We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Codeno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Codeno
Ranked #7 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Varenna and Lake Como were the highlight of our trip to Italy. We picked Hotel Monte Codeno for it's price and proximity to train station and were not disappointed.
We stayed 3 nights and got a free dinner which was delicious. The staff was the greatest! We feel like we made friends. The hotel room was very simple but all we needed. It was a great base to explore Lake Como,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcritic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
44
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,733 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,064 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed for six nights in June at the Hotel Monte Codeno and found it to be a good budget hotel. Our room was quite small, but it was clean. It had simple furnishings, a small TV, air conditioning and a long, narrow bathroom with shower. Our room's location -- on the second floor at the back of the hotel -- meant it was extremely quiet. Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the busy main road into town. The cold buffet breakfast proved to be adequate to start the day. Hotel staff provided excellent service, and there was always someone available who spoke English.

Though the hotel is not located at the edge of the lake, it took just a couple of minutes to walk downhill to the water and ferry terminal. A five-minute walk uphill brought us to the town's center. The nearby train station can also be reached on foot.

Many guests raved about the dinners served at the hotel, so we ate there our last night in Varenna. We were not disappointed -- great pasta and superbly prepared fresh fish.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

When searching for a hotel in Varenna, I wanted a view and a reasonable rate for a one night stay. But 3 months ahead and the reasonable view rooms were booked. Fortunately for me, Montecondeno had availability. The hotel was located less than a 10 minute walk from the train station which was ideal since I was carrying my luggage on my back. They were kind enough to store our luggage for the day after check out so we could enjoy the lake before catching the train that evening.

Marina is very friendly, warm & welcoming, helpful, and speaks good English. Ferruccio & Rodolfo are also friendly, but we did not have a chance to chat.

We had an upstairs front room whcih was roomy and comfortable and had a window overlooking the street. We did not find it noisy, but we only stayed one night. The only complaint is the shower is small & enclosed by a curtain which billowed between the water pressure & room fan and tried to stick to your legs...solution was to turn off the room fan while showering. A glass enclosure would help. The breakfast had variety with yogurts, breads/croissants, meats & cheese, cereal and juice. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but I hear it's good.

The hotel location is a short walk to the dock/ferry and 10 minutes to the other side of town. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again and glad I had the opportunity to meet Marina. She's a dear!

  • Liked — The hotel owners
  • Disliked — The shower curtain
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PakiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

At the end of our month trip to Italy, my sister and I decided to chill out in one place for a few days and chose Lake Como..Varenna. We had no reservations, but were lucky to get a room for four days at this hotel right on the main street just a short walk from the train station. the chef teaches all over the world and specializes in the lake fish. They do a wonderful breakfast and the price was very good for having a view of the alps and Lake Como.

  • Liked — Location, food, price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

This a a small hotel in an ideal location, but its best feature is its owner Signora Marina who speaks good English and is the most friendly and helpful hotel owner I have found in five trips to Bella Italia. The rooms are very clean, moderate in size with a larger bathroom than is normally found in moderate priced hotels. Varenna is ideally situated for taking boat trips throughout beautiful Lago Como.

  • Liked — the very friendly and helpful owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review, March 8, 2016
Hello!
Thank you for the wonderful review!
We are the new owners of th Hotel Montecodeno in Varenna!
We wish one day you will wanna have holiday at our hotel and wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

At Rick Steves recommendation we stayed at Albergo Monte Codeno...... the food was not good, the hotel was understaffed, the staff was unfriendly, and the room was unappealing. The price was right and the room was clean.


Helpful?
4 Thank SeattleAvidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hello!

I'm the new owner of the hotel Montecodeno,
we hope you'd like to come to this hotel again now that we change owner and restaurant menu!

Kind regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fio & Gio
Fio & Gio
#9 of 12 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Codeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Property: Hotel Monte Codeno
Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing