We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems not dealt with well!”
Review of Grand Hotel Terme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terme
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for one week to celebrate my husbands birthday. On the Saturday night which we had to pay extra for, we was woken up by a drunken nasty argument coming from next door. After ten minutes when we were not sure how nasty it was, we phoned reception, to ask them to deal with it. This was well after midnight, and all that happened was a phone call. So it went on for at least one hour, with us well woken up, and myself shook up!. Next day we was told that the hotel, has no responsability to how guest behave. Luckily we did not have any more trouble. But I was not pleased that when I said I was not happy to pay the extra rate for a night when we got little sleep, I was made to wait, and felt that I should be grateful for the 40 euros given to me! We also had a problem with air conditioning in our room, we waited two days for it to be looked at, then we was told that it was fixed, but it never worked properly for the whole week. It was a pleasure to reach our hotel in Verona, and have a cool room to sleep in.
Our stay at the hotel, and the problems we had was not dealt with in a manner one would expect from a five star hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BARBARA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived at 11 am. to no welcome at all. We were asked to go away and come back at 2 pm because our room was not ready although the hotel was half empty. The room we were given was small, dark and overlooked the carpark and main road. We asked for another room and were shown to a room directly above the first one but this one was even smaller. We offered to pay more for a better room, preferably overlooking the lake but we were told that it was not possible.
We speak some Italian so we spoke to some of the staff as to why the best rooms appear to be empty quite often. We were told that these rooms are kept available for Bed & Breakfast people who stay only for a couple of nights before moving on. this is more profitable for the hotel than to let these rooms to package holidaymakers. We had booked half board terms but the dining room lacked atmosphere because there were never more than a dozen people in it. Even so on occasions the service was awful. One particular evening we waited over an hour between courses and only after I went looking for the head waiter did the some food arrive. The first 3 courses took over two and a half hours to serve so in the end we gave up on the two remaining courses and went to bed. At breakfast time any item such as fruit or bread that was used up was not replaced, so some mornings all the fruit was gone or there was no bread to be had. There is no service in the garden or the sun terrace. If you want a drink or some food you have to go into the hotel and look for someone to take your order and then hope it will arrive at your sunbed or table in the garden. The reception staff were not overly helpful, we asked for bus timetables, information about local points of interest etc. but they did not have anything to show us. The drain in the shower in our room was blocked up the first time we used it, a man came up and just stood and looked at it and went away. It was never fixed while we were there. This hotel is in a perfect position, wonderful views, so convenient for the centre of the town etc. but it falls a long way short of 5 star quality. The food was OK if you like fish because the majority of the main courses are fish based. If you go to this hotel be sure to get a lake view room and have Bed & Breakfast terms, there are plenty of places to eat near the hotel and the atmosphere will be much better.

Room Tip: Only accept a room overlooking the lake. Some rooms overlook the carpark and main road, they are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberts186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo R, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Terme, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dera Guest,

thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor.

We read your comments with great concern and we are sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected it to be.

We would like to learn more about your feed back and experience and as such, we would be happy to discuss it with you. Unfortunately from the anonymous comment we are unable to find your reservation as well we didn't get such any complaint directly at the front desk, which absolutely doesen't reflect our Hotel stndard.

Best regards

Lorenzo Ronchi
Hotel Division Manager
Terme di Sirmione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a grand tour that incuded 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Perfect location with a large room overlooking the lake. Great breakfast every day and lovely snacks with drinks from the bar. I know a couple of people didn't bother having dinner as they were so filling. Would return like a shot if only to find out if the duck that was nesting where we ate our breakfast had had her eggs hatch yet. Can't understand it's low rating as I would give it 6

Room Tip: Ask to overlook lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived to a very lukewarm welcome on 1st June. Our room was large but looked onto the road so was very noisy. The road-sweeper started at 0545hrs every morning and his job was to blow the leaves off the path with an extremley noisy machine! Breakfasts were good but evening meals were very dissapointing. The menu contained hundreds of choices which must have made it impossible for the chef to cook to order. The food was bland and the service was very poor. The waiters tried to clear plates before we had finished our meals and they were more interested in setting up for breakfast which they did while trying to make as much noise as possible. The manager(alessandro) had no control of his staff. The town is lovely but be ready to pay at least 6euros for a beer. This hotel is definately not a 5 star hotel. 3star would be about right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo R, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Terme, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Graeme,

I am sorry to receive your feedback recently posted on Trip Advisor and disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at the Grand Hotel Terme.

Being centrally located in Sirmione, you will appreciate that external noise is to a certain extent out of our control. Please feel free to call the Resident Manager Mrs Simonetta Coazzoli at any time as she should be happy to discuss any other aspects of disappoinment, also to arrange a return visit to give us another try.

Best regards
Lorenzo Ronchi
Hotel Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel as our first holiday at Lake Garda. This hotel is a classic traditional style hotel in a fabulous location overlooking the Lake with great facilities to relax and unwind .
There are some great restaurants in the old town Sirmione, so I would recommend the bed and breakfast option.
With many of the clientele making return visits year after year it's easy to see why .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights are part of our belated honeymoon in May 2013. The hotel is in the perfect location, next to the Castle and entrance to the old town, and the room we stayed in was lovely. The breakfast each morning was excellent with lots of choice, and the lakeside location is the perfect setting. We spent a couple of days on the loungers by the lake and the rest wandering through Sirmione, and other lakeside towns. It is also possible to get to Verona very easily - there is a bus just opposite the hotel (approx 1 hours and only 3.50 euros). We also ate in the restaurant one night which although expensive, was excellent. The bar and waiting staff are extremely friendly and are very helpful (although the reception staff could be friendlier when welcoming guests!). On our final day it was raining so we spent the afternoon in the spa - jacuzzi, steam rooms, loungers and beautiful view of the lake and the castle. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Garda is perfect and the Grand Hotel Terme is perfect for Garda. This is a very nice hotel, well located, romantic and with great views. My wife was very pleased with everything and let me tell you she is quite demanding! We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piggy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmione
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#17 of 67 in Sirmione
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
#20 of 67 in Sirmione
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
587 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terme

Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 7, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sirmione
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#17 Family Hotel in Sirmione
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $288 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Terme 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, classy environment, in unique, charming surroundings. This is the Grand Hotel Terme whichlooks out onto one of the most enchanting views of Sirmione. Here you will be able to breathe in and live the exclusive atmosphere of an historic and prestigious hotel.Not only large rooms and wonderful suites, but you will also find the Restaurant L'Orangerie, a garden equipped for your relaxation and a jetty for trips on Lake Garda.The hotel is equipped with a thermal spa, a small gym and an outdoor thermal pool with hydromassages and effervescent beds, complimentary for guests, linked to the Sala Relax directly accessible from the rooms by an internal lift, with loungers for relaxation, an intimate lounge with fireplace, a herbal tea corner. Moreover, the Private Spa, an area for private use, with sauna, waterfall shower, Jacuzzi and tables for treatments and massages for two. The Grand Hotel Terme has a luxury spa, Spa Castello, with a Jacuzzi minipool, Finnish sauna, steam bath, icefall, emotional showers and a relaxation area with lake view and framed by the Scaligero Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sirmione
Grand Hotel Terme Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing