We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday - fabulous staff”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday - fabulous staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from a great holiday at this hotel. The fabulous staff really do make the difference and they all try to speak English - putting us to shame. The hotel is spotless and nothing is too much trouble - whether it is extra towels, a travel plug ( we brought the wrong one!) or special dietry requirements the staff will do everything they can to help out.
This is a quiet hotel set away from Sirmione itself although this is no bad thing. You are very close to the public bus stop on the main road and it is a pleasant 30 minute walk into Sirmione. Be warned there was only one taxi working on a Saturday night so be prepared to walk back. The free shuttle bus is very handy but be early especially if you need to catch a particular ferry from Sirmione, the driver willl make more than one journey but it will take about 20 minutes for him to come back. Excellent base to explore other parts of the lake I only wish we had driven, the hotel does have an underground car park.
Columbare is just round the corner with a good choice of restaurants, bars, shops, a supermarket and a tobacco shop for bus tickets. There is also very easy access to the lake.
The rooms are quite small and do suffer from a shortage of drawers, although there are plenty of hangers in the wardrobe and there is very little space for toiletries in the bathroom. You can chose your pillow preference and how often you would like the bedding and towels changed. We were not charged for the use of the safe.
The restaurant is pleasant and there is adequate choice each day, just ask if you need any thing different or extra. You choose your evening meal at breakfast and if you decline are promptly offered a picnic lunch instead. Be warned the picnic lunch is massive and one between two would be more than sufficient.The evening waiter service with free wine and water really do make a difference. Remember they are catering for all different nationalities of all age groups.We did go out to eat every other night to enjoy a more fine dining experience and to make more of each evening, but I stress there was not anything wrong with the food on offer. The waiting staff are excellent and very friendly in Italian, German and English- they work extremely long hours yet always have a smile.
If you are looking for a small, clean, friendly hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Sirmione I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    189
    71
    20
    4
See reviews for
119
268
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned after a week at this great hotel. Very clean and situated in a quiet area. The hotel was full, but this did not affect the efficiency of the staff or the friendliness and courtesy they showed us in every area.
The restaurant was particulary good. We were half board and every meal was a very high standard, The evening meal was served with a reasonable bottle of wine and a large bottle of water, lots of choice and good value for money.
There is a vey good shuttle servis from the hotel into Sirmione, in fact the town was so busy I was grateful to stay just outside for some peace and quiet.
Sirmione is a perfect base for visiting other areas, lots of ferrys to other parts of the lake and not too far to Venice or Verona, two places you must not miss. Just walk around the area of Columbare which is a complete contrast to the bustle of Sirmione, in fact where ever you choose to walk the veiws are fantastic. We will be visiting again.
Do not hesitate to visit this hotel as it can not be faulted in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool or the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read a number of reviews about this hotel we were quite confident in our choice and we were not disappointed .Yes it is a 30 min walk to Sirmione (worth the effort) but there are transport means available if required and we found a quiet stroll into Columbare which takes 5 mins provided us with plenty of good quality bars for our evening entertainment.The hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating especially in the restaurant which also provides a reasonable choice of good quality meals. Evening meals are waiter served with free wine and water provided , breakfast is buffet with both cooked and cold food available.The rooms are kept immaculately clean as is the whole hotel .Although we did request a lake side room we more than happy to stay in the pool side room provided which looked as though it had recently been refurbished to a good standard.The hotel is ideally situated to get around the area to visit the numerous pretty towns around the lake all of which have their own personality but the one thing they do have in common is their cleanliness.The ferry prices have recently been greatly increased but they are still a 'must do' to see the beautiful area from a different perspective plus it is a nice relaxing way to travel.Verona is also a city that should be visited to enjoy the culture and history on every street but in high season it could get very over crowded.Don't miss out on the local wines (red and white) , ice creams and local specialities. Be aware only the British do queueing and cyclists have the right of way both on the road and pavement.Lake Garda is a treasure .

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views of the area , poolside rooms recently refurbished .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huddersfieldranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my first visit to Sirmione Lake Garda in Italy and it was the most enjoyable seven days, we stayed at the Hotel Du Parc and encountered the most helpful staff , from the reception team to the to the courtesy coach driver , the staff could not do enough to make our holiday a memorable time, the food was excellent as was the staff in the restaurant who made sure all guests were attended to with great pride in their work, how pleasant to see cheerful and smiling staff. sadly we had to leave this very enjoyable hotel but hopefully we wll return soon.

Room Tip: request a 2nd floor room overlooking yhe lake and mountains, you will never tire of looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August - our first ever visit to Italy and we loved it even though we suffered at times from the extreme heat ( high 30s most days) which we were not expecting. However the air conditioning in our room was excelllent - efficient and quiet so we could always cool off there. Speakiing of bedrooms - we had a refurbished one which had a view of the lake(though not lakeside) and although not large was very comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom, a balcony which received afternoon sun, and extremely comfortable beds. This was also immaculately cleaned every day.
We knew that we would be some distance from the main town of Sirmione, but this did not bother us at all - the Hotel Courtesy bus was more than adequate when we needed to go in to town or catch the ferries to go around the lake, and the local bus stop was a few minutes walk away (although these were seldom on time.) The walk into town is pleasant and we would not have liked to be in a hotel in town as it was always extremely busy. Nearby Columbare is quiet and has lovely ice cream shops and cafes.
The food at the hotel is excellent and the staff in the restaurant are lovely - they all speak a variety of languages and were quite happy to speak English. (I can't understand the previous comments about only wanting to speak German) I did try out my limited Italian and I am sure they appreciate this. There is a plentiful variety for breakfast with good coffee, although as we have found in many European Hotels, the juices were poor - really the only thing we could criticise and there was always a good choice of fresh fruit so juice was not really necessary.
Dinner is 4 or 5 courses; salad buffet with a good selection, pasta or soup course, and main course - not huge but then we were always pretty full after the pasta so didn't need more. It was all very tasty and well-cooked.
The pool is an adequate size and a good temperature - the only thing we did not expect was the large number of young children who seemed to take over the pool with screaming, jumping in and playing ball games ( notices around the pool say that the last 2 are not allowed). At times it was impossible for 'us oldies' to swim. But, honestly this was a minor point - it's a lovely hotel with lovely staff and we had a great time. Oh, and the reception staff were always very helpful too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our two week stay was booked at almost the last minute and having read the rather mixed reviews I went with an open mind. We were not disappointed. Yes, the hotel is not in the old town of Sirmione but I knew it was in the small town of Columbare before I went and the hotel provide a shuttle service to the 'centro storico' on a fairly frequent basis. The walk took us around 20 minutes at a fairly relaxed pace and there is plenty of shade provided by lakeside trees.
You are however about ten minutes walk from the nearest supermarket (Conad) in the centre of Columbare although again the walk is 'on the flat'.
The hotel staff are all excellent, friendly, helpful and considerate. You choose your evening meal at breakfast and we found the choice excellent. The salad bar is very Italian and some may not appreciate cold broccoli and green beans - I'll eat anything green at any temperature.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel so no view to speak of but the balcony was big enough to sit out and enjoy a glass of prosecco (or two) and anyway I prefer the view of the Ferraris in the car park. On the top floor there is a larger balcony with tables and chairs and which provides for both sun worshippers and those in search of shade. It is little used but a perfect spot for a quiet read and has a great view of the lake.
We both found the beds comfortable and there is a pillow 'menu' to choose from. The aircon worked fine although the temperature was centrally controlled.
The bedroom and bathroom were maintained spotlessly and there is the usual hairdryer in the bathroom - ok for uncomplicated styles but I suspect some will want to bring their own.
Alas, none of the mirrors were any use for applying makeup - rather unusual in an Italian hotel.
There are plenty of sun loungers round the pool and lovely big towels are provided to each room.
The hotel advertised a gym but if you are used to a real gym you will not recognise the offering as such. It is a shame as the area could be much better utilised.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for couples seeking a quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings.
Younger people may find it too quiet however I fancy it could be a rather romantic getaway.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front and on at least the first floor if you want a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is just ok. The week we spent there was very wet and the hotel did not offer much to do. We found the receptionist extremely unpleasant and very difficult to deal with. For someone at the front line in hospitality she would need a little training in how to behave to customers. The restaurant staff are very good, attentive, funny and preformed all their tasks very well. We ordered a double room but got a room with two single beds pushed together. I would say the hotel is more like a 2 star than a 4 star. The pool was nice and the restaurant was good, apart from that there was nothing on offer,, the rooms were not great and the gym is old and dusty. We did not check into 9.30 on the first night (missed the most of the day) and we were not due to leave for our flight until 6.30pm on our final day, when my seven and half month pregnant wife and I asked for a late check out the receptionist informed us we would have to pay an extra €50, this was despite missing the first day and not taking a dinner on another day(which was included). We were extremely annoyed at this as all we really wanted was a shower before leaving for the airport. To sum up the hotel did not enhance our experience and if anything detracted from it.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europlan, Proprietario at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are sorry, that your stay in our hotel turned out to be an unpleasant experience for you, and this, as it seems, mainly due to the fact that the reception didn´t grant your request for a room free of charge for the afternoon on your departure day.
We offer all our guests who leave late, free use of the changing rooms and showers in the common areas or otherwise, a hotel room for a supplement of only Euros 50,00
Even if you checked in very late on your arrival day, no hotel in the world would therefore give its guests a compensation on the departure day, as check out time is fixed at 11:00 a.m. And certainly there are no compensations for services that have not been used, as for example a dinner in the restaurant, as the guests can have an extra meal instead whenever they want during their stay.
Our guests are in the centre of our attention and this is attested by numerous positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
750 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,052 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#28 of 67 in Sirmione
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: Via Salvo d'Acquisto 26, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#29 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Sirmione, in a quiet position, just 2 km from the historic center. 93 rooms - Economy, Classic, Superior, Junior Suite and Suite - with Balcony/terrace, Bath room with shower or bath tub, Air conditioning/Heating, TV lcd, Sky, Safe and Minibar, Wi-Fi. At guest's disposal, Bar, Outdoor Terrace for lunch, Indoor Restaurant for dinner, Fitness corner, Live music once a week, Free shuttle service to/from the historic center. Free outdoor parking and garage (upon availability). Ideal destination for leisure and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Sirmione
Hotel Parc Sirmione
Hotel Du Parc Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing