We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on lake, but below average value”

Ristorante l'Arcimboldo
Ranked #18 of 161 Restaurants in Sirmione
Price range: $33 - $50
Cuisines: European, Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: To improve our service and better organize the next season will remain closed about 70 days . Closed: from 01/09/2017 to 03/19/2017 inclusive; We reopen Monday, 20/03/2017 . L'Arcimboldo is right in the middle of Sirmione, close to the Aquaria spa. With its variety of rooms, all in harmony but each with an identity of their own, L'Arcimboldo is a pleasant surprise. All the spaces are comfortably furnished with fine taste, witnessing the time over which the restaurant has been modified before arriving at its current structure. Each room represents a pieces of history and together they form a path leading to the lake from the Gallery. In fact,L'Arcimboldo is composed of four inter-connected areas: the Gallery, the Veranda, the Garden and, last but not least, the Lake Fountain. Every detail catching your attention is fruit of the wish to offer a unique memory: a piece of furniture, a plant, a flowering branch... care for the whole in search of beauty, with taste and elegance
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location on lake, but below average value”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The restaurant has a really nice dining area right on the lake and I could not fault the ambiance of al fresco dining, watching the sun set over Garda. However, there are other restaurants on the lake and I just feel like the food was average and my portion was not very generous at all. So I felt that we were paying extra purely for the ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    308
    108
    56
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Delicious food a notch above the main standard, incredible puddings (try the pineapple carpaccio), excellent staff. Ak for a table out on the terrace overlooking the lake. Wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GMary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, good service and food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant and liked the position and it was busy which is usually a good sign. We waited 5 minutes for a table to come free and had a lovely view of the lake. The food was very good, I had veal and my husband had spagetti with sardines. There was a band playing on the waterfront so overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whichresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“This is a pizza-place.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Choose pizza, reserve a table at seafront. Lovely to sit there when it's varm. Service of the class you only get in very expensive places. The other dishes we tried were incredible ill-tasting or non-tasting. (Salad Capreze, seven different kinds of sea-food. Or six, the octopus was ok.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
“Tourist trap with nice lake view”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

On the last day of our Garda lake trip, my girlfriend and I reserved a table at this restaurant. Our table was outside next to the water and provided us with a great scenery.
This is where the nice features end. It seems that the owner has the priority of making money rather than impressing his guests. Instead of charging the usual 'Pane e coperto', this restaurant automatically charges a 15% service fee. The staff was inexperienced with no knowledge about the menu or Italian food. The owner asked us not to order pizza at the 'premium' tables. (Unfortunately, we listened to him.) The food itself was okay, but nothing to write home about.
My advice: walk past this restaurant, enjoy the sunset on a beach and then have dinner in a restaurant where you might not have the scenery, but where you receive the service and food quality you deserve for your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jovawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante l'Arcimboldo also viewed

Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Ristorante l'Arcimboldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing