We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment with beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mary Varenna

the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1 the house from outside2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
the front lake position of the house 3 view from the lake
the house from outside1
the house from outside2
kitchen and living room
bath room
bed room
living room
view from inside3
view from inside4
out side the house 1
view from inside2
view from inside1
out side the house 2
the front lake position of the house 1 view from the lake
varenna from the lake 1
varenna from the lake 2
varenna from the lake 3
the front lake position of the house 2 view from the lake
varenna and its front lake walk
varenna1
varenna2
varenna3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeanNotti...
Nottingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with beautiful views”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Andrea for letting us stay in your lovely apartment. We were met at the train station by a lovely lady, Christina, who took drove us to the apartment, ( although we walked back to the station on our departure, only took 6 or 7 mins) Great apartment in Varrena on the edge of the lake. Good size bathroom with shower, and very comfy double bed room. We were four adults staying for just 2 nights, therefore the sofa beds were fine, but wouldn't want to sleep on them for a week, they would be fine for kids. No lift in the building, but the two flights of stairs weren't a problem for us. The views were fantastic with two windows opening on to the view of the lake. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay here again. We loved lake Como

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake side views
Liked least: Not ideal for elderly or people with disabilites as no lift, other than that great litttle apartment
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best apartment in Varenna”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just completed a three-night stay at Appa Varenna with our two elementary-aged children. We couldn't have been happier! The location of the apartment is perfect -- right in front of the lido (public beach), very close to the beginning of the passarella. In 5 minutes, you are in the heart of Varenna, either on the lake or up in the piazza. It's close enough that going back and forth several times a day is very convenient, but you feel a little removed when you want some peace and quiet.

As for the apartment itself, it was actually much nicer than we expected. Everything seemed to be new and was done the way you would do it for yourself, not just for a rental. The separate bedroom with a queen-sized bed was very comfortable and had plenty of room in the closets for us to unpack. The bed seemed new and was not lumpy at all, though it did have that furrow in the middle where the two sides of the mattress come together, as most queen/king beds in Europe seem to. The kids slept on fold-out couch/chairs, which they reported to be quite comfortable as well. The bathroom was large with a great shower with plentiful hot water and great water pressure. A generous quantity of thick white towels, plus orange towels (presumably for the lake) were provided.

The view, which was the reason we chose this apartment, was just like in the pictures, except it looks better in real life. The apartment building is on the lakefront, though it's set back a tiny bit from the road. All three windows (two on different walls in the living/dining/kitchen and one in the bedroom) have amazing, beautiful lake views. The bathroom window has a gorgeous view up the hillside.

Andrea and his mom, Mary, were wonderful to deal with. There was a train strike the night we arrived, so we ended up taking a taxi and not arriving until 11:30 pm, but Mary cheerfully met us at the apartment anyway. Andrea and Mary were also very helpful in navigating other little issues that came up, such as figuring out how to work the hot water heater (tip: make sure the lever under the window in the dining area is inline with the pipe, then turn the water heater off & on).

We loved Varenna and did not want to leave "our" little apartment, even more so when we arrived in the Cinque Terre and saw our next room, which is a) smaller, b) not an apartment, c) nowhere near as nice, d) on a busy square, and e) costs more. Appa Varenna was a bargain, and we can't wait to return! Highly recommended for a couple, a family with two children, or four adults who don't mind being cozy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, lovely apartment, owners
Liked least: No wi-fi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshe2014
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful location, pleasant host, great views - can't wait to go again”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights in this apartment. Aside for the fact that the mattresses were lumpy, everything about this apartment was great. We were 3 people and the apartment was quite roomy. It had all the facilities we needed. The view in every direction was amazing. The location was perfect - very close to both the ferry and the train station and a pleasant walk to the town center. it's a great place both for a quiet get-away and also hiking in the surrounding mountains (which we did). We found lots on information brochures in the apartment including maps which helped us plan our hikes. We arrived by ferry from Como and went back to Milan by train - all very convenient.
We can't wait to go back and spend more time in Varenna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the view
Liked least: the beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miller200...
Apex, NC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views, great location, just perfect for our trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in Varenna by train after taking the Berina Express across the alps. We didn't want to take the boat across to the other towns on Lake Como after traveling all day, but most of Varenna was booked. We tried this apartment in Varenna and were so impressed! It was an easy 400 meter walk down hill from the train station with our luggage. The apartment is just like it was shown in the pictures. You open the windows and there were the views of Lake Como! Excellent. There is also gated parking should you drive to Varenna and need to park a car. The owner did everything to make our stay comfortable. We would stay here again. The only concerns is the apartment is on the 3rd floor and there is not a lift and the shower was small. But the views were large, and we came to Lake Como for the views. They were great, just like this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Size of shower and no lift to third floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment itself was ideal for a couple and really clean.
Liked least: No corkscrew! :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing