We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best gelateria on our trip”

Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Varenna
Restaurant details
Cheverly,MD,USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of the best gelateria on our trip”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went daily at least once. Homemade and so many choices -
try the fondant, lemone, fragola, hazelnut.................... - go ahead try them all - even plain old vanilla and chocolate were great!

very friendly staff -

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loyahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    45
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best gelato on our 2 week Italian trip far!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having sampled our way through Italy over 12 days of sampling gelato our family found that this small place had the best gelato! The hazelnut or nocciola was my favorite while kids liked all the rest. Portions are generous and priced at e1.5 and up...cheapest we saw in Italy. We liked the e2 cup or cone. The woman who worked there was very nice. But beware that they close early, by 7pm so one night we actually had gelato before dinner since we didn't want to miss it. Take your gelato and sit on the public benches outside on the lake...beautiful memories created here

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeannineH-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Homemade Gelato”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our family went here for our second gelato experience in Varenna. Three out of the four flavors that we ordered were fantastic: black cherry, "cookies," and pistachio. I didn't care for the amaretto. It seemed like it was overly flavored and too strong, as if it were a bad batch or something. The service was really friendly, though, and I would go there again. Great view, too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eljay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Gelato and friendly service”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure what happened with these other two folks, but we just got some great gelato and really nice service here. Definitely going back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kikovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rude service, mediocre and meager gelato”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you're looking for rude service and a stingy serving of gelato, you have found your place! If not, move next door to La Passerella. Our serving size did not exceed the top of the cup, unlike La Passerella where it was so much more generous and the server made us feel like he was happy we were there.

The gelato was no more special than next door--why the attitude?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Gelateria Riva di Riva Duilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing