We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant position excellent stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Terme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terme
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Brilliant position excellent stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First impression is that the property is just a little dated.The bedrooms some what dated in colour and design yet despite the fact I always try to stay in new or refurbished hotels our stay was so great and would stay again.
The position could not be bettered.The front of the hotel is on the very edge of the lake with spectacular views.To relax in the sun here is divine.
Within a minutes walk from the front door of the hotel is a moat and a entrance into a castellated town with brilliant restaurants bars coffee shops and world class ice cream!!
What a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    144
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
62
290
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is good for the over 80's. It only really got 2 stars for the outside thermal stuff which is really nice and especially at night. Other than that, well stayed in some fantastic hotels near by, this just wasn't my style. The restaurant looked far too stayed and quiet to eat in, this really was a trip back in time to more formal days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is situated right on the lake shore yet only 100 metres from the entrance to the lovely old town of Sirmione. It is of a good age but has retained its elegance. The bedrooms are very variable in size and outlook but we were given a large double room with a small balcony and superb lake views. We only ate breakfast at the hotel as there is such a good range of local restaurants within a few minutes walk. The breakfast buffet was excellent in terms of choice and quality and the view of the lake from the dining room made eating there a pleasure. The garden seating area and thermal pool were both very pleasant and towels and drinks service were good. Service generally in the hotel was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Despite being close to the town there was never any problem with noise. If you wish to travel to other cities there is a bus stop just a few metres away and an adjacent kiosk where tickets can be purchased. Verona can be reached in 70 minutes at a cost of just 7 Euros each way making a day trip cheap and easy. We had a very enjoyable three night stay at The Garnd Hotel Terme and would certainly return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have road and town views. The rooms at the end of the hotel faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all the amenities that you will find. The views are wonderful with the castle next door to the lake in front. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a minute. The old city is within walking distance with it's many shops and restaurants. An incredible few days

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AaiLissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely 5 star hotel with thermal outdoor pool and outdoor seating with beautiful views. Spa with fantastic steam, sauna and jacuzzi. Hotel was quite quiet, we had use of steam/sauna to ourselves every morning. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. Lots of local restaurants where we ate in the evening. We found a lovely fish restaurant called Pescatori in the old part of Sirmione. With the help of sat nav it is easy to drive along the Lake visiting lovely spots such as Malcesne and Salo.

Room Tip: Lake view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirmione
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

nice view, good to swim and relax hydro swimmingpool, very nice rooms but
the food can be better
but our problem was that we paid twice! and we didn't get our money back!!!
once we paid easytobook and once the hotel. they said they will pay it back but we are already 9 days at home...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My sister and I have stayed at the Hotel Sirmione on a previous holiday and found it wonderful. We thought we would try this sister hotel for a treat as it was supposed to be a superior establishment. On reflection we were wrong; our first experience was with the indifference of the reception staff who met us on our arrival; we arrived with enthusiasm and excitement to be greeted by a very lukewarm reception which continued throughout our stay. We had booked half board but gave up eating in the main restaurant after three attempts. Food was very inferior, rubbery omelette, overcooked pasta, dry fish. Part of the pleasure of visiting Italy is the dining experience and this was lacking. We tried to negotiate with the hotel to change our dining arrangements but this was not possible until our holiday rep intervened. We were then able to eat lunch instead and go out to eat in the evening at one of the many restaurants in the town. We would highly recommend going on a bed and breakfast rate here and enjoy eating elsewhere. Our room was very average worth very hard mattresses. We had a balcony but it could only just fit two metal chairs on it so hardly suitable for watching the activities on the lake. No we would not return and no we would not recommend this as a holiday destination and not value for money.

Room Tip: We saw into other peoples rooms and there were others which were far superior with comfortable arm c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo R, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Terme, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear madame, Dear Sir,

First of all I hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

I want to take this opportunity to personally apologize for the lack of service and attention during your stay at the Grand Hotel Terme. Please be assured that I am very concerned about the comfort and wellbeing of our guests and be assured that this has been taken in a serious light and I have spoken to the according department heads to avoid similar reoccurrence in the future.

Unfortunately we are unable to contact you directly because of the anonymous comment, however if you are willing and have time, I kindly ask to contact the Resident Manager Mrs Simonetta Coazzoli.

I hope these issues will not deter you from returning to the and I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your sister back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Lorenzo Ronchi
Hotel Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 68 in Sirmione
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sirmione
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 68 in Sirmione
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
#16 of 68 in Sirmione
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Azzurro
Hotel Porto Azzurro
#7 of 68 in Sirmione
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terme

Property: Grand Hotel Terme
Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#17 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Terme 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, classy environment, in unique, charming surroundings. This is the Grand Hotel Terme whichlooks out onto one of the most enchanting views of Sirmione. Here you will be able to breathe in and live the exclusive atmosphere of an historic and prestigious hotel.Not only large rooms and wonderful suites, but you will also find the Restaurant L'Orangerie, a garden equipped for your relaxation and a jetty for trips on Lake Garda.The hotel is equipped with a thermal spa, a small gym and an outdoor thermal pool with hydromassages and effervescent beds, complimentary for guests, linked to the Sala Relax directly accessible from the rooms by an internal lift, with loungers for relaxation, an intimate lounge with fireplace, a herbal tea corner. Moreover, the Private Spa, an area for private use, with sauna, waterfall shower, Jacuzzi and tables for treatments and massages for two. The Grand Hotel Terme has a luxury spa, Spa Castello, with a Jacuzzi minipool, Finnish sauna, steam bath, icefall, emotional showers and a relaxation area with lake view and framed by the Scaligero Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sirmione
Grand Hotel Terme Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing