We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in Varenna”
Review of Orange House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange House
Ranked #10 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“Value in Varenna”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in June 2010, and unfortunately, Mara had suffered an injury, which meant that breakfasts had to be taken in an hotel 100m away. We can't comment on Mara's breafasts, which previous reviews would suggest are wonderful.
Orange house is fantastic value for the area at €73 per night for a double room including breakfast. Orange House only has two rooms, so it is worth booking early. Orange House is actually an apartment with two bedrooms and a communal living space, but unlike what British people might expect of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, Mara and Piero do not live on site. They meet their guests on arrival and departure, and come over every morning to prepare breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast is quite hard to find, but when we arrived, Piero was waiting for us, with some chilled water and was most welcoming and hospitable. He provided a good deal of useful information about the local sights and restaurants, and free parking at the Orange House is a boon in this busy little village.
Orange House is in an apartment block up quite a few steps, which would not suit the immobile. But Varenna would be difficult for those with mobility problems anyway.
We stayed in the top floor en suite bedroom. The bedroom on the lower floor has a bathroom on the same floor but it is not en suite. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was fully functionning. The room was adequately furnished, the fixtures and fittings being (surprise surprise) predominantly orange. There was no air-conditioning. Free Wi-Fi was a great perk of the Orange House.
We definitely recommend this as excellent budget accommodation. This is not luxurious, but it is clean, well positioned, the housekeeping is good, and the welcome is both warm and genuine. We liked Varenna, the people and the village were charming, and Piero himself helped us to feel at home.
The centre of Varenna is a 10 minute walk away, as are the railway station and the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We visted Varenna and chose Orange House B&B based on reviews from Trip Advisor and Rick Steves. We made our reservations via email early in advance( 5 months ahead) of our June trip date. That may not be quiet necessary but I am a planner and like to plan way ahead. We corresponded through email and they responded in english. We originally had a 1 pm arrive time but missed out train and arrived at 4 pm but Piero was still out by the mailboxes waiting eventhoguh we could not inform him of our missed train. He lead us inside and explained the rules of the house. He was very helpful in giving us plenty of information on sites to see, places to vist, local transportation and places to eat. All good reccomendations.

The restroom was good size and clean; the bedroom was cozy, comfortable and clean; the common space was comfortable and relaxing. We had good connection for wi fi. the thing we liked best about Orange House was that it was right across the street from a bar that the locals hang out at. We got to watch several World Cup games there and it was fun. The thing I liked the least was that the bathroom towels were super small, plus i wish they had extra larger towels for our swim in the lake. The walk to the main center of town was only like 10 minutes which was nothing after walking all over Rome or the Cinque Terre trails. We were the perfect distance from teh trian close enough for carry heavy back packs and far enough not to hear the train. We had a very pleasant visit in Varenna and Orange House was quaint and cozy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexMexTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Az
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Orange House B & B owned by Piero & Mara Angeloni. It was our best experience during our 3 weeks in Italy - and that's saying a lot since it was all great. Piero greeted us outside the secure gate surrounding the property & took us into the Orange House; it looks exactly as you see it on their web site. We had the double room & it was very spacious with an excellent king size mattress. The adjoining bathroom was sparkling clean with lace adorned towels & good lighting. The shower was "cozy" for large size Americans, but had the best shower head we had anywhere in Italy. Do bring your own soap & washcloth. Because Mara was confined to their home a few blocks away, she was unable to prepare breakfast for us. However, Piero & Mara had graciously arranged for us to have breakfast down the street @ a hotel down the street so we were well taken care of. Piero made sure we had information re: ferry service, hiking trails, his favorite restaurants (good picks!), & a guide book to the city of Varenna. He was available every morning & afternoon to answer our questions. He was a very dear & gracious host. The location was excellent for easy access to/from the train station, the waterfront & ferries, restaurants, sights, etc. We will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_Flagstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

The Host for Orange House was a lovely gentleman who was so helpful despite the fact that his wife had injured herself the day before and was unable to cook her famous breakfasts. No problem... they had a perfect alternate at a Hotel a few metres away. Orange House was only a stones throw from the Train Station, Lake Ferry, Vezio Castle and dozens of restaurants. Perfect for the person travelling without a vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolBananasTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed for two nights (got back last night and couldn't wait to write a review!).... Peiro, the owner came and found us as we arrived and was very helpful and cheery. He was very happy to help us with any questions we had and explained (in very good English) the boat timetable, local places to visit and resaurant reccommedations. Unfortuantely Maro had broken her ankle last week and so was unable to cook breakfast. This wasn;t a problem, although I was looking forward to sampling her renowned pastries, as we were given access to the next hotel up the road for their buffet breakfast which was very nice. The room was lovely, it was like we had our own apartment.. modern, clean bathroom, fantastic view of the village rising up the hill and a calming stream running under our bedroom window, fab! Lake Como is breathtaking, Varenna has everything you need for a short break and Orange House is quite simply, the perfect place to stay... we'll definately be returning! :0)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubaboo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I spent three days in Varenna shaking off our jet-lag and found it a beautiful, peaceful place for this purpose. Orange House was in a great location - close to the train station, close to the ferry dock, and close to a great little restaurant called Orso where we had some of the best meals we ate in Italy. Our hosts Mara and Piero were gracious and hospitable. Breakfasts were good and varied. Our room (downstairs) was very clean and our window looked over a river. We paid 63 Euro per night for this room - in a town where accommodation is generally much more expensive. I'd recommend this place to anyone and I'd certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karleigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trump23
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The orange house is just down the hill from the train station. Piero is very friendy and helpful. This place is perfect if your on a budget or if your just staying for one or two nights. The room was clean and cheap for the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trump23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange House

Property: Orange House
Address: Via Venini | Lecco, 156 - 2382 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orange House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange House Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing