We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very comfortable and welcoming with an amazing...”
other travelers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifera...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very comfortable and welcoming with an amazing view”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay in Varenna. The owner of the property was there to meet us in the square which was lovely. The accommodation was really nicely decorated and furnished and everything was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. The property has a brilliant view of the lake and the garden is very peaceful and relaxing. Having breakfast looking at the view was brilliant. Julie was really welcoming and helpful about the local area. All in all a lovely peaceful place to stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomcrew
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Seriously Amazing Setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
12
people found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled to Varenna with our two daughters, 18 and 21. We were looking for an accommodation where we could have attached rooms in a good location. Discovered Il Giardino Sul Lago on trip advisor and began sending inquiries to the proprietor of the inn, Julia. All of my questions were answered promptly and we decided to book.

Julia provided good walking directions from the train station. It is all downhill into the town/waterfront along the pretty pasarella. There are times, however, when you can't roll your bags, and must pick up your luggage and carry it over some large, bumpy stone areas and some steps. If this would be difficult for you, arrange for Julia to pick you up. One thing to know about Varenna is that nearly the whole town involves walking on cobblestoned pathways and taking steep stone stairs up alleyways. It is an absolutely beautiful and charming town, but as someone who has worked with the physically disabled- i recognized the challenges that walking in this area might present to someone who was less able bodied.

We had no problem finding the villa. Julia has a portion of this villa, which is owned by the Pirelli's. In our opinion, she has the prettiest part of the villa, with the large, waterfront garden! Our two rooms were on the lower level of the villa, beneath her residence. Down a few steps from the garden, the rooms are separate, with key locks, and share a common area which includes the bathroom. The property is completely secure. There is a solid iron, keyed gate in order to enter the property. We felt extremely safe there.

The bathroom has a nice jacuzzi tub, as well as a shower stall with a good, strong shower head. The sink area does not have a large counter, but there are wall nooks where you can set your toiletries. If you only booked one of the bedrooms, this bathroom would be shared with the guest in the other bedroom. There is a hairdryer and good shampoo/conditioner/shower gel are provided. The only improvement to the bathroom would be some larger towels.

The common foyer area has two comfy reading chairs, as well as a writing desk/chair and side table. There is a nice, bright floor lamp, as well as a good sized mini fridge available for your use. Unfortunately, it poured every morning of our visit, prohibiting us from enjoying the usual breakfast on the pretty outdoor patio. Instead, Julia's cute, twenty-something daughter Sophie hand carried all of the breakfast items down to our room and set everything up as nicely as possible on the table and desk area for us.

Breakfasts were delicious and consisted of several varieties of fresh fruit, an assortment of rolls, some good meats/cheeses/tomatoes, and every day there were these amazing fruit filled croissants. A pot of fresh coffee and a carafe of orange juice rounded out the breakfast.

Our bedrooms were pretty. The twin bedded room was actually the larger of the two. Our girls shared this room and had plenty of area to unload their suitcases and settle in. Their room had a lot of character with its painted brick arched ceiling. It looks like this room might have been a cellar in a previous life. The owner told us that the villa used to be a convent/hospital. You can just imagine all of the history this building holds.

My husband and I shared the room with the king bed. There is a tall dresser, nightstands and a nice wood hanging rack . This room is a bit smaller and you had to be creative to set up your clothes/items. The beds in both rooms were very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The only things we heard were the rain, and the sound of the nearby sidewalks being swept in the mornings.

The villa has an absolutely perfect location! Turn left out of the property and you are in the waterfront dining area in about 15 seconds. This is the hub of activity, yet we could never hear any noise from this area when sitting out in the garden or in our rooms. The lake water lapping the walls of the garden are the only sounds you hear. Exit the villa to the right and you see the Hotel du Lac. Up a short flight of stairs, and you are in the town square, with the pretty church and some quaint cafes.

The garden of the villa is the major drawing card. You seriously have your own private, landscaped lawn and beautiful patio area which sits directly on the lake. The views are unbeatable. There is a tall, stone stairway, leading up to a great viewing area, complete with pretty iron pergola. The lawn has two sun loungers which our daughters very much enjoyed on the nice days. The patio has two wicker lounge chairs/ottomans with comfy cushions. There is a nice, white wrought iron table/chair set as well. The first night of our visit, we sat out enjoying the garden as the sun began to set and the colors of the town and water changed, creating a stunning bit of scenery. Julia joined us in the garden and brought out drinks for all of us. We enjoyed her limoncello and some good conversation. She is Cornish born, thus her perfect English- but she has lived in Italy for 40+years.

Julia and Sophie have an adorable dog, Alfie. He is a long, wiry haired Jack Russell type breed. Friendly as can be and we couldn't get enough of him! He is available upon request to spend time in the garden with you. I even took him for a walk in town one day. It was a lot of fun to have our own personal villa dog! If you aren't a fan of dogs- have no worries. The dog is not allowed in the guest suite area and you will not see him unless you request him.

This is a lakeside town. The inns and homes are mostly open air. Expect some some humidity, being right on the lake. Our rooms were damp at times, especially given that we had major downpours on two days. There is a dehumidifier in the room that Sophie set up for us. This is not a five star resort- expect a few minor quirks. If you don't require luxury at every turn and would place great value in having your own private, fantastic lakeside garden- this place would suit you well. Julia and Sophie are great hosts. We would certainly return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMac17
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in an amazing location”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this B&B and loved every minute! It's beautifully decorated and has the most picturesque garden set right on the water of Lake Como, the water literally laps at the stone walls of the garden. It is well located, right on the passarella of Varenna, around the corner from many restaurants and gelaterias, but quiet enough for rest and relaxation at night. It is also easy access to many sights such as the Castello, fiumelate, ferries, and the villa monastero gardens. Julia, the proprietor, is wonderful! So helpful, knowledgeable and fun to talk to. We had such a wonderful time and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Gardens and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Z
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, gorgeous views, lovely stay!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed with Julia in Varenna for one night and wished for more!! The place is absolutely gorgeous and we had a fabulous time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mramos855...
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic Varenna Setting”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The property is located in beautiful Varenna. It is a one-minute walk from excellent restaurants and a ten-minute walk from the ferry. Julia, the owner, was very hospitable and will pick you up and drop you off at the train station. The breakfast was a very ample continental style fare.

The property was clean and comfortable.

WiFi was inaccessible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi was inaccessible-went to restaurant next door to access it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany4...
Three Rivers, Michigan
1 review
“Beautiful view, wonderful location, great hostesses”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend il giardino sul lago. The outside provides a beautiful view of the lake and mountains; very comfortable area to sit by the lake and relax. The inside was clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. Julia and Sophia were super friendly and accommodating. Location is just beyond the lake side restaurants and shops; easy walk to everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieLyon...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning setting with unrivalled vistas of Lake Como.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This place simply has to be experienced to be believed! The accommodation (once an old convent) was more than comfortable. The rooms were cleaned daily and the standard and finish of the interiors were exceptional, retaining charm and personality throughout. The rooms provided a cool, natural ambient temperature, which was welcome in the heat when we arrived. The breakfast (beautifully presented on the shaded terrace) had plenty of variety and was always fresh (again overlooking the lake!) From the terrace we made our way to the garden and (apart from the delightful Julia, Sophia and Alfie!) the most magical feature of our stay. The garden....and it's panoramic views of Lake Como and beyond. Simply mesmerising! The beautiful changes in colour as the day turned to evening and evening to night were without doubt one of the highlights of our stay. A quiet, relaxing setting whilst still in the heart of Varenna. Thank you Julia, Sophia and Alfie for taking great care of us and making our stay so special x We will be back soon! x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing