We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Continental - Sirmione”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just arrived back from a lovely week staying at the hotel. On arrival we were greeted and informed that we had been upgraded to a lakeview room, a lovely surprise as it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Giovanni and his staff were always extremely helpful and friendly, giving information about bus and train routes to various places, and organising a trip to Verona and the opera for us. The hotel is beautifully kept, with housekeeping of rooms and pool area exceptional.
All in all a fantastic place to stay, right on the Lake, we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 592 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel has spacious rooms, a high class restaurant and all the services you would pay for in the spa located next door. Lovely lake side position a few minutes away from the shops, boats, castle and Roman remains makes this perfectly situated. The service was always polite and enthusiastic with a good standard of English spoken and rooms were cleaned twice daily. The pool and spa facilities were fantastic, so relaxing I fell asleep in the warm, buoyant natural spa. Only thing to watch out for - drinks were not included - not even the water so we had larger bill than we expected at the end. The hotel was mostly frequented by adults and older children, not sure I would have liked bringing young children as there were no barriers at the lake side and the restaurant menu was geared to adults. If you like a full English breakfast you would probably be disappointed but there was plenty of variety on offer if you prefer a continental style. Evening meals were 4 courses and we have come back a size bigger than when we left!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank debbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Came back to spend a week here after last year's great experience. It was a pleasure to find that the hotel staff and facilities were just as good as last year. Standard of housekeeping is exceptional, with attention to detail by all staff being very noticeable (pool & poolside being immaculately maintained throughout the day for example). We ate in the restaurant most nights as we've found it to be such good quality, value and a great location on the lakeside terrace to see the sunset - or listen to the highly atmospheric thunder on one occasion! We intended to visit again when we wish to treat ourselves to a totally relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2014 as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday to Lake Garda. Due to a French Rail strike we arrived at the hotel at 1.00am rather than the planned 2.00pm the previous day. The proprietor sent mini buses to collect us (there is normally a 500m walk to the hotel as the town is largely pedestrianised) and our luggage. The proprietor was there to greet us personally, despite the late hour, without rushing us and without fuss, which was extremely welcome after a traumatic journey there. The rooms were very clean, bright and well decorated and there was constant cleaning around the hotel throughout our weeks stay. The staff were polite, cheerful and always available and nothing seemed to faze them. Bar prices and drinks with the meals were very reasonable and the location, with its own jetty to the lake could not be faulted. We didn't use the pool or hotel spa but those in our group who did had nothing but praise. We had a good view of the lake and the castle from our balcony and we would happily have stayed longer. I don't normally write reviews but we were so impressed with this hotel that I want others to know about it. We would be very happy to go back.

Room Tip: Get a lake view as it is worth it but none of those in our group had a bad word to say about any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Another relaxing stay at the Continental. Cannot speak highly enough of Giovanni and the team at the hotel, the attention to detail and the level of service given is exemplary. A special mention must be given to the way they handled my dietary requirements. Being a coeliac is often a nightmare when on holiday, but certainly not at the Continental. Every meal I was given a comprehensive guide to what I could have (at times the chef also 'adapted' dishes) - every breakfast I had gluten free bread and an assortment of gluten free biscuits - bravo Continental.

The location of the hotel is sublime, so peaceful and quiet - and the sunbathing deck is one of the best I have seen in Italy. The addition of the thermal sulphur pool is also a huge bonus.

If you stay at the Continental I defy you to leave anything but totally relaxed.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the lake - preferably toward the centre of Sirmione and the jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel. I never, ever stay in the same hotel twice let alone three times but when we want some quality down this is now the place that we long to go to.
The staff are truly amazing and will do all that they can to make you feel welcome and looked after.
The lake view rooms are to die for and waking up to that view is wonderful.
The hotel is by far the cleanest hotel that I have ever been in.
The hotel is quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes walk into the town
If you want to visit Lake Garda, stay here.
I am incredibly fussy but I cant find one single negative thing to say about The Hotel Continental. Thank you Giovanni and all of the staff for yet another wonderful stay. See you all soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank squeezeWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We, too, stayed at the Continental as part of a GRJ package. Don't be put off by the outside of the hotel, it is superb; it
is in an unbeatable position and is clean, well equipped and friendly. The staff were the best we have ever come across, always greeting you by name and always remembering little things about you. My husband was not well for a couple of days and they could not do enough for him. The spa area and sulphur pool were a lovely extra to the swimming and jacuzzi pools, and it was so easy to swim in the lake. Breakfast was plentiful and interesting. Maybe the restaurant food could have been a little better but that is only a minor criticism. The sparrows outside were a bit of a nuisance but we couldn't blame the hotel for that! There is a short walk from the town shops and restaurants, but it is very pleasant. Would love to return. Chris F

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have at least a partial view of Lake Garda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#16 of 67 in Sirmione
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
709 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#8 of 67 in Sirmione
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#2 of 67 in Sirmione
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Punta Staffalo 7/9, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#6 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $202 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Continental Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing