We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent well managed hotel with high standards.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great holiday (despite three stormy days out of ten) in this hotel. The side view from the excellent room we were allocated (218) was obscured by the concrete fire escape and we asked to be moved. Although they were very busy they managed to relocate us to a junior suite (332) which although much further from the lake had good views too. We had a balcony to the front (town side) and another balcony to the side for the lake view. The hotel is well managed and run and whilst all the staff are professional they are very friendly and always pleased to help. There is a good choice of breakfast which we took indoors as there were too many sparrows on the terrace trying to steal your food. Dinner was always excellent offering a good choice daily with a distinctly Italian flavour (thankfully). We had friends join us for dinner on a couple of occasions and the management and waiting staff were very accommodating. The location is very good being just out of the main part of town but still only a ten minute walk to the castle or the pick-up point for tours. Sirmione is an amazing old town but easily explored in one/two days and can feel a bit claustrophobic. It is a good base to explore Lake Garda though, by boat or bus/car. We enjoyed our holiday and the Continental was a major part of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 592 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Giovanni the manager at this hotel is excellent, and this is reflected down through the staff. We had a very nice room, generous in its proportions. The one downside to the room so far as my wife was concerned was it did not have a long mirror. The food was good, breakfast was a veritable feast. Dinner was also very good and well presented. Drinks were also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is no long mirror in room 226.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Huge room, huge bed very comfortable. As part of a Great Rail Journeys group we had several excellent dinners here.
Staff are friendly, helpful and very efficient.
We kept our room uncluttered, with everything put away in the more than adequate storage available. Didn't seem right not to. Plenty of hangers in the wardrobes.

Two little quibbles.
If you're not a night owl and want a quiet night, ask for a room that's not facing the pool as that's the bar area too and can get noisy when guests sit out on the verandah. Room got too warm at night for us, and we needed to keep the balcony door open to cool it down. As we went to bed before the revellers we had to wait till they'd all gone to bed before we could open it.
Breakfast was superb, included water too. But why wasn't free water available at dinner as well?

Room Tip: If you're not a night owl and want a quiet night, ask for a room that's not facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OriginalDickieMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed as part of a group and so probably didn't see the hotel at its best but it is hard to find fault with the location, facilities and food. Very friendly and efficient service. Clean and comfortable room. A great base from which to explore Sirmione and Lake Garda.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank weegranni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here in August 2012 on a GRJ holiday. Nice room on second floor with a good lake view. Food was consistently good, including lots of variations at breakfast. Drinks prices seemed reasonable for a hotel. We stayed during a heatwave but the interior has good air-conditioning in all areas and the room aircon was more than adequate. Room was spacious and comfortable and kept very clean. The staff and owner were always visible, very friendly and helpful at all times. Lovely garden and pool area with great loungers on the lakeside patio (where you could have breakfast). Easy access to the lake for swimming if the pool isn't enough. Be aware that very few vehicles are allowed in Sirmione and no coaches, so it's about a half mile walk through the town from the coach to the hotel (the hotel will take your luggage). Several good restaurants in this lovely little town. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor for better lake views, and arguably on the side of the building aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MK13AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After some research my better half selected the Hotel Continental for our visit to Lake Garda as we were after a decent standard hotel that would not break the bank, with lake side location, that would be in a quiet location but close enough to the old town sites and connections. And in this respect the Continental cannot be faulted.
We had requested a lake view when booking through Expedia, and our excellent stay started when we were informed on arrival that they had allocated us a room at the lake end of the hotel with full lake view (only one of six that have this), which set the tone for our stay.
But, to be honest this would have been a five star rating even without the best view in the house, as there are many positives with this hotel.
As others have mentioned, the level of staffing friendliness and efficiency is very high, to the extent that we were greeted by name by the reception desk staff when returning to the hotel from the second day onwards, and they were always willing to help. Good assistance was given with ferry and bus information for our exploring, especially on how to get to Verona and what to do there. Also the maids turn the beds down of an evening for your return from dinner.
The public areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean, as was our room after service.
Our room was well laid out , with large king size bed, decent wardrobe space with integrated safe, functional bathroom with shower, and an almost wall length desk and mirror area. And the lighting was good, especially around the mirrors in both the bathroom and bedroom, which is a particular gripe for my partner with a lot of hotels we stay in.
We only took breakfast, as we utilised the excellent restaurants in the old town of an evening. But, as many others have commented, the service and food at breakfast time could not be faulted.
For us the location of the hotel was perfect. In a very quiet location, but a mere 5 to 8 minute stroll down to the main restaurant and Plaza area of the Old Town and both the ferry terminal and bus stop to Verona and Brescia about a 10 minute walk. Our room was so quiet at night that we used to open the large windows and fall asleep to the sound of the water lapping in the lake. Although slight word of warning if you do this, in that you will more than likely be woken up by the ducks, who seem to choose the hotel pontoon as an early morning meeting place.
We also utilised the hotel wellness centre. I am not sure if this is a new addition, but it certainly looked brand new as everything was in pristine condition. The sauna was particularly good with its changing mood lighting, as was the rain shower. My advice is if utilising, to take your mobile phone with alarm in your gown with you, because I defy anyone to use the reclining beds in the salt wall relaxing room and not fall asleep.
Another nice touch was the free Wi-Fi, which we got to work nearly everywhere in the hotel including our rooms. And there is an outside pool and nice private lounge area by the lake, which I am guessing would be very pleasant with the weather in high season.
The only slight negative we encountered was the one already mentioned by a previous reviewer, that there are stone floors in the rooms, which is done for obvious reasons, but does mean you will hear movement from the room above, especially if it’s the maid rearranging the furniture.
But that was it, so in conclusion a top class hotel with top class staff.

Jolly good

Room Tip: The rooms with full lake view obviously have the best view in the house, but you will have to pay ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for a week as part of a group. This hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre but is in a lovely peaceful location. Our room was spotless throughout and of good size with a side view of the lake. Breakfast is superb with a lot of variety including fresh fruit and hot options. Dinner was also of good quality and the best thing about the hotel is the attentive and cheerful staff. Giovanni is the boss and he makes sure that everything is as it should be.
If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are several very good options in the centre within easy walking distance (Al Torcol was our favourite). Avoid the restaurants on the main square by the ferry terminal (tourist traps) and if you like Ice Cream try Cremeria Bulian just under the arches where it is 100% home made.
There are plenty of buses or lake ferries if you want to travel further around with Verona or Milan an easy day trip option. You can even get to Venice by train from Desansano in less than 2 hours. You don't need a car. Taking the lake ferry and visiting the small lakeside towns is a must do activity. There are no cars allowed in Sirmione centre so you don't get any traffic noise whatsoever.
Overall an excellent small hotel with wonderful staff, great location, good food/rooms and good value for money. There is even a Spa next door with hot springs, fitness rooms, massage, beauty treatments etc available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steviec1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fonte Boiola
Hotel Fonte Boiola
#26 of 67 in Sirmione
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Punta Staffalo 7/9, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $209 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Continental Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing