We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Series of Unfortunate Events”
Review of Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. We had two rooms.

Pros: the location is amazing inside the walled city of sirmione steps from the castle and a 20 mn walk from the ruins. Art deco decor. Free parking at their sister hotel about 12 mn walk. Hotel Eden is 1/2 block inside the walled area and driving is tight. The hotel is on the water and the view is wonderful.

Cons: when we visited in early fall.The a/c was off "for the winter" (it was cool at night) but the rooms were muggy so we had to open the balcony door to get fresh air and were treated to the noisiest, bug-filled nights of our 2 week trip to Italy. Room doors banging, trash collection truck at 4am, people yelling, babies crying. No soundproofing. Music from the lobby or restaurant until late. Upon arrival we found ants on our floor and these were quickly cleaned by the staff. The rooms had dead bugs on the walls. The free breakfast was inedible. Watery cappuccino, stale croissants, tiny worms in the strawberries. The room safes are tiny but even worse, they were placed on a shelf directly above the fridge in a cabinet. The heat of the fridge heated the contents of the safe! Not warm but HOT! Thus I could not keep anything electronic inside. Finally the shower door malfunctioned and my husband was trapped inside. A kind gentleman who spoke only italian quickly came to the room and used a screwdriver to wedge open the door. The next day the hotel sent someone to fix the shower door but no one from the hotel made any effort to apologize! We were on the first floor (lobby is floor zero) and anyone could have hopped from another balcony to ours and come inside. There are also steps adjacent to the balcony that an agile person could climb to gain access if balcony door is open for ventilation. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gypsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 702 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

On the road to Venice, Sirmione is a surprising and charming medieval village that has be transformed as a trendy summer and year around destination on the shore of Lac de Garde
Eden Hotel offers a superb location within the core of the city center- beautifull boutique hotel design and courteous staff.
Ask the concierge to park your car, it will be less stressfull for you !

Room Tip: try to select one on the lakeside. Superb sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 470pierrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Eden is a fine place to stay in old town Sirmione. It is located right next to the ferry landing. Our room had a lake view. Nearby parking was available for a price. Free parking was available outside the entrance to the old town. Our accommodations were first class, breakfast was sumptuous, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Booked this on our road trip. It was the cheapest hotel to come up on our google search so wasnt expecting too much. However, it was fantastic. A prime location right on the lake and in a busy piazza so plenty to see. The hotel staff were excellent and offered secure valet parking at 10 euros per day extra. The room was modern, clean and relaxing with daily maid service. The bedding was pulled down at night with complimentary chocolates left on the bedside cabinet for when we returned to our room.The breakfast choice was the best we had had. Our room had a view of both the Lake and the Piazza. There are loads of eating places and shops to wander around and also a lovely beach to walk along. As the hotel is inside the town walls, you do have to drive through a pedestrian area to get to it which feels strange but I highly recommend his hotel.

Room Tip: For the best view of the Lake, ask for a room overlooking the decking area which have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieBFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Eden Hotel was on a busy piazza close to where the ferries docked (services were limited at 12th October). Ideal for exploring Sirmione Castle, grotto, etc. Breakfast was very good. Great selection of restaurants close by and ice cream to die for.

Room Tip: I was surprised that a four star hotel didn't have a swimming pool, but facilities were availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishAileen703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was our first stop on our recent tour of Italy. It certainly set the tone for what turned out to be the trip of a lifetime. We had a little trouble finding the hotel as it was our first time in Sirmione and the streets can be a little daunting if you are driving. Once we found the place it was easy to get back to. The hotel itself is clean and modern. Our room was good sized and our balcony was comfortable and looked right out on Lake Garda. We enjoyed sitting on it at night with a glass of wine and watching the tourists go by. We even took a picture of a couple who looked just like George Clooney and Stacey Keebler. We had a great time in Sirmione and the Eden hotel was a big contributor to that. We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a place to stay on Lake Garda.

Room Tip: Make sure you are clear as to where in Sirmione you are headed as driving is a task once you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELINOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved our two night stay at Eden Hotel. The furnishings in the lobby and rooms were clean and modern. We were in room 110, and our friends were next door in room 109, on the floor above the ground floor. Both rooms were lake view with balconies (each with a table and two chairs on the balcony), and our room on the corner also had a window overlooking next door Piazza Carducci. We had no trouble with noise, and our friends even slept through the fireworks set off at midnight on Saturday night from the ferry dock. The room itself was compact, but very well designed. There was a king-sized bed, minibar and safe, but no coffee set-up, and a good-sized modern bathroom with shower. The breakfast buffet was good, with seating both indoors and outside. There was a complimentary tea service from 4:30 to 5:30 pm in the lobby. Complimentary umbrellas were provided at the door. The location is convenient because it is fairly close to the town's castle entrance and to the ferry dock. Driving in, you give your name to the guard before the castle entrance, who checks the reservation list and lets you drive through. A traffic light controls traffic, as the entrance is only one-way at a time. Once through the castle gate you drive straight on a very narrow street past a couple of small streets on the left, and turn left at Via Casello (watch for street sign up on corner building wall). The hotel entrance is toward the water on the left. After unloading luggage, we chose to use the hotel's parking garage (10 Euro per night), and the hotel staff drove the car there and brought it back when we needed it. Everything in town was walking distance, including the Roman ruins on the point. For dinner, we enjoyed eating at nearby Restaurants Griffone and Pescatore.

Room Tip: Lake view balcony rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#2 of 67 in Sirmione
653 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel

Address: Piazza Giosue' Carducci 19, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#7 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $101 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Eden, situated a short distance from the famous Catullo and Virgilio Spa Establishments, the imposing castle and Sirmione’s major attractions and highlights. This elegant Four-Star Design Hotel, which has recently been totally renovated thanks to a complete restyling of its inner spaces and furnishings, is the ideal accommodation facility for visiting Sirmione and enjoying its magic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing