We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, Comfortable Location for Lake Como Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mary Varenna

the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1 the house from outside2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1
the house from outside2
kitchen and living room
bath room
bed room
living room
view from inside3
view from inside4
out side the house 1
view from inside2
view from inside1
out side the house 2
the front lake position of the house 1 view from the lake
varenna from the lake 1
varenna from the lake 2
varenna from the lake 3
the front lake position of the house 2 view from the lake
varenna and its front lake walk
varenna1
varenna2
varenna3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steamboat...
Windsor, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Comfortable Location for Lake Como Stay”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Mary met my husband and I at the train station in Varenna and kindly drove us to the apartment. We stayed there 5 nights and loved the location! Once it stopped raining, we were able to enjoy the outdoor patio in the sun and we were able to cook simple meals in the kitchen. Very clean, with beautiful views of Lake Como from the kitchen window. Comfortable bed and nice hot shower as well as the added benefit of a washing machine and detergent. Lots of extra touches in the apartment that made it feel like home. Easy walking distance to the Varenna-Esino train station and also to the ferry to other Lake Como towns such as Bellagio, After visiting Bellagio, we were so happy to return to Varenna and Casa Mary! Wifi worked great for the first couple days, then had a couple spotty days – apparently a problem in the town rather than with our apartment’s wifi. Ah well, more time to just enjoy the moment.

Mary left us a thoughtful gift, and dropped by to drive us back to the train station on our last day. These were completely unexpected and appreciated. Highly recommend Casa Mary.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lake views to wake up to”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I stayed in Andrea’s apartment over the months of February and March 2018 and enjoyed it immensely! From the initial greeting by Mary at Varenna-Esino train station to my departure, my time there was relaxing, comfortable and without incident.

This time of year is quiet in Varenna so there is only a couple of cafes open but the solitude was exactly what I was hoping for - to appreciate Lake Como without the crowds. Working in Milan (only an hour away by train) made me appreciate my time here so much more.

Andrea was the perfect host: offering suggestions of nearby festivals, laundry services, restaurants, and always being available when I had any questions.

10/10 would recommend to family & friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsunsg
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Location and Helpful Host!”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The property is conveniently located near to the train station and ferry point. There are also eateries nearby and you can take short walks around the village with beautiful scenery.

The rooms are clean and tidy and the stay is comfortable.

The view from the property is fantastic overseeing the lake and mountains. When the full moon shines on the water, it is really a pretty sight!

The host is hospitable and even picks you up from the station. My family and I have missed the stop and the host's mom went to the next station to pick us up, which we are very thankful.

A great stay! We will come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janineor
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We recently stayed 4 nights in the balcony apartment. The apartment was lovely and the balcony was great with relaxing sun loungers and an amazing view of Lake Como. The location was very good with a very short walk to the ferries and a lovely walk into the main part of Varenna which had some great restaurants. The gift we received was also much appreciated. A very comfortable bed but a tiny shower. The apartment was up 3 flights of stairs which was not fun with our luggage but we did receive some help. The car parking was great and free. We had a lovely time at Casa Mary Varenna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdownhow
Lima, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We couldn't imagine a more perfect location for visiting Lake Como. The train station was a short walk (when returning to station it is uphill and can be difficult with luggage). Mary did meet us at the station and took us to the apartment. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The views from each window were beautiful. The ferry is a short 2 minute walk. The area was very quiet. The apartment was well equipped. I had left my electrical converter at the last hotel, I emailed Mary's son to ask where I could purchase a new one. Within a few minutes they delivered a loaner to us. The apartment was gated so we felt very secure. We did not have a car but there was ample parking inside the gated lot. If we ever are fortunate enough to return to the area, this would be my first choice for accommodations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianw33
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The case of the missing balcony”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I booked this apartment for its location and especially because the trip advisor summary specified 'a beautiful balcony with lake views'. On arrival we discovered that the owners have two apartments - one with, and one without a balcony. The trip advisor specifications for both apartments are identical - on both the English and Italian sites...
So potential renters please note: this is the smaller apartment of the two, which does not have a balcony, and the small kitchen diner has two single sofa beds.
Having said that, it has two large windows which open onto great views, and it is well positioned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyn872
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were a party of 3 adults, staying in 2 apartments for 5 nights during May 2017. Mary met us at the train station, and drove us the short distance down to the complex. She was very nice and welcoming, and left a present in both apartments. A nice touch and much appreciated. We chose these apartments for the location and were not disappointed! Both apartments have stunning views over the lake, one was on the top floor and had a terrace. Eating breakfast on the terrace looking out over the lake and mountains beyond will stay with me for a long time. The apartments themselves had everything you would want for a self catering break. Very clean and comfortable, a real home from home. We were also very close to the ferry terminal, so getting around the lake was no problem at all. The lovely centre of Varenna was just a very pleasant short walk away and had lots of place to eat looking out over the lake. These apartments were some of the best I have ever stayed in, and I cannot recommend them too highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing