We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best part of Varenna - top location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Riva

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bonniebab...
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best part of Varenna - top location”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the wonderful apartment recently. Luigi could not have been more accommodating in his advising us on where to eat and what to do during our stay. Great apartment with uninterrupted views of the lake. What a gem of a find. The weather was unbelievable and we had just the best time in Varenna - hope to go back again sometime. The transport system, boats, trains is fantastic. We hopped across on the ferry to Bellagio one day and took the hydrofoil to Como another day - don't miss doing this whilst you are there.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleptwell...
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
“Above expectations”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our expectation was to have a comfortable residence for a short vacation. This apartment was beyond expectations. The location could not have been better,Lakeside, waves lapping 40 feet from our balcony.Restaurants, coffee shops, art gallery immediately below the balcony.

But the unexpected was the service of Luigi, the owner. He picked us up at the train station and delivered us to the apartment. Advertised tours were available for ferry or water taxi. Luigi took us on our own designed boat tour of the villas, the towns across the lake that could be seen from Varenna and significantly less expensive than the commercial tours.

He was an available but not intrusive resource for all there was in the area..He closed out this stay by delivering us back to the train station at the end of our memorable sojourn in Varenna.

Would we recommend this apartment? Read the above.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location plus the owner
Liked least: Can I continue on to what I liked?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in idyllic lakeside setting”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This apartment is situated in Varenna's Old Town and is right on Lake Como. It has a double balcony from which you can see Menaggio and other towns on the eastern shore, the mountains,boats criss-crossing the lake, the lakeside walk and little bars and restaurants nearby. You can watch the sun go down behind the mountains each evening! The apartment is clean, light and airy with a well-equipped kitchen, a very comfortable bed and a good-sized sofa bed. It is very convenient for the ferry boat terminal and the railway station. Luigi, the owner, was very prompt in all his communications and kindly met us at the station when we arrived and gave us a lift to the apartment and generally ensured we were settled in. Varenna itself has an ample choice of excellent restaurants, 2 small but amply-stocked shops and at least 3 ice-cream parlours and a take-away pizzeria.

Lots of cobbled steps and pavements though in Varenna so apartment would not be suitable for anybody with mobility problems and, because of the balcony, maybe not for young children. This is clearly stated in the description though. Sensible shoes advised!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of apartment
Liked least: Nothing -all good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabre C
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing