We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - rooms very sparsely furnished!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - rooms very sparsely furnished!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location, lovely common parts, friendly, efficient staff but the rooms are very sparse, no paintings/pictures/objects in the bedroom and sadly they are building an extension to the outdoor pool, so it is very noisey and dusty, I felt we should have been informed of this when booking!

Lovely terrace with excellent breakfast and good service - with a smile - something we do not get in the U.K.!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804Susand682804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johncontinental, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review: we have actually built a new second pool with thermal water (35°) ,which will be tested on June 6 and operating from mid June. Due to the very bad weather conditions in March, April and May construction works have been longer than we had planned (now they are over).We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    135
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
91
354
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has very spacious, well appointed and modern rooms. The location at the end of the Sirmione peninsula is quiet but only 5 minutes from the heart of town. Good panoramic restaurant and sun terrace. Efficient management by Signor Giovanni and his team.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonnyblt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowkhall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great holiday (despite three stormy days out of ten) in this hotel. The side view from the excellent room we were allocated (218) was obscured by the concrete fire escape and we asked to be moved. Although they were very busy they managed to relocate us to a junior suite (332) which although much further from the lake had good views too. We had a balcony to the front (town side) and another balcony to the side for the lake view. The hotel is well managed and run and whilst all the staff are professional they are very friendly and always pleased to help. There is a good choice of breakfast which we took indoors as there were too many sparrows on the terrace trying to steal your food. Dinner was always excellent offering a good choice daily with a distinctly Italian flavour (thankfully). We had friends join us for dinner on a couple of occasions and the management and waiting staff were very accommodating. The location is very good being just out of the main part of town but still only a ten minute walk to the castle or the pick-up point for tours. Sirmione is an amazing old town but easily explored in one/two days and can feel a bit claustrophobic. It is a good base to explore Lake Garda though, by boat or bus/car. We enjoyed our holiday and the Continental was a major part of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Giovanni the manager at this hotel is excellent, and this is reflected down through the staff. We had a very nice room, generous in its proportions. The one downside to the room so far as my wife was concerned was it did not have a long mirror. The food was good, breakfast was a veritable feast. Dinner was also very good and well presented. Drinks were also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is no long mirror in room 226.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Huge room, huge bed very comfortable. As part of a Great Rail Journeys group we had several excellent dinners here.
Staff are friendly, helpful and very efficient.
We kept our room uncluttered, with everything put away in the more than adequate storage available. Didn't seem right not to. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobes.

Two little quibbles.
If you're not a night owl and want a quiet night, ask for a room that's not facing the pool as that's the bar area too and can get noisy when guests sit out on the verandah. Room got too warm at night for us, and we needed to keep the balcony door open to cool it down. As we went to bed before the revellers we had to wait till they'd all gone to bed before we could open it.
Breakfast was superb, included water too. But why wasn't free water available at dinner as well?

Room Tip: If you're not a night owl and want a quiet night, ask for a room that's not facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OriginalDickieMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a group and so probably didn't see the hotel at its best but it is hard to find fault with the location, facilities and food. Very friendly and efficient service. Clean and comfortable room. A great base from which to explore Sirmione and Lake Garda.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weegranni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here in August 2012 on a GRJ holiday. Nice room on second floor with a good lake view. Food was consistently good, including lots of variations at breakfast. Drinks prices seemed reasonable for a hotel. We stayed during a heatwave but the interior has good air-conditioning in all areas and the room aircon was more than adequate. Room was spacious and comfortable and kept very clean. The staff and owner were always visible, very friendly and helpful at all times. Lovely garden and pool area with great loungers on the lakeside patio (where you could have breakfast). Easy access to the lake for swimming if the pool isn't enough. Be aware that very few vehicles are allowed in Sirmione and no coaches, so it's about a half mile walk through the town from the coach to the hotel (the hotel will take your luggage). Several good restaurants in this lovely little town. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor for better lake views, and arguably on the side of the building aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MK13AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sirmione
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 68 in Sirmione
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 68 in Sirmione
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 68 in Sirmione
811 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 68 in Sirmione
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Via Punta Staffalo 7/9, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#6 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Continental Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing