We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Little confused by the negative reviews as our experience was 5 stars. Perhaps because we did not eat lunch or dinner which seem to be the source of most negative commentary.
Location is perfect, High on a bluff overlooking Lake Garda. Love the town of Sirmione with it's well kept buildings, scores of restaurants and shops. Walking around town is fun and a shirt walk to ancient ruins of a Roman ruin villa.
The hotel is immaculate. The public rooms are spacious and even opulent. The grounds are beautifully maintained and pool area is perfect and heated.
Our room, 222, was a corner room which we lived. Large marble bath with separate tub and shower, both with spray handles. The room itself was large with live seat, upholstered chair, desk and a large bureau. We were welcomed with a delicious apple and chocolate chip cake. The king size bed was firm and cozy with 6 pillows and fine sheets and comforter.
Our full breakfast was included and the buffet was large and varied. I had an omelet made to order and fresh fruit. Service was friendly and attentive. Finally, had cocktails in the American Bar both nights. Bartender was great, very friendly and chatty.
We will definitely return as this hotel was great.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Harcapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We cannot say enough great things about this fabulous spot. The grounds are the most beautiful ever. On our arrival afternoon another guest remarked" Welcome to Paradise." That pretty much sums it up. The staff could not have been friendlier and everyone was determined for everything to be perfect. I agree that it is difficult to arrive on the weekend when it is very crowded in Sirmione.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Getting to the hotel is the worst part, you will have to drive through the crowd after checking your name at the police check point. But I guess this the situation with all the hotels in that area.

The hotel area is huge garden on the beach. Breakfast outside is cool. Friendly staff.

Free parking is available with all the fancy cars.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Saihati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Agree wholeheartedly with Marsha 123. We have just returned from a week in Sirmione staying at Villa Cortine. Firstly the good points; a magnificent location, excellent bedrooms, fantastic balcony with the most wonderful view of Lake Garda and the sunset, superb pool area and beautifully maintained gardens. Unfortunately this was not matched by the most disappointing, poor quality and badly presented food we have ever had in a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world. Really disappointing with a restaurant totally lacking in atmosphere.Hardly surprising when on the two occasions we had dinner in the hotel, there were only half a dozen guests. We had actually paid for half board but the food and restaurant were so disappointing that we ate out at some lovely restaurants in Sirmione most of the time. The poor quality was typified by a serving of Mozzarella and Tomates with Basil which consisted of 3 slices of mozzarella, an under ripe, green tomato, quartered and one sprig of basil; €18. An italian staple but the worst we have ever had. Will we go again?; to Sirmione definitely,to Villa Cortine NO. We will go back to Hotel Grand Terme where the food/restaurant puts Viila Cortine in the shade. Oh and Reception staff who need a lesson in courtesy and good customer relationship fortunately offset by a charming pool attendant and a couple of typical Italian lovely waiters.KWT

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 71KWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cortine Palace to help celebrate a special birthday & we couldn't have chosen better. The hotel is situated on a hill just above the town of Sirmione, Lake Garda. The town itself was extremely busy from morning till night, & therefore noisy. However, once you get into the hotel grounds the hubbub fades into the distance & you enter a different world. The calming, picturesque gardens are a delight to walk around, with plenty of seats to stay awhile & admire the surroundings. There's a tennis court & a swimming pool which is really lovely & has the benefit of a lifeguard on duty throughout the time it's open - which is all day, towels are provided. The bar/lounge area is in the oldest part of the building & is very beautiful. Our bedroom had a balcony overlooking the lake, we got the impression most of the rooms did, but probably worth checking if that is important to you. We thought the room was lovely, but to be honest, a couple of extra touches would have made it even better ie: more clothes hangers & a mirror in the bedroom, not just on the wardrobe door & in the bathroom. The bathroom was marble, good sized bath, but the shower wasn't generous & quite dark. Useful additions were an excellent hairdyer & bathrobes, slippers also provided in the cabinet beside the bed. Throughout our stay the weather was incredibly hot so we had the added delight of breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, surrounded by ancient trees & interested sparrows. Down on water level there's a private jetty with loungers & umbrellas for shade, plus a bbq style restaurant. If its luxury & beauty you're looking for, then this is the right place. However, if you're driving to Sirmione be warned, getting through the centre of the town is a driver's worst nightmare, & you do need to get through town to get to the hotel. We had a taxi take the strain, our driver was clearly no stranger to the unusual road system & he clearly found it very frustrating. I've never been able to window shop from a car before!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandMDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in Villa Cortine one night in early autumn of 2012. I knew of this hotel from exalted reviews in all reputable travel books, but the rate was always prohibitive to us, until one day I ran into a non-refundable deal on Booking.com. And what a deal it was!!! Although still very expensive, it was a rare instance when we would pay more for the entire splendor we got. We were also extremely lucky with the weather – it was cloudlessly sunny and warm, and the whole Sirmione shone like a jewel.

The drive through town, after checking at the police station, who had the hotel’s guest names (!!!) added to the suspense, and we arrived in true magic. The park was indescribably beautiful, and we were assigned a room in the oldest, authentic part of the building – the reception was apologetic, since that room did not have a balcony, but we were elated – we were back to those times in elegance, with enormous splendidly adorned bed, parquet floor, intarsia furniture, 5-meter ceiling, huge Venetian chandelier, marble bathroom with huge bathtub – everything was of the incomparable quality of the bygone days. Then we discovered an open terrace with amazing views, then the private beach, so marvelous. Everything breathed of opulence and elegance.

The staff were extremely courteous and attentive, they offered us a complimentary drive down to the hotel's private beach, on a tiny golf car. The drive itself was scenic, and the private beach area was absolutely fantastic. We regretted we arrived there around 18:00, when it was closing for the day; the water was also cold to swim; but there were lots of birds to watch and the whole panoramic view just takes the breath away. One can see the mountains on one side and the tower of Sirmione castle on another.

The location is just superb; we discovered that Maria Callas' villa is just across the hotel's main gates, so it speaks for itself. Besides, Grotte di Catullo was also very near, and perhaps this explains the special Catullian properties that this place emits - its beauty is indeed very uplifting and inspirational. The bed in our room was accordingly luxurious and huge.

We were so enthralled with the hotel that we decided to have a dinner there and not in town. The food and service were quite good, if not exceptional; the risotto was excellent and the lamb, too, but the shellfish invention entree was rather bizarre. All that was still charming and marvelous; alas, the impression was tarnished by the piano music that started half-way around 9:00 pm, and the romantic atmosphere was somewhat ruined by the poor choice of music.

The breakfast was excellent, as befits a 5-star hotel, with a huge buffet choice of many delicacies, including salmon and spumante, two staples for a true 5-star Italian hotel.

It is certainly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. Compared to Lago Maggiore’s Il Grand Hotel des Iles Borromées, Villa Cortine is in a much more privileged location, boasting its own large park and a private beach, with no road separating the hotel from the lake, assuring total ambiance to its guests. The room was also much larger and with higher ceilings; it was very quiet, even though the bar was under it – the soundproofing in the old construction was obviously excellent. Parking was free and secure; WiFi was free also and worked well.

Less pleasant surprises:

The only critique would be the piano music at dinner, which started later when the piano stopped playing at the bar. The pianist played beaten-up tunes which in the USA make a good part of the elevator music, or some other too familiar popular tunes. It ruined the elegant atmosphere somewhat. I think he should have played something more agreeable for everyone, some pleasant quiet nocturnes and classics. Music is a controversial issue and not everyone wants to hear sounds of the street pizzeria or an American elevator when in a place that makes one oblivious to the crudities of life outside. One comes to a hotel like this for certain magic and it better be preserved at all senses. I wish the hotel would pick a more tasteful piano repertoire or better yet, no music at all in the dining room – it’s best to consign it to the bar, as it was done at the beginning of the evening, and that is how it is usually done in similar establishments – Grand Hotel Quisisana, for example.

Next unpleasant surprise was a group of extremely loud and inconsiderate Dutch tourists at breakfast, who spoke loudly table to table and would enter the breakfast room in bath robes, barefoot, right from the swimming pool which was quite far. They acted in total disregard of the other guests. Another older Italian couple in the corner was talking nonstop on their own mobile phones. Of course, in a hotel like that they don’t tell guests how to behave, and it was sad that clients abused the elegance of the place.

Unable to cope with the unbearable noise in that dining room, we moved to another, adjacent one. Perhaps it was that non-refundable rate sale that brought in such unpolished public. This issue is hopefully transient, and next time we’ll just choose an empty breakfast room to avoid poorly behaved neighbors, and chose time when the hotel doesn't run a rate promotion.

Also, beware of a very slow drive through the heart of Sirmione,a pedestrian zone which at the time of our arrival at 2:00 pm was extremely crowded. Some might find such driving frightening, surrounded by crowds, moving at 5 km/hour.

However...the hotel is a rare and unique gem, its grounds spirited by Catullus and Callas; it left unforgettable memories, and I strongly recommend it to those looking for extraordinary beautiful and exquisite stays.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the oldest and original building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

An amazing hotel, it was like stepping back in time but in a wonderful way..... the staff are helpful and friendly. The views out of this world. The rooms beautiful. The setting just perfect for our mini moon. This is certainly a place I will continue to go back to as a special treat.

Room Tip: Its worth every penny to go for a suite!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#7 of 67 in Sirmione
580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Villa Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Villa Cortine

Address: Viale Carlo Gennari 2, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sirmione
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range: $385 - $734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Villa Cortine 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel Villa Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cortine Palace
Villa Cortine Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing