We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Full of the Wonder of Lake Como”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mary Varenna

the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1 the house from outside2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1
the house from outside2
kitchen and living room
bath room
bed room
living room
view from inside3
view from inside4
out side the house 1
view from inside2
view from inside1
out side the house 2
the front lake position of the house 1 view from the lake
varenna from the lake 1
varenna from the lake 2
varenna from the lake 3
the front lake position of the house 2 view from the lake
varenna and its front lake walk
varenna1
varenna2
varenna3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CrossCoun...
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Full of the Wonder of Lake Como”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My first view of Lake Como was from the train as it chugged towards Varenna. My second view was from the lovely apartment on the top floor that we rented for six days. The patio stretched the length of the apartment and was a beautiful place to view the setting sun of the solstice at Lake Como. The apartment was spacious compared to a hotel room and included a kitchen/living room, bathroom, and separate bedroom. Andrea made sure of our arrival, and his wife Stephania met us at the train and helped us settle into the apartment. She quickly showed us how to make Italian espresso with the Bialetti espresso maker. We were immediately at home. Our friends stayed in the apartment beneath us, which had a similar configuration, but without the patio. The building is situated across from a small park and near the ferry stop on a quiet corner. We were never far away from anything, and Varenna is a wonderful base for exploring Lake Como. These were truly wonderful accommodations!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
958Raylee
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment in Varenna”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Casa Mary Varenna was our favourite place whilst travelling in Italy. The apartment is situated close to the ferry wharf making it easily accessible for ferry trips. It has views from every window - we were lucky to have the top floor apartment with a deck looking over the lake. The apartment is furnished very tastefully and the bed is very comfortable. It has everything you need to enjoy a Lake Come holiday. Mary is the most delightful hostess, she picked us up from the station and explained all we needed to know about the apartment. Varenna is just gorgeous. Thank you Mary .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
39betsy
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Such a perfect little place.”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Of the five apartments and B&Bs we stayed in on our trip, this was our favorite. All the others were fancier and more unusual, but my husband and I agreed that there was just a joyful simplicity about this place. It was white, sparkling clean, crisp white sheets, and even the stairwell and all the windows were spotless. I even swept the place everyday, because I loved keeping it that way. The irony of all of this was on the morning of our departure, my husband wakes me up to say he need my help. I walk into the living room/kitchen to see that the espresso maker had exploded (his fault) and there was coffee and fine grounds covering the walls, floor and every square inch of the kitchen. Never have I seen such a mess. We cleaned the best we could, but the walls were stained and we didn't have the supplies to do a perfect job. We were heart sick to call Mary and tell her what had happened. Her response was gracious beyond what I think I've ever experienced. She brought us over pastries, told me to put a smile on my face, that everything was going to be okay. She wouldn't hear of us even paying for the cleaning and repainting. I had to go into the bathroom and sob because of her attitude.
Her husbands met us at the station and Mary returned us. The apt is in a wonderful location. We were so pleased that we didn't have to walk up the steep hills to reach it every time we wanted to come home. It's just across the street from the lake, and there are spectacular views out of every window. The town of Varenna is a wonderful, charming place for a Lake Como adventure. Lots of different places to eat and so convenient to the boat shuttles.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMelissa
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment with Gorgeous View and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I thought I had reviewed this months ago, but it was my oversight. This apartment is beautiful, just like the photos, perhaps even more beautiful than the photos. The location is lovely, just across from the park and the lake with the mountains right in front -- we really felt as if we were IN the mountains, simply beautiful. The hosts could not have been more welcoming or friendly. They picked us up from the train station and escorted us up the stairs to the apartment. Before leaving, they insured that we had everything we needed and they even left a nice little gift as a surprise. I'm so sorry for the delay in my review for this property merits all good reviews and comments. It was perfect for three of us, could work for four as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and the view; the Hosts
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our week in Casa Mary was totally splendid. The apartment is immaculate with everything you need and the views of Lago Como from two sides of the main room are stunning. Spending a week here was great as we developed a wonderful routine of trips on the lake either by ferry or car followed by a sundowner in Cafe Varenna in Vechia Varenna. Sheer bliss, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, parking, equipment and Mary is delightful!
Liked least: Only one bathroom (not a problem but description says two).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XrayGill
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about this apartment!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a wonderful apartment. The views of the lake and hills are stunning, the position is perfect - right by the ferries and a lovely walk along the coastal path to town. There are bars and restaurants on your doorstep and the station is 5 mins away. The wi-fi works well, the apartment is immaculate and very quiet. To top it all, the terrace is fabulous. And the owners are delightful, coming to meet you at the station, and then running us back. Be warned, it is up 60 steps - but that's how you get the views and means you can eat more gelato!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
991carmel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with amazing views!”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (family of 4) stayed here for 4 nights. It was such a lovely, clean apartment with all the necessary amenities. From every window there is a spectacular view of the Lake. It is perfectly placed for easy access to the ferry and train station.
The shops, cafés and restaurants are all just a short stroll away. The nearest supermarket is a 10 minute ferry ride away in Menaggio. There is a little playground just around the corner which was perfect for our children!
It is so quiet and peaceful here and we enjoyed every moment. Andrea and her parents are just wonderful hosts, they even picked us up from the station. They couldn't do enough to help and in true Italian hospitality they made us feel so welcome! We certainly hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing