We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amidst tourist traps, fine cuisine and great wine list”

Ristorante Vecchia Varenna
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Price range: $24 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ristorante con terrazza immersa nelle acque del lago di Como, gode di una impagabile vista nel centro lago. In cucina utilizziamo prodotti freschi e lavoriamo in prima persona tutte le materie prime.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Varenna is such a quiet village that it deserves more restaurants like this one. A perfect service. Sophisticated dishes, and WHAT A VIEW !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiavarenna, Proprietario at Ristorante Vecchia Varenna, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

A few lines below it reads exactly the opposite ...
something like a bar or Bistro that serves predominantly food prepackaged and frozen!!... Are you sure you do not have wrong restaurant?!?! :-)

Just kidding!
So, thanks a lot for choose Vecchia Varenna Restaurant!!

Best Regards
Castiglioni Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 479 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

The location is wonderful; right on the water with a lovely view and the restaurant is very attractive. We shared a risotto to start which was excellent however, we were advised that it would take 20 minutes to prepare (why?). In fact it took much longer. We then had a very long wait for our main courses. I had prawns with cous-cous. The prawns were OK, nothing special but the cous-cous was like one of those ready flavoured, just add water, packet jobs; awful. Another wait trying to attract attention to receive the bill.

The owners also run a bar next door which is lovely and does simpler food but the same kitchen supplies both and I don't think that it can cope.

Very disappointing. I would return just for the location but would just have a main course and perhaps dessert to avoid the long waits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzanneBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiavarenna, Proprietario at Ristorante Vecchia Varenna, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Maybe spend time eating in bars or restaurants like that, as you write, (not our property yet!) makes to forget how time need risotto to be prepared :-) The waiting time for the remaining courses is necessary for the preparation of processed raw materials expressed in our kitchen and ...show a certain kind of quality

I hope next time.. to be a little bit faster when you are waiting for the Bill :-)

Best Regards
Castiglioni Luca
Vecchia Varenna Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Go at sunset ...the food was imaginative , the wine list extremely good and the service attentive.The best way to end a visit to this lovely town

Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiavarenna, Proprietario at Ristorante Vecchia Varenna, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Grazie!
Thanks to write about our restaurant and food.

We hope to can see you again.
Best Regards
Vecchia Varenna Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were in the Lake Como area for about two weeks and this was one of the best meals we had, helped by the fact that we got there on the ferry and I did not have to drive. The restaurant is very nice with lakeside views. The menu has a great range of good options and not pizza. The service was very good as well. the other clientèle did seem to be the well heeled business people and ladies who lunch of Varenna ( which makes you wonder what what we were doing there!). All in all, a fabulous way to spend and afternoon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drunken_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiavarenna, Proprietario at Ristorante Vecchia Varenna, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

:-0 !!
Are you sure you do not have wrong restaurant?!?!
Despite the difficult times we serve dishes like in Italia we use to have. Fresh and prepared by kitchen staff and served by room staff.
Our location is so close to the town of Lecco and Milano and sometimes we have business lunch as well :-)

Grazie!

Best Regards
Castiglioni Luca
Vecchia Varenna Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We walked past on out way to Gardini di Villa Melzi and thought we would stop for lunch on the way back down.

The staff were polite and helpful. We ordered a bottle of Prosecco which came in the most intriguing cooler, I have to find one. We both ordered a main, me tagliatelle and my partner shrimps, which were both fresh and cooked really well. My partner order the semifreddo which in his words was "to die for".

Well priced home feel food in a great location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MCCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiavarenna, Proprietario at Ristorante Vecchia Varenna, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Good Morning!
Tnx a lot for spend time to review our Restaurant! :-)

"sometimes we steal money selling low quality food at high price!".... ;-)
So, sometimes someone say this!
But..... but this time, it seems you were lucky!! ;-) LoL

Thanks again for appreciating our work.

(Look in the net W I C E cooler!! ;-)

Best Reagards
Castiglioni Luca
Vecchia Varenna Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Vecchia Varenna also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante Vecchia Varenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing