We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was the best gelato we had on our trip. The rum&raisin and coconut flavors were A-mazing! You can sit on comfortable cushions in a narrow, steep lane right next to the shop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    44
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Delicious Gelato! Store is a short walk from the ferry dock, follow the path along the lakeside. All flavours we tried were excellent. I especially enjoyed the " Milk" flavour. The owner was the person that served me on one occasion and I believe he will let you watch him make Gelato from scratch if you ask in advance. Fair price for the product and really really tasty! Don't miss this while in Varenna. You can sit on cushions on the stairs next to the restaurant to enjoy your gelato.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1,489 reviews
922 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 777 helpful votes
“Great taste and fair prices ”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This place serves delicious ice cream topical of Italy, the prices were average and the flavors were great as far as variety, the customer service lacks like in most of the country but that didn't stop us from going there everyday and enjoy the products, forget the rudeness , it's just the way they are.

Helpful?
2 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
603 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

What could be more wonderful than strolling along the waterfront in Varenna and stopping for gelato ... lots of yummy flavors and an amazing view! We stopped by at least once a day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good gelato”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

one of the best gelato's we found in Italy ,Many great flavors & good fast service. Prices were good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing