We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Varenna on Lake Como”
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Beretta
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Loved staying at the Albergo Beretta in Varenna. It was just a short walk from the station and another very short walk to Lake Como. We caught the ferry that took us all around the lake and was so reasonably priced. The staff at the Beretta were very friendly and the room was very comfortable. Downstairs was a corner shop and dining room where we decided to go to for our evening meal...enjoyed the home cooking. Breakfast was really nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

Do you want to pay 70 euro for a good place or 140 euro for a better place? This hotel is convenient, reasonable price, people are very helpful, good food and wine. It is a little loud because of street noise but that really is the only complaint. you can see the lake and mountains, you are close to the train. The travel office next door sets up all of your trains for the rest of the trip. It is our second time staying here, would do it again because we would rather pay 70 euro for good than 140 euro for a little bit better..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This hotel is quite conveniently located - near the train station and close to the water front. That said, Varenna is a little town so maybe most hotels are convenient. Also, the hotel staff was friendly and warm - even the ones who spoke little or no English.
The hotel lobby is literally a local coffee shop spilling over with locals, which is the coolest part about this hotel. There was a soccer match on TV one evening and the lobby was plum full with locals cheering for their team - this was a fun Italian experience.
The room was small, outdated and not very comfortable. The bathroom towels were really sheets and did a poor job of drying you off! This hotel is a place to sleep, but not a comfortable place, nor a place where you want to hang out. This was a little problematic for us because it was a cold rainy spell when we visited. Our hotel room was too dreary to hang out in.
The hotel was quite inexpensive, though, which is how I selected this particular hotel. It is a good value for those on a tight budget.
If I travel to Lake Como again, I will definitely spend a little more to get the charming, romantic Lake Como experience. This hotel was not that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissmisslovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This hotel is one the corner fo two very busy roads. It was noisy all night long, for three nights, with cars turning, stopping at the stop signs, etc.. The view was great but bring earplugs if you want to get any sleep at all. The bar/cafe on the ground floor is open till 12midnight too, more noise. We has booked a room with a view for three nights. Upon arrival we were informed that we had to take a smaller room for the first night due to the guest in our room not leaving until the next day. When we realized how noisy it was after one night we approached Mrs. Tosca, the owner, about leaving, she said we had to stay or she would charge us the full amount of our stay. We stayed and hardly got any sleep. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that are much quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank betz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Hotel was absolutely perfect. Surprisingly spacious room with balcony looking towards lake and big shower room. Room tidied daily and towels changed every few days (tho the thin continental style, not big and fluffy). Cafe/bar popular with locals which gave it a great ambience, and prices of coffee, beer, wine were obviously pitched at the locals, not tourists. Location perfect, near train station, local bus stop and ferries so no need for additional cost of hire car. Very friendly and helpful lady owner. Varenna is a good place, not as touristy as Bellagio and nicer because of that. Great views West across the lake to the setting sun. Good range of restaurants and prices reasonable. Lots to explore. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for value and a local feel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Like most reviewers, we were happy with what Beretta offered for our thin wad of money. Parking was easy to find outside the train station a short walk away, and location isn't bad at all just a stone's throw from the ferry pier. Also, the proper town centre is nearby. Owners were very busy with the café/restaurant when we arrived and sighed deeply when we wanted to see two different rooms, but got friendlier and ended with flying colors. Room felt old and rather spartan, view was nice though. Lake Como and Varenna are wonderful, worthy of travelling far to experience, and this a good base if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Had 3 nights there , great location , just out of the main town , but only a walk away along the coastal track
Host was fabulous , bar was a buzz , great wine and snacks .
Would stay again ,had a corner room facing the street , big balcony to relax on.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $97 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Beretta 1*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing