We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel grifone my favourite place!!”
Review of Hotel Grifone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmione
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grifone
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel grifone my favourite place!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Another excellent 4 day stay at the hotel grifone.
Location is second to none, service is excellent. The owner cannot do enough for you. She is welcoming friendly always smiling.
Excellent value for money. A fantastic 2* hotel in my opinion should be a 3*. My 10th visit.
See you next year. I just love it

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    131
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
83
264
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Reluctantly must share......this is a gem with friendly hostess and stunning location having been there many times it never fails to please .We hope to make this an annual event for my sisters, friends and I

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My favourite place in Sirmione. I found this hotel about 10 years ago in an American travel book by Karen Brown inexpensive hotels in Italy. My sister and I have stayed here every year ever since. It use to be owned by the restaurant next door, but now it is owned by another company, and it has gone from strength to strength. We love it. This year 5 of us went and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is a 2 star but warrants a 5 star in friendliness, cleanliness, value for money, view, position and wonderful breakfast. The hostess is truly amazing, she is always there, attentive and so friendly. We all loved her. She makes the place what it is. The rooms are clean and all have amazing views of the lake. The differences from the first time we went are air conditioning, a bountiful breakfast ( croissants, various hams, boiled eggs, yoghurt, frest fruit, cereal, various cheeses, breads and wonderful selection of cakes to name a few) one can purchase cold soft drinks, beer etc from the fridge downstairs and a lovely hostess. I have written quite a lot of reviews on trip advisor and use trip advisor for recommendations etc. Over the past few years there have been negative comments on this hotel but it truly has improved, (although I liked it before). I would recommend again this hotel and hope it goes from strength to strength but obviously not change the hostess and ambience of this truly amazing gem in Sirmione.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 6 wonderful days at the very casual and at the same time marveulous Grifone. Stunning location, clean room, air, tv,delicious breakfast at the patio, which is almost above the lake. We would recommend this 2 stars hotel to everybody: couples at any ages, family, friends ets. Andre, Victoria.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was an amazing find. The owner Enza is a perfect host and answered all our questions. The rooms had an amazing view over the lake with a balcony and air conditioning. Breakfast was great and bits of everything. We came for one night and immediately booked for a second. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

TripAdvisor reviews are summed-up by the point bar. I was about to rate the Grifone with 2 points. But the definition of 2 is 'poor' and that wouldn't be quite fair. The lady at the reception who seems to sit there 24h is so friendly and helpful which makes a difference. The other big point: the location next to the lake and the small outdoor terrrace where one can - if early (seats are limited) - enjoy a simple breakfast. The rooms are small but we had one with a beautiful view from a roof-balcony (standing, no view when sitting). The bathrooms are very small and can get messy after taking a shower due to the flimsy shower curtain "system". But overall, for about 90Euro one sleeps in a bed next to the lake, has a view, gets a coffee and a bun and can go for a swim (Wait for 1 hour after breakfast! Stroll around the village; the piazza is just 50 m away. Taking all into consideration, this is - of course - better than than 'poor'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A privately owned traditional Italian hotel. At first you think that it is a little pricey for a two-star property. But when you come down to have breakfast on the terrace you change your mind as views are breathtaking!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Batalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 67 in Sirmione
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifone

Property: Hotel Grifone
Address: Via Gaetano Bocchio, 4, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grifone Hotel, Sirmione, the jewel of lake Garda, is under new family running and it is ideally situated. It offers an excellent price-quality ratio, it is provided with a lift,it has 16 rooms, all with bath or shower, tv, phone, air-conditioning and wonderful lake view. It is situated in the historical centre of town, beside the castle, directly in front of the lake, it allows a pleasant and relaxing holiday in a peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grifone Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Grifone Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing