We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Lido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astoria Lido
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Sirmione
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 day stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Just returned from a most pleasant 5 day vacation in Hotel Astoria. Cannot speak highly enough of staff friendliness, courtesy and assistance. Excellent outdoor facilities, including both pool and lake-side. Excellent breakfast. Agree with previous reviews that bathrooms are small but more than compensated by lake-view bedrooms with large balconies. One thing to note there is no lift. Convenient bus stop 50 metres from hotel with regular service into historic old town. Enjoyed some local restaurants on hotel staff's recommenation with great success. Hotel situated in very quiet area which contributes to the relaxing ambience. Would strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: strongly recommend lake-view bedrooms, of which there are only 6 ( I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for a short break in August we chose this hotel as it was located on the lake. The rooms were comfortable with a balcony and the absolutely necessary air-conditioning. The location on the Lake was great with free pedalos and canoes.....although it is essential to have 'swim shoes' as the beach is stoney. We sat on the beach after the sun went down just watching the boats going up and down the lake...it was great. The general location however, is quiet with only 1 restaurant nearby (we didn't try the restaurant though) The main tourist area near the castle is only 10 minutes drive away....you can't drive through to the other end of the peninsula unless you are staying in new of the hotels there....the area is mostly pedestrianised. Would stay here again but if you have older children they might find it lacking in activities. The owners were very welcoming and carried our luggage to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieCookie2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I spent a lovely week end on the lake of Garda, at the Hotel Astoria lido. We had a very pleasant stay, the place is beautifully located on the lake with private beach and many equipments for free, it has a beautiful swimming pool as well. We had breakfast and happy hour on the wide terrace facing the lake... so romantic. The room was bright and cozy, the hosting people very nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel was chosen as a convenient stop off from the main autostrada was we travelled from Milan to Venice. The hotel is conveniently located off the main road along the peninsular leading to Sirmione. The good news is that the is plenty of hotel car parking with under cover areas so the car did not get hot.

The big attraction is that it has its own shore line with kayaks and two four seater pedalos for free use of hotel guests. The kids spent most of a day playing on them, on the shore or around the very clean open air swimming pool. Even at this time of year they were comfortable in only swimming costume/trunks. The was a family of 5 from Austria renting the hotel's house next to the car park who had children of similar age so the days turned out to be a bit like the days of 'The Famous Five' books by Enid Blyton.
They explored and had lots of fun. Oh not forgetting they brought their own speed boat!

The bedroom was neatly laid out with a separate area of two single beds for the children. A generous balcony with table and chairs had pleasant views of the adjoining property and a bit of lake Grarda.

Breakfast was adequate as a continental style but not much of a range.

By the way Sirmione gets extremely busy with cars parks getting full up at weekends and traffic jams all the way up the peninsular to the town so leaving the car in the hotel car park and taking a leisurely walk along the shore up to the old town is easy.

Room Tip: Go out on the lake on a pedalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirmione hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Pioppi Hotel
Villa Pioppi Hotel
#50 of 69 in Sirmione
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 69 in Sirmione
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabello
Hotel Mirabello
#55 of 69 in Sirmione
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clodia
Hotel Clodia
#30 of 69 in Sirmione
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saviola
Hotel Saviola
#45 of 69 in Sirmione
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#31 of 69 in Sirmione
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Lido

Property: Astoria Lido
Address: Via Benaco n. 20, Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Astoria Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Lido Sirmione, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing