We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
38
49
13
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
49
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station simple hotel would definitely stay here again lake como small restaurant cold meats stayed here for nights the hotel staff air conditioning hotel is located ferry dock other hotels clean rooms minute walk bed was comfortable good size
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 110 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019

The hotel is located on a through road (not busy) a short walk inland from the jetty on the lakeshore for the boats plying their passage from Como to Colico, and 5 minutes walk from the train station. Our simply furnished room was adequate for a short stay, as was the buffet breakfast with a range of breads, croissants, fruit and cakes. Staff were friendly and efficient. A 10 minute stroll takes you to the village centre and a range of restaurants. The hotel is also located at the base of a cobbled path which winds its way up to the overlooking castle, from where other marked footpaths can be taken into the suirrounding area.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

We stayed at the Montecodeno for 3 nights. The bed was comfortable, and included a fridge and in-room safe. While the hotel is not lakefront, we had a nice view of the mountains from our room.

The location is great. It's a 10 minute walk to the train station, and just 2-3 minutes down to the ferries. From there, it's a beautiful 5-10 minute walk along the lakefront into town for restaurants, etc.

There was a good variety at breakfast, including pastries, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and cold meats, cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt, along with juices and coffee.

I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

The location is very convenient: 1 min from ferry stop, 3 mins from railway station. It is simple, but enough to overnight, tidy. Breakfast is also very simple, enough to have a light snack. If you are not luxury addicted, you will like it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Podstrelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We were three couples, all seniors, staying here for three nights, were accommodated on the first floor. Marco, the owner helped us carry the luggage to our rooms.
The rooms were clean and quite comfortable. The beds with fresh linen were comforting. The rooms were attended-to and cleaned every day. The bathroom was of fairly big in size.
A sit-out adjoining our rooms was made available to us to be together. Coffee/Tea provisioning was made which was a great gesture on part of the hotel staff.
Breakfast was fine however it would be great, if made to order eggs could be introduced rather than cold hard-boiled eggs.
The best part is the location - just a short walking distance from the train station and the ferries.
In all, we had a great stay in this beautiful small town and would love to come again to Varenna and enjoy the hospitality offered by Hotel Monte Codeno.

Room tip: If you are seniors, request for rooms on the first floor.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vijay Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Considering we were spending half as much as what most other hotels were asking in Varenna we weren’t expecting a great deal, and that is what we got.
The room was considerably larger than we anticipated and had a window that opened onto the street below (a lot of traffic noise during the day, in particular motorbikes touring the lake) and the bed was a good size double and comfortable enough. Everything was a little tired, and on one of the four nights that we stayed we came back to find our room hadn’t been serviced at all. Breakfast was just “okay”. Location was great, handy to the railway station, ferries, and easy to explore Varenna and all it has to offer. Probably good value considering the location, but definitely not the 3 star rating shown on the door.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hello,
I'm sorry to inform you that we have all the requied for be a 3 star aswewrite on the door.
You found bigger room that you aspected, the bed was confortable, we don't make the bed if you leave on it laptop and many other things beacuse our hause keeping service respect the things of our guest and prefere don't touch it.
I'm sorry that few cars during the day bother you, but during night you can count the cars pass in front of hotel because is not a traffic street.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews