We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4* in need of re-decoration and an Airwick!”
Review of Hotel Broglia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Broglia
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Lancaster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not 4* in need of re-decoration and an Airwick!”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed one night at the Hotel Broglia in Sirmione. It is on the main road to the north of the town so if you arrive by car you have to negotiate the paved / pedestrian streets and there is hotel parking when you arrive.
The room was a reasonable size and had a balcony and a small cathode ray tube TV, but the overall impression was of a tired room with tired furniture in need of modernisation. We thought the air conditioning was not working, but when we asked at reception they asked for our room number and turned on the power from master switches there.
Our main complaint was the smell from the bathroom which also carried into the bedroom and was unpleasant to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    51
    40
    24
    21
See reviews for
37
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel is located excellently in the old city, near many excellent eating places, near the spa and near the grove of Catullus. It is also walkable to the castle, which is very beautiful. The buffet breakfast was outstanding; I have never seen anything quite so lavish, and the service was excellent. The pool is quite small, that is ok, but the chairs surrounding the pool are a disgrace. They are tattered and worn and therefore the pool is not a very comfortable place to be. The bathroom was rather strange; it was quite impossible to shower or wash hair comfortably in the bath set up. We decided to postpone our shampoo until the next hotel, and that is not something one should have to do in a 4-star hotel. Otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay in a beautiful town, however very overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annina79York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

If this had been pitched as a 2* then your expectations would be bang on, but this hotel is dated, tatty, and the staff were friendly but not helpful. The shower in our room was broken and you had to hold it with one hand and wash with the other - not to mention the size of the bathroom - you could shower, use the toilet and brush your teeth all at the same time! The bed was a "double" - 2 singles pushed together and they must be as old as the hotel - very uncomfortable, the TV in the room is a 14" screen with no reception and no tea or coffee facilities in the room, no air con (it was 35 degrees!) the door to the balcony rattled every time you closed a door in the room and you have no privacy on the balcony as you could talk to at least 4 of your neighbours at once! - Oh yeah and no mini bar - well did you really expect one! There is no way that this hotel should be given a 4* rating by any strech of the imagination - I suppose the fact it had a pool gave it an extra star!

The location is great - slap bang in the old town and within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and ice cream parlours! We would reccomend Pace restaurant and the restaurant by the castle walls - Restauranti il Grifoni - scallops were fab! Sirmione is beautiful but the hotel is a 2 * hotel in a 4* location!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazlar_Vixstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sirmione hotels

home
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

stayed at broglia for a week for a romantic return to italy.found staff very freindly.whatever was required was supplied on request. ie ice / wine glasses / etc hotel clean.and room done every day.I asked for best room and got it tho I was charged an extra 10 euros per day on top of the 160 quoted.It was a lovely stay in a wonderfull part of lake garda.

  • Liked — view from room over looking lake
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniedm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

We stayed in Hotel Broglia in Sirmione for 4 nights as part of a 2 week stay in Italy. Considering it is classed as four star hotel we expected more from what is a hotel in desparate need of refurbishment and some more guests! We were lucky in that we had a room with a lake view but some of the rooms looked particularly dark at the back of the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious and can't really fault it although there wasn't anything in the minibar. Breakfast was funny as mentioned in another report the head waiter or 'lurch' as we called never failed to make me chuckle as limped about with his trolley. The pool area needs attention like the rest of the hotel the furniture around it is old and needs replacing. Other than that it located well in Sirmione although driving through there is an experience! In the end we basically used the hotel as a base and went exploring. Wouldn't go back there as there are many hotels in Sirmione which are nicer.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

This is no four star hotel, it is need of a total refurbishment inside and out. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We were given a small dark back room and asked to be changed. the reception staff very helpful and friendly gave us a slightly better room. We only had breakfast which was adequate but nothing special.
The pool was big and clean but everything around it was old and very dirty.
The head waiter was an absolute gem. He shuffled about using a food trolley as a zimmer frame and had no facial expression other than grumpy. He snatched plates and did everything on autopilot. A very last resort for one or two nights.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank THEVIKING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#50 of 68 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#36 of 68 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#67 of 68 in Sirmione
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Serenella
Hotel Serenella
#48 of 68 in Sirmione
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mavino
Hotel Mavino
#31 of 68 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Desiree Sirmione
Hotel Desiree Sirmione
#53 of 68 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Broglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Broglia

Property: Hotel Broglia
Address: Via Giovanni Piana 34/36, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Broglia 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Broglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broglia Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Broglia Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing