We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good classic food without too many experimental culinary shenanigans and excellent service”

Restaurant El Convent 1613
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $63
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Special restaurant in Matarranya region, offers Mediterranean - International food with seasonal dishes and a contemporary slant. Our attentive wait staff will do everything it can to ensure your meals are pleasure in themselves. The dining area is located in the middle of the building in what used to be the church of the convent. Closed Sunday evening.Monday whole day. Reservation required CAPACITY A la carte 35 persons Banquet 45 persons Banquet: 45 persons (max of 150 persons). Banquets are managed in collaboration with a catering service. Tables with more than 8 persons please ask for group menus.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

I recommend making a reservation here, especially in holiday season, or on holiday long weekends. It is on the expensive side, but it comes with perks like having a drink in a nice garden and enjoying the sights of an old building. The building itself has gone through significant refurbishment and new construction which makes it difficult to differentiate the old from the new. Our wait staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We did NOT speak to them in English. They spoke to us in Spanish and Catalan. They were knowledgeable about wines. They followed up to ask us if we were satisfied with what we had requested. They use local ingredients, i.e. sourcing locally.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank albaqaahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convent1613, Director General at Restaurant El Convent 1613, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and nice review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and staff. We hope to welcome you again sometime. Sunny regards from El Convent 1613

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the El Convent 1613 for one night on our way to Barcelona. We decided to eat dinner at their restaurant. It was a bit pricey, but the setting was quite elegant and the food was delicious. There were plenty of local dishes on the menu and we enjoyed the food and the experience. We would not hesitate to stay and eat here again if we are ever in the area. You will not be disappointed.

Thank Jivaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convent1613, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurant El Convent 1613, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear Jivaro , thank you for your opinion published in Trip Advisor regarding your visit at El Convent 1613. We love to hear that you enjoyed with the food and the place . We would like to welcome you again, receive our greetings ¡¡i

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

As the name suggests this is an old convent building, complete with shady cloister. It's a special place for a special occasion. We were child free for the day and celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary here. From the moment we arrived we felt special. We started with a drink in the cloister which was cool and shady with lovely plants and warned features making a very tranquil space.
The food was excellent and attentatively served. We had cava to go with our meal because we grow our own red and white wine so enjoy trying something different.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank redmum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convent1613, Propietario at Restaurant El Convent 1613, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear Redmum64 , thank you for your opinion published in Trip Advisor regarding your visit at El Convent 1613 in La Fresneda. We love to hear that you enjoyed with us, and thank for choosing us for a special occasion.
Kind regards ¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

This is one of those rare places that enchant from the moment you arrive, beautiful old building carefully retored and adapted to use as a hotel and restaurant, the food is lovingly prepared and preseneted, the modern hotel extension blends well with the original convent.

Thank mdrxabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convent1613, Propietario at Restaurant El Convent 1613, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely words :) greetings ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by Spanish friends do we expected a really first rate evening.
It is certainly a wonderful location and had an impressive architectural conversion of what wet cloisters I guess ? ...but the Restaurant we thought lacked the polish, level of cuisine and staff service to complete the real tasteful and memorable experience we had rather expected.
Unfortunately as we arrived (we reserved a table for two for 9.00pm for dinner ) we found we were the only people in the Restaurant- apparently most of the guests were part of a large group and apparently were eating out?
Anyway we both settled down by an open fire with a decent G&T (6.00€ I think) pre dinner drink and from what read as an interesting local speciality menu to a quiet but reasonably good meal.
The potato and asparagus soup was not very impressive but OK.
Our lamb shoulder was however very good and larger than we expected - so was the price of the dish at € 23.00.
Yes and they charged for the bread rolls- how so annoying that is!
However we would still recommend the place on the ambience, stunning glass atrium and general feel of the once holy site.
The service was average and staff seemed perhaps out of sync with how the place could and should be run and managed ?
That said I am sure it's great at weekend with other people filling the gaps we found!

1  Thank RichardStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Convent1613, Propietario at Restaurant El Convent 1613, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2015

Dear Mr Stephen
thank you for your visit in our restaurant and for your contribution to the travel community. We’re pleased to hear you liked the decoration and conversion of the ancient church; but on the other hand we’re sad not to have satisfied your expectations, especially regarding our staff. Therefore we would like to explain some of your points to you and the readers; since the love and passion for our profession does not permit to stay passive after a client expresses his bad experience with us.
As you correctly mentioned, you were the only guests in our restaurant, since the rest of the hotel was booked by a team who was eating in the circuit that particular night. We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy dining on your own, we think there are many people who appreciate the tranquility, but we understand that’s personal taste...At this point we would like to mention to our readers, that this is a very quiet area and if you go out on week days in the low season, eating alone or just with a few is quite common. But that doesn’t reduce quality or service.
We’re glad you liked the taste and portion of the lamb baked in the oven- we’ll pass the compliment on to our cooks- but we must correct you- the dish cost 17€ and not 23€ as you mention in your review. (You can ask us for a copy of your bill if you please)
And yes, we do charge 0,90€ for our bread rolls as written in our menu. We pay the bakers for the bread rolls and pass the price on to our clients. In other places they hide the bread price in other dishes, but one pays everywhere for the bread, because nothing is free for no one.
Actually we don’t know your expectations regarding our staff and we’re sorry not to have satisfied you. Our philosophy is professionalism and kindness; always with a smile (you can look at the other reviews were we have a punctuation of 99% regarding our staff), not harassing our clients by talking too much, but if they ask for it, we enjoy giving them conversation and explanations about the history of the convent and information about the area. In particular we were chatting with you about the architectural conversion of our old house…
We’re sorry you didn’t fully enjoy your evening in our restaurant- For us it would be pleasure to attend you once again- alone or with more guests.
Gratefully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Convent 1613 also viewed

 
Fuentespalda, Matarranya
 
Cretas, Matarranya
La Fresneda, Matarranya
 

Been to Restaurant El Convent 1613? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing