We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grifone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmione
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grifone
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
NorCal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved my stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights at Grifone in a room on the top floor with a balcony with an incredible view of the lake and medieval castle towers.
Grifone offers basic, clean accommodation with a stellar location and warm, wonderful management.
The bathrooms are small but there is plenty of hot water. The beds are a bit old but not horrible.
The breakfast buffet is simply incredible.
Overall loved my stay, loved Sirmione and will return to Grifone!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    126
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
79
255
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotell is in the heart of Sirmione, just by the castle. The room is spacious and have amazing view. Everything works like it should, but do not forget it is 2 stars hotell:). Room is clean and bright with everything you need. Cleaning everyday. The owner lady Enza is terrfic. She helped us with everything we asked and we felt us at home:). Breakfast is served on the terrase faced the lake.
PS. Do not forget pay by the cash for stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Small and enchanting

Just wonderful for couples

Sound waves serves to bed .... romantic and Recommend!

Excellent breakfast!!!!

We spent a week in Italy and this is the best hotel in the sleeping area, simply superb

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOSSI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Grifone for 1 week around Easter 2014. 2 stars is a very conservative rating. Most (if not all) rooms have a view over Garda Lake. Breakfast is better that most of 4-5 hotels offer, a lot of fresh fruits, pastries, at least 10 types of cheese, different types of ham (regular or prosciuto), etc. Hotel owner was very helpful in offering tips on local restaurants and places to visit. Parking very convenient at 2 euro/day in a public parking outside the castle - 5 min walking.
Very good location, inside the old town, 2 min from the castle. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Buch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had a very nice stay here, all around. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Nothing glamorous, but quaint. Breakfast is fine (they even served sparkling wine to make a mimosa). Good value! I stayed here early December (one of the few hotels actually open in off-season), so the town was very sleepy.

Room Tip: Choose either room 28, or even better, the room right across from it. Rm 28 has a room of the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namaste2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altleiningen, germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I have traveled quite a bit in Germany and Italy. We were looking for a Gastehaus style B&B and found Hotel Grifone. I highly recommend this hotel for those who like a small personalized stay with amazing views and location. It is not one of the resort hotels, which is exactly why we liked it. The proprietor was a wonderful lady named Enza, and she spoke no English, but she did speak very good German. She treated us like family, we will make a return trip someday, and we will definitely stay there. Enza has a few special rooms; ours had a balcony that overlooked the lake and a window that overlooked the castle and loch. Enza also prepares one of the best European breakfasts I have ever seen! She also offers a 20% discount at the Aquaria spa, I also recommend that. Enza even has workable Wi-Fi, sometimes a problem in Italy.
Sirmione has it all, Roman villa ruins, mediaeval castle ruins, small town shopping, a romantic little port town with beaches, bays and scenic views and a port for taking cruise and ferries. Hotel Grifone is the best kept secret; but no online reservations and no credit cards. Call Enza or email her for a reservation. I recommend a visit in the off season. Thanks, Enza!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony, particularly the one with the dual view on the north and east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is something you should not miss if visiting Sirmione. The old building is fascinating and the rooms are comfortable. The only thing I miss in the room is a fridge; now there is no place to keep any foods or drinks cold. The location is perfect, and so is the service. The breakfast is great, including sparkling wine, no better way to begin your day than sitting in the morning sunshine on a terrace facing the lake! I definitely want to come back. We stayed here in the end of September, and the weather was lovely, warm but not too hot, and no masses of tourists in this hotel or in the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#2 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#13 of 69 in Sirmione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 69 in Sirmione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifone

Property: Hotel Grifone
Address: Via Bocchio 4 | ( BS ), 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grifone Hotel, Sirmione, the jewel of lake Garda, is under new family running and it is ideally situated. It offers an excellent price-quality ratio, it is provided with a lift,it has 16 rooms, all with bath or shower, tv, phone, air-conditioning and wonderful lake view. It is situated in the historical centre of town, beside the castle, directly in front of the lake, it allows a pleasant and relaxing holiday in a peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grifone Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Grifone Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing