcome.

The garden with the nice swimming pool was well kept and the perfect place to enjoy a cold beer after a long day in Gardaland. :)

We did not try the dinner there, but the breakfast was very good.

Next time we go to this area we will definitively go back to the same hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaLarvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel is not well sign posted and its about 5km from sirmione which is not a nice walk in the blazing heat. When we arrrived the air conditioning did not work. It remained off for the rest of the day and night, we ended up getting 6 euro off the price of the room for that night because of this which is more of an insult than an apology. The air conditioning even when it works is not turned on during the day when the rooms are being cleaned, the reason for this baffles me unless it is to do with cost savings. The shower leaked in our bathroom causing the floor to be saturated throughout the day. The are also no mini-bars in the rooms and on our last day there was no water in the hotel which is not nice because with the air conditioning turned off we wanted a shower. Complaints also go unnoticed by reception staff possibly because they get so many of them. They also did not tell us the water was being turned off on our last day. I was glad to be done with this hotel. If you want a hotel that is nice to relax in this is not the one. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor would I ever wish to stay in it again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

we were there 1 night at the appartment(120 euros),..with 4 and 1 year children. We saw several FLEAS!!!!!!!!!! in the bed(i am a vet, i know), so we asked for a new room. They did it, (it was 1 in the morning, our kids were sleeping!!!, so we didnt do that for "pleasure")...the morning following, the girl who was the boss, sho almost told us that "that is almost imposile,..never happened here...are you sure??" and never NEVER ASKED OR SAID SORRY,..NEVER SO AT THAT POINT WE GOT VERY VERY ANGRY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inmaSanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Just returned from 5 nights at Hotel Porto Azzurro, which I'd class as a 3* +. Quiet area with a reasonable choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. Bars overlooking Lake Garda 20 mins walk. The historic town of Sirmione was about 45 mins walk, or a very short bus ride. But no busses back late at night. Lovely swimming pool and comfortable rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly; limited English. Breakfast more than adequate. In Sept the hotel restaurant was not open for dinner.

  • Liked — quiet area
  • Disliked — no fridge or mini bar in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemberBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I stayed in this hotel twice during the last years and the only thing I can say is: perfect!
The hotel is in an ideal location, the room was spacious and comfortable with an huge bahroom, breakfast and dinner were really good! Staff very nice as well!
I had a really plesant stay and I will definitely come back again!

  • Liked — Really nice room and good food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeniceSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
458 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Azzurro

Property: Hotel Porto Azzurro
Address: Via Salvo d'Acquisto | Sirmione, 25010 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a strategic and quite position at the beginning of the characteristic peninsula of Sirmione and surrounded by the beneficial waters of the lake, it’s a perfect location for wellbeing, downtime, fun and business holidays. The Hotel Porto Azzurro is an excellent starting point to completely live the several historical beauties of this small town of Garda Lake and reaching the famous cities of artistic interest Verona, Mantua and Venice and many amusement parks Gardaland-Sealife, Canevaworld, Movieland, Parco Natura Viva and Parco Sigurtà. The Hotel boasts a strategic position: 4 km from the A4 Milan-Venice Highway, 10 km from Desenzano/Sirmione railroad station, 25 km from Verona/Villafranca airport, 20 km from Brescia/Montichiari airport and 80 km from Bergamo/Orio al Serio airport. The hotel, recently renewed, offers 4 types of rooms able to satisfy international Guests who are looking for a landmark for their own downtime, wellbeing, fun or business holiday in Sirmione, the "Pearl of Garda Lake" - Cosy and bright they differentiate from a wonderful Garda Lake view, a relaxing overlooking our sunny and wide swimming pool or our quiet garden. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are arranged in a nice dining room in which the warmth of our staff will welcome you. At our restaurant La Sirena the Chef daily delights you with a menu full of typical Italian tastes, famous all over the world. Guests with food intolerances can enjoy these delicacies without worries, savoring these moments of real satisfaction. The caring staff will be always at your disposal to suggest the famous wines of Garda Lake, ideal to be combined with the selected food. All the rooms are comfortable and equipped with comforts necessary for a pleasant stay in the incomparable atmosphere of Garda Lake: air conditioning, private bathroom with shower, hairdryer, safe, telephone, Wi-Fi connection, TV sat and terrace or balcony. ‘Classic rooms: 16 square meters– well-furnished in polished cherry-wood, they have a terrace overlooking the garden or balcony, some with a wonderful lake view, swimming pool view or ‘Oleanders harbour’ view. ‘Design Rooms’15/23 square meters (various measurements available depending on the number of sleeping accommodations: 4 max). Recently renewed, the ‘Design’ rooms are furnished in white oak and oak-beamed at the third floor. The balcony with wonderful view on the swimming pool or on the lake, the TV SAT with LCD screen and small fridge, represent the additional comforts of these rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Porto Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Azzurro Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing