We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gardenia Hotel
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

- Good clean spacious room, private parking, nice swimming pool. Nice English-speaking staff.
- Far from old town of Sirmione (about 3 km);
- We did not like a restaurant next door - it was expensive and very average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    14
    15
    5
See reviews for
46
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Good location with a fabulous restaurant next door. The room was good and very clean as was the pool area. The downside was the airconditioning which was only put on at 7pm and turned off at 7am!!!! No lift. The manager/owner was friendly enough. The breakfast was good and when the weather is good can be eaten outside on the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Positive: Swimming pool area was very nice. Garden. Balcony. Staff at the restaurant very nice and helpful. Private parking.

Negative: Hotel staff (at the reception) was not polite. They didn't allow us to invite our friends to our hotel room (just to show them which is our room like). Beds weren't comfortable at all, too old and too soft. Rooms outdated. Hotel was very noisy. Poor water stream. Air conditioner was working from 5 pm only. Location is not so good, far from Sirmione main sights.

I would rather recommend hotel CHIARA in Sirmione where our friends stayed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhannuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sirmione hotels

Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

1. Facilities are poor, old 14' TV, safe (with huge key) and hairdryer only. Conditioner works only from 6 pm till 8 am (and they do not inform about this at hotel homepage!)

2. Service in unfriendly and unprofessional. I've asked by e-mail the roadmap to hotel from Desenzano railway station - they answer was "take taxi!"
Chambermaid did not put new shampoon.

3. Location is not so good. Much more better to stay directly in old part of Sirmione (really Gardenia is situated in Colombare, NOT Sirmione!). You can reach it or by bus, or by boat or by car. For this location you need car or bus. And old Sirmione is a sharming place.

4. Value for money is awfull. 130 euro per tiny old room with ancient sanitary equipment. Really, shower practically does not work, few drops per second...

5. Room is old-fashioned, badly maintained and poor. Rose color of walls and black/white furniture:( And it's small, very small. We rent similar room in Venice for 50 euro, not for 130!

6. Breakfast is poor, there is no choice.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilanCoCoCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gods Country, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Our group booked five rooms some directly some via expedia - all at the same rate. When we arrived the room quality vried dramatically from double bed and little room with a virtually unusable toilet to an apartments with dinner table balcony etc etc etc - all rooms were ensuite ours was the virtually unusable one - well it was if you were 6' 1" and on the heavy side of average

Breakfast good and best machine coffee I have ever tasted

Lounge areas etc very good but never used - Bar was always open but poor value compared to others in the area.

Pool area was clean and well catered with chairs and loungers

One complaint some of the furniture disappeared from one room and when quizzed guest was told it was end of season and it was going into storage

  • Liked — Location for event we were attending
  • Disliked — Size of bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Gardenia Hotel. We are a family of four with two children. After reading previous reviews I wasn't expecting much from this hotel. Check in was at early afternoon. It was very hot outside and after a long drive, we were releived when we entered the small but extremely clean reception area. The receptionist who was on duty was helpful and personally showed us to our room which was on ground floor facing the pool. All our questions were answered.
We liked our room and the ensuite is spacious with shower, WC, sink and bidet but the water from the sink ran down slowly being slightly blocked. Something else, the air conditioning in rooms switch on automatically at about 1800 and off around 0800. Every day our beds were done, bathroom cleaned and towels supplied. Breakfast was more than average with crossaints, bread with a choice of ham and other sliced luncheon meats, sliced chesse, jam. nutella, yoghurt, 3 different cakes, jam tart, mineral water, tea coffee capuccino hot chocolate etc. What else? Honestly we did not expect anything else and the staff was great, promptly filling up when emptied only that on one busy morning the yogurt finished. During our 9 day stay in Italy we stayed in 2 other hotels which only provided crossaints tea and coffee. Also this place is very clean. Likewise the pool area is cleaned of leaves and other things every day. One thing which we noticed were the many spiders and their webs around the ironwork in windows but that is outside. Also when there, if in summer buy a mosquito repellant and it must be for -zanzare tigre.- otherwise its not effective. There are also a restaurant and a bar opening at certain times, the latter also offering rolls for buying out of normal opening ours. We liked the pool and the surrounding area planted with evergreens to forget that this hotel lies on a fairly busy road. It also has a free private car park. It is true that the hotel is about a km from the castle in Sirmione and I feel a car is necessary to explore the surrounding areas and other villages. Gardaland is about 25mins away. Just outside, there is also a petrol station with a cafeteria and a supermarket a 10minute walk away, also pizzerias and trattorias further away. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Maybe it has improved and upgraded since some negative reviews which I read earlier or maybe we did not expect better. All I can say is that we all enjoyed it here and met the standards we were after. I hope this review will be helpful.

  • Liked — Clean, good breakfast, spacious ensuite, pool area not far from centre
  • Disliked — ac not available at all times
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We arríved late and were greated by a receptionist that was also taking care of a severly disbaled person in their back room. We were in the main building and had no help with luggage up the stairs (no lift). When in the room I wanted to cry. Spiders and spiders webs everywhere, green sponge painting on the walls, very, very dated and a dirty shower room with old shower curtain and hairs on the floor with dirty tiles, broken mirror and to top it off, a noisy guard dog tied up outside the room. We complained straight away and they made a half hearted attempt to clean the room. Also, it was extra for the air con. W ephoned expedia and told them we were unhappy (we had paid in advance). The next day we left (although we had booked for a week) and claimed our money back from Expedia. Definately the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank midlands_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alsazia
Hotel Alsazia
#43 of 69 in Sirmione
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alfieri
Hotel Alfieri
#26 of 69 in Sirmione
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 69 in Sirmione
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#23 of 69 in Sirmione
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#54 of 69 in Sirmione
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mauro
Hotel Mauro
#35 of 69 in Sirmione
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Property: Gardenia Hotel
Address: Via Brescia' 40, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardenia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione where you will have a relaxing and regenerating holiday, also thanks to the spas in the vicinity. At our hotel a long tradition of hospitality comes together with modern services which are up with the times.The Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione was founded in 1949 by the Tosadori family which has kept it up to date and in line with its clients needs. The Hotel, which has air-conditioning in all its rooms and has been recently renovated, is situated near the Virgilio spa establishment, and is only 500 metres from the lake, as well as only 2 Km from the historical centre of Sirmione.The Gardenia Hotel in Sirmione is a hotel complex made up of two buildings: the main house is a dependence where the suites are located. The main house has the following general services: a reception, a hall, a restaurant, a bar, a reading room and a television room.The Hotel gives a good impression to its guests because of the floral and greenery setting in which it is located. The enormous and harmonious garden is a pleasant place to relax in and is cool during hot summer days.The Tosadori family and the Hotel staff expect you to come in large numbers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing