We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and lovely experience”
Review of Hotel Grifone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmione
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Grifone
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel boasts a wonderful location overlooking ther lake and the palace, and near to the heart of the village. All reviews we read in advance were true - excellent value for money, clean, welcoming etc. The lady on reception (who seemed to do everything!) was charming and helpful. We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake, it is a stunning location and the breakfast choice was fantastic - a five star hotel would be proud of the cheeseboard, antipasti selection and pastries, only thing that let it down was the orange juice, more like weak squash. We were annoyed to see however, a couple taking advantage of this buffet and stuffing their rucksacks with a picnic for the day, they even came prepared with plastic bags... shameful to take advantage of this lovely hotel who still believe in personal customer service.

Room Tip: Only saw our room on the 2nd floor which faced the palace, I would happily ask for that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchieSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    131
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
83
264
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

For a 2 star hotel this is absolutely fantastic. The owner Enza is very friendly and clearly takes great pride in her hotel. It has basic facilities but the views of the lake are breathtaking and exceptional value. The rooms are immaculately clean. Overall this should be more expensive than it is...if you want to save on hotel rates but still have a great view and location try it!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Overseassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is the 11th time my sister and I have stayed at this hotel and have always loved it. This year it has a new owner and we were very pleasantly surprised at the changes. There was air conditioning in each room and the breakfast was delightful, with a variety of choices e.g cheese, hams, boiled egg, croissants, breads coffees, hot chocolates etc. I would certainly recommend this hotel for its charm, cleanliness, choice and simplicity for a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Grifone for 1 week and had a fabulous time. Staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, assisting us with planning our day trips using public transport.

Rooms were reasonably basic, but had everything you could really need, except air conditioning! Rooms were lovely and big, we had alarge balcony overlooking the Castle and Lake Garda - What a sight to wake up to every morning! Room was cleaned everyday, new sheets and towels everyother day.

We eat at the hotel restaurant on our final evening and had a brilliant experiece, excellent choice of food and wine and great service.

We would definately go back to Hotel Grifone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreamer088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The last night of a wonderful holiday we stayed at this hotel. It is a lovely town, great location,the hotel looked good from the outside and we were tired. We trusted our DK Book of the best hotels in Europe and paid our €100 for a family room with lake view. Bad mistake. I am not going to waste my time writing a long review, but feel I should warn you. This is a list I made on the night.

No shower
Grotty short beds
Green paint on ceiling
Window handle falls off
Noise echoing through hotel
Residents who did not seem to be tourists
1950s dated tired
Light brown walls
No pictures, rugs nor personal touches
Wardrobes difficult to open
Child bed worn out - son kept waking
The beds left me itching for 36 hours afterwards
hot, dry room despite rain outside
receptionist friendly
I felt this was a grotty and horrible experience

A nice looking 4 star around the corner was €20 more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greenmantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Hotel Grifone is located in the old section of Sirmione, on the eastern shore of the city against Lake Garda. It is accessible by car, be sure to let the hotel know that you are bringing a vehicle so that they put you on the list for admission at the city gate. Once you drop things off, parking is about a quarter mile away in another hotel's car park. The city streets are narrow and not suitable for larger vehicles.

Checkin was handled well, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a small coffee bar for breakfast and a high-end restaurant attached for dinners, but there are many restaurants in walking distance. The public areas are quiet and dated, however there is a lovely porch overlooking the lake where you can sit and enjoy a drink. There are elevators up to the rooms, and the hotel is accessible.

Rooms are basic, almost like a hostel. There is a bed and a small desk and not much else. The bathroom is similarly basic, a stand-up shower with wrap around curtain, good water temperature and pressure. However, the views from the window are spectacular, and the location couldn't be better. The rooms are clean, the bed was comfortable, and the price is half what other lodging costs in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

If you want a cheap hotel on a perfect location, this is it. Only be prepared that it can not be perfect for that price.

We had a room on the third floor, with a little balcony (only one chair) and a perfect view over the town and the lake (when standing up right). No airco, so very hot and we counted more than 50 mosquitoes the next morning! Very basic furniture and a bit of a bad smell in the bathroom. The restaurant was unfortunately closed on Wednesday, so we couln’t sit on the nice looking terrace under the pinetrees. Next to the hotel is a very little strip where you could take a dip in the lake. But in a 5 minute walk there is a public beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sirmione
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Sirmione
#15 of 67 in Sirmione
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 67 in Sirmione
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 67 in Sirmione
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifone

Property: Hotel Grifone
Address: Via Gaetano Bocchio, 4, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sirmione
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sirmione
#5 Family Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grifone Hotel, Sirmione, the jewel of lake Garda, is under new family running and it is ideally situated. It offers an excellent price-quality ratio, it is provided with a lift,it has 16 rooms, all with bath or shower, tv, phone, air-conditioning and wonderful lake view. It is situated in the historical centre of town, beside the castle, directly in front of the lake, it allows a pleasant and relaxing holiday in a peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grifone Hotel Sirmione
Hotel Grifone Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing