We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and unbeatable views!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mela_Trav...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
7
people found this review helpful

Be very careful when booking with this owner. We booked through tripadvisor, had our booking confirmed, the owner took our deposit and then contacted us to say that for logistic reasons we had been moved to another apartment. There was no question about whether this was okay. We were assured that the new apartment was equal to what we had booked but had a large lake view terrace instead of the balcony.

Prior to arrival you receive an email with instructions about how to get the keys but soon learn that the owner is not the contact person and the contact person speaks virtually no English.

When we finally got the keys and access to the apartment it wasn't at all what we had expected and wasn't equal as promised. The apartment was on the ground floor and was actually below ground level so was quite dark. If you wanted the windows open, they opened onto a lane way that was heavily used to access the ferry thus providing no privacy. The terrace was divided into 2 where owner occupiers had the front and we had the back. Meaning we looked over someone else's terrace to see the lake.

While we were there it was obvious that other guests were staying in the apartment we had booked and we assumed that the owner got offered a rental worth more money than ours and that is why we got moved. Also there is poor communication between the owner and the key lady. We were given a late checkout from the owner after we complained about the apartment not being equal to what we had booked, however this wasn't passed onto local contact who came to clean the apartment well before we left. Trying to explain while we were still there was confusing for the poor lady and another unnecessary stress for us.

From what we could see the apartment advertised here looks like it would be lovely and private with a great view, but if you do go ahead I would clearly stipulate that you are booking this apartment and not a substitute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany...
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and unbeatable views!”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

To begin with, the town of Varenna is wonderful. It is small, quaint, and incredibly picturesque. The apartment is about a five minute walk from the train station. We stayed on the "second" floor which was actually four flights of stairs up. No elevators. But the view from each of the two balconies was wonderful. It was a treat to be able to wake up to that each morning. The apartment is a stone's throw from the ferry station and just a quick walk from the marina. So it is overall a great location. The apartment was clean and spacious enough for our group of 4. The managers were very helpful as well. They spoke limited English but were able to communicate with us to the extent necessary. There are a series of restaurants on the marina which provide the most beautiful sunset dining out of anywhere we visited. And the staff at each of them made you feel like family. Please come stay here. You won't regret it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d0nnallee
Union City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Basics Supplied”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The owners of this apartment supplied very little basics for a three night stay. There were no instructions on how to use any of the facilities. A neighbor who did not speak any English gave us the keys but could not communicate any instructions on the apartment. We had no dish washing soap to hand wash dishes and only one dish washer pod for the machine for three days. We tried to start the dishwasher several times and the machine would not go through the full cycle. The owner complained that we left dirty dishes (which was not our fault because we tried to clean them) and then charged us a cleaning fee because the dishes were not cleaned. We also were not told NOT to touch a switch in the kitchen near the coffee machine. Apparently this switch turns off all the hot water in the apartment. Not knowing this, we had cold showers until we were able to get a phone call out to the owner of the apartment, who finally responded with these basic instructions. Basic instructions and basic cleaning supplies would have made this stay more pleasant on both sides.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was convenient
Liked least: No basic cleaning supplies or instructions for use/quirkiness of apartment
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmaca
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be Aware....”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just a little heads up on this place. First, it's true that the location is great- just a few minutes walk from the train station and close to the ferry- and it was tidy with a lovely view out the windows. But I am not sure how used to having "renters" they are. There was no soap (hand soap, dishwasher, or dish soap) in the unit, and very little toilet paper. According to Sabrina, renters are "responsible for providing their own soap and tp".

Without wifi or phones, it was hard to reach the owner or his assistant Sabrina. So when the power went out at night, we had to go to the tourist info office the next am and have them call for us, as their english is also limited. They add a heating "surcharge" of 5 euro per day, which I guess means the rent only includes an unheated apt. They said we could "get free wifi 30 meters away" at another hotel but that did not work either. There was a broken coffee maker, and no instructions for how to use the laundry machine or dishwasher (not intuitive) . In the end, we left all the rinsed dishes (there was no soap) in the dishwasher, which wouldn't turn on. Everything else was clean but and Sabrina wrote us a nasty email about it.

Overall, I found the interactions with the owners helper unpleasant and something I would not want to deal with again.

Note: I have rented apts in 8 different locations in Italy over the past year and had great experiences with the owners at all the others.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevebh24
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Description and pictures didn't do this wonderful apartment justice. Glorious views from two balconies, spacious rooms, tastefully furnished and centrally located so you don't need a car to get anywhere, whether on foot or ferry as the small pretty port is overlooked by one of the balconies. Restful and relaxing break with many restaurant choices a short walk away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia j
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was in a lovely location about 30 seconds away from some great bars and restaurants and the harbour for the boats across to Bellagio and Mennagio. About a 5/10 min walk to the main square.

The apartment was very clean and had everything that you'd need. The lady that turned up to meet us was lovely and probably very informative (if you speak Italian). There is an English speaking lady that you have the main contact with beforehand though and she is able to be contacted if you need her.

Really nice apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamandg3
Middleville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than the Pictures”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We totally enjoyed our 8 day stay in the apartment. We found it to be comfortable, clean and spacious. It was better than shown in the pictures. One of the reasons we booked the apartment was the balcony. We thought we would enjoy sitting there, enjoying a glass of wine and the view of the lake. The pictures did not show how beautiful the view truly is. Not mentioned was the balcony on the other side of the apartment. The late day view of the sun going down over the mountains on the other side of the lake, was also wonderful. Another plus was having a down comforter on the bed.

The apartment has a great location, near the boat docks and the train station. It was a great home base for day trips by boats or train. It would be top rated if it had internet. However, wi fi was easily accessible from the hotel/bar Berretta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing