We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Lake Como Food Tours
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
41
6
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
41
6
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill olive oil walking tour villa melzi lake como villa tour elena knowledge hydrofoil bellagio restaurant wine landscape milan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 51 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We booked 3 tours for the lake Como area, all with the same company (but unkown to us at the time). We had Allessandra as our guide for the walking food tour of Lecco, as well as the Lake Como boat tour. On both tours, the insights into the local history were both intriguing and very informative. The knowledge that was imparted on the local produce was first class, as indeed was the local wines, cheeses, meats & fresh breads, of which we sampled with gusto!
Today we had a fantastic traditional Italian cooking class ( justa like Nonna used to make) with Ellena & Laura. We first went to the local delicatesan to pick up the local cheeses & small goods that we were to use, the we headed up into the hills to the private villa where we had hands on experience preparing traditional Italian pasta.
To top it off, there was a fresh dusting of snow on the surrounding mountain tops that really made the vista spectacular from the kitcken window.
Great tours all round, thoroughly recommend to anyone who enjoys the Italian food cultural experience.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

My husband and I did not get to go on the tour because of a missed email (by me) with the change in tour time. However, Laura from Lake Como Food Tours was easily contactable, and processed the refund within one day. We do wish we had seen the email because we were looking forward to the tour!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank cindymcb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We wanted to be on the lake, and learn something of the local culture. We met our guide, Cristina at the appointed spot and began with a tour of an old mill. We learned about old milling processes, then tasted some olive oil, by breathing it into your palate. There we had to have some bread, cheese, meat as well. We toured the old city of Varenna then sat down to a lovely local meal. After the meal we had a boat ride captained by the handsome Luka. I felt like a movie star. Saw many of the sights in the Como branch of the lake, I would have liked to see more. The day finished with a tour by Cristina of Bellagio. Over all a plus.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jocdgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

This was a fantastic tour!! Alessandra, our guide, shared a wealth of information about the places we visited. These experiences would never have occurred without her guidance. Touring the mill, Varenna, having a relaxing authentic lunch, as well as visiting beautiful gardens, Bellagio, and a boat tour made for a perfect day! Alessandra was enthusiastic and wonderful company!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank ldstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016

This was my second visit to beautiful Lake Como and Elena & Madolenna certainly made it special. Their tour of lovely Varenna with lunch, a visit to an old Mill for wine, cheese and olive oil tasting and the boat ride around the Lake were just terrific. They answered all our questions (10 ladies), and were extremely friendly and informative. I would certainly recommend their tour and also another visit to Lake Como, one of the most beautiful places in all of Italy.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews